We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Hotel very clean and modern, good location for sightseeing and eating out, Times Square and Central Park both very close. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms very small, not a huge problem as we weren't there much, only for sleeping. Only issue was where to put our 2 suitcases! Great place to stay if you want an easy location for sightseeing, would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 318cl_bur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear 318cl_bur,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed that hotel and our convenient location on the heart of Manhattan. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in planning your next visit.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,531
    1,916
    505
    118
    66
See reviews for
1,310
2,056
242
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai Region, China
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Was in NY for business and chose this hotel. Wrong choice for a business traveler as it has a great location if you are planning to go to the theatres but not good for business. There is basically just a bed and not even a desk to write on and no place to even put your luggage.
The housekeeping keep taking away towels without replacing them. I started with 2 face towels, then 1, then none.
There is nothing really wrong with the hotel, just not the right hotel for what I needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XP-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear XP-Traveler,

Thank you for telling us about your experience at The Ameritania. We are sorry to hear that the room was not to your liking. We hope you will give us another try and stay in one of our Deluxe King or Deluxe Double rooms, both of which are spacious and have large desks.

I am disappointed to hear that your towels were not replaced. I can assure you that this is not our standard. I will bring this up with our Director of Housekeeping to ensure this mistake does not happen again.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My friend and I arrived on Thurs 5th June 2014 and were greeted by a member of staff, Jeff, who guided us with a smile to the reception desk. He then made sure that our luggage made it to our room as soon as we had the room number. The room, 1108, was better than standard, with a decent view out on to 54th and part of Broadway. One issue was the drone of the air con and random plumbing noises from the bathroom, but these were minor. The location is fantastic for midtown with a +/- 5minute walk to Times Sq and Central Park. Jeff also arranged return travel arrangements to the airport on Monday, which we were extremely thankful.

Room Tip: If possible request a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. All of us here at The Ameritania are so pleased that you had a great visit and that our staff was able to assist you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Warm Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights late May to celebrate an anniversary - the hotel welcomed us with free champagne in the room to celebrate!

The room itself was lovely - the biggest I've stayed in in NYC. ASK FOR ROOM 1205!! Two windows overlooking Broadway and W54th. ENORMOUS bed and wonderful shower. We honestly couldn't have asked for a better stay in the city.

Great location - close to subway stations but we walked everywhere. Felt safe in the area 24hours.

From check in to check out the staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back here next time we're in New York! Thank you Ameritania!

Room Tip: 1205 - bellboy described it as 'VIP' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Niamh M,

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay and that you found your new favorite room in New York!

We are honored to have been a part of your anniversary celebration and look forward to celebrating many more special occasions with you in the years ahead.

Best Wishes,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Teen-agers loved it... absolute best location ever. Staff was so friendly and nice -- important for us Southerns. I was not crazy about the beds (platform style?) comfort wise but not deal breaker. Awesome staff


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Robin,

Thank you for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to hear that you and the students enjoyed the hotel. We are honored to have been a part of your journey to New York and look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Ameritania Hotel is a terrific place to stay while visiting New York. My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Ameritania in May.

The hotel's location is an ideal home base for a visit to New York. The David Letterman theatre is right next door. Times Square is just a 10 minute walk away. Some Broadway Theatres are located within a block of two. And there are several subway stops nearby with access to many different subway lines. Basically, you have easy access to just about anywhere you'd like to go.

The room itself is very small, but is set up in an efficient and practical way so we felt comfortable and did not feel cramped at all. The bathroom was a good size, very clean and the shower had a rain shower option, which was a nice treat. Our room faced out to the corner of 54th and Broadway so we did have to hear a lot of cars honking. But it was the first time that we had a hotel room in New York that actually had a view of something other than an alley, so I guess that was the trade-off.

We didn't eat the breakfast offered by the hotel. There is a wide choice of cafes and take out places nearby and we opted to try a different place each morning. We did however enjoy a very large and very delicious gin martini in the hotel bar in the lobby one evening.

Wi-fi in the room costs extra but there is a Starbucks across the street so we just went for a coffee whenever we needed to go online.

We found the Ameritania Hotel to be a comfortable and convenient place to stay while visiting New York and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear MarkStef,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of your time with us! The staff and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New York.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Overall my experience at The Ameritania was fine. The pros - great location, friendly staff, cool design, very comfy bed, clean room, free breakfast.

The cons for me were the room location, and a general shabbiness that the newish modern decor could not totally hide. My room, #222 on the second floor, was on an interior wall, so the window overlooked nothing and was blocked with a giant air duct so the room got little natural light. #221, on the other side of the service elevator from me, seemed to have a resident rather than being a guest room, and funky, stale smell lingered in the hallway outside the door. A person coming out of that room on the first day I was there said something strange to me in the hallway and after that I just felt a little uncomfortable being there.

In hindsight, I should have requested a different room. I'd probably have a very positive feeling about the place if I had ended up in a room with some natural light, and hadn't had a strange encounter with the neighbor.

Room Tip: Do not stay in #222.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Christie B,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you had an awkward encounter with one of our residents (we do in fact have a handful of permanent residents here at the hotel). Management and I will take the necessary steps to ensure that something like this does not happen again, and will work on neutralizing any odors coming from tenant apartments.

I'd love for you to experience The Ameritania in a more positive light and would like to offer you a complimentary room upgrade, based on availability, the next time you come to New York. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to make the arrangements.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
1,832 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,173 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#138 of 467 in New York City
5,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#117 of 467 in New York City
1,248 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
6,869 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing