We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Great Value for Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #272 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed in the Washington Jefferson hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of December 2012. We were having a short stay in New York to do some Christmas shopping and sightseeing. The hotel was perfect for what we needed; affordable, close to main attractions, close to subway station, clean and welcoming. Yes, the rooms are tiny but if you only intend to use the room for sleeping then it doesn't matter. The staff were brilliant and always provided tips on what to do and where to go. We stayed in a room overlooking the front and I thought it was fairly quiet considering it was in the heart of the city. If you're looking for a plush, luxurious hotel then this is not for you, but if you want simple, great location and good value for money then this is perfect. Would also recommend the bar at the end of the road (toward 8th St) as it served a great burger and fries!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisaSx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

It's a little off the beaten path at 51st bet 8th and 9th but on a nice block. But it is old! The hotel has one side that's like a YMCA, with shared baths, and the other side seems to be a regular hotel. "Regular" if your familiar place has the tiniest and noisiest room ever and an old radiator with no means of controlling the temperature. No AC visible so I can't imagine the summer.

When I checked in, the radiator was going full blast. I called and a very nice (great staff, again) maintenance person came up and shut the radiator off. I had thrown open the window wide and he closed it, don't know if it was due to the cold or the safety factor (2nd floor).

As it turned out, the room temp stabilized and there was a fine new-looking shower and bathroom. But the pillows were like flat worn thin pancakes and the whole place gave off a very tired vibe.

I'd skip it unless you get a rate < $99 per night. Needs major updating. And no way for anything but a solo traveler, room 276.

Room Tip: Maybe ask when you book - I didn't so maybe I really can't complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cootmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice central location, close to 50th Street subway, small rooms but neat & clean, most of the rooms do not have a view, good if you only have to sleep at night on a business trip, Courteous staff. Value for money if getting under $100 per night ! The road in front was under maintenance during January 2013.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Washington Jefferson is located close enough to the main attractions in NYC but far enough away to retain a bit of peace and quiet. The room was of a good standard, clean and surprisingly spacious. Bed linen and towels were of a high standard and the service from the staff there was wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lovely friendly little city hotel.rooms small it what I expected from a manhattan hotel.helpful friendly staff and clean! Just far enough off the main streets to be quite quiet and for you to get a good nights sleep but 2 min walk to Times Square & in a safe feeling area.
Did the job for us and would defiantly go back to stay there again.cant compare it to any other manhattan hotels as this is the only one I've stayed at, but as a crash pad to see the city it was perfectly located.i wouldn't recommend it if you are expecting to spend any length time in your room but if you want to see the city it's ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sianvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Have not yet stayed here yet due to missing our intended holiday dates due to medical issues. This hotel has provided us with great customer service already by moving our reservation to a more suitable date which I hope works out for us! Very professional and understanding management here, we look forward to our stay!

D. Jones

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank EssexUkHoliday111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location. The room with 2 queen beds was very spacious and clean, however it did not have a coffee maker which was a huge disappointment for a couple of coffee addicted Canadians.
The staff rated an 11 out of 10. They were as friendly and helpful as any hotel I have ever stayed in.
While not a fancy hotel it is in a perfect location and the walks to Times Square or Hells Kitchen restaurants were quick and easy.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfHarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 469 in New York City
5,300 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#342 of 469 in New York City
3,239 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#264 of 469 in New York City
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#369 of 469 in New York City
928 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#273 of 469 in New York City
4,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Address: 318 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019-6499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $145 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing