We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location! Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in New York City
hartford, connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location! Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Excellent location. One block from the subway. Many restaurants and bars in the area. Close proximity to Lincoln Center which was my evening destination. Hotel staff most courteous and helpful. Especially front desk staff and the doormen. All very knowledgeable about NYC. Early check-in was most appreciated. Hote/rooml decor and cleanliness was above average. Overall great experience!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Tracey,

Thank you for sharing your compliments with us on TripAdvisor! I am delighted to hear that your stay was an exceptional one and that you were able to enjoy so many of the attractions near the hotel. We hope to have you as our guest during your next visit to New York.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,277
    1,779
    472
    106
    59
See reviews for
1,158
1,901
222
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

we have just returned to Denmark after another nice week i NYC, which this time included all six nights at Ameritania (also stayed for 3 nights in 2013). It was again a very pleasant stay with great service from Sylwia Kruk and her dedicated and friendly staff (Monica and others) at the frontdesk - actually once again all the staff made a very good impression! The hotel is very near to Times Square, Central Park and all the other great places. As in 2013 It's a really nice hotel with very good value for money!! :-) Mr. & Mrs.Wiborg from Denmark

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiborg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Wiborg,

Thank you for sharing your compliments with us on TripAdvisor! It was such a pleasure to welcome you both back to The Ameritania during your recent visit to New York.

Your feedback and praises of our staff mean the world to us. We all look forward to having you back to your home away from home here in New York.

Warmest Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Most of the bellman were friendly, especially Jalal and Chris. The location of the hotel is excellent, close to the Central Park, Times Square, etc. The only negative point is that it has not free WiFi connection.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Pablo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the hotel and that you were able to take advantage of our central location.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Judson Trapnell
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Thirty of us including 25 high school students spent 3 nights, 4 days. Between Broadway's Aladdin at the New Amsterdam and then 3 operas at The Met, visit to Juilliard, recital at The NY City Library recital hall and the chance to do some shopping at Columbus Circle Mall, this was a great place to walk from ... And we did! Delis and cafés right around the corner, Europa cafe for breakfast, Pie Face for a quick to go lunch and the deli right out the door for morning coffee, it was just right. Around the corner from the David Letterman Show studio and a few blocks from Time Square. We had a bit of a glitch with one of the rooms and the staff moved the kids right away. No problem. Rooms were super clean, modern decor, comfy (double) beds. Spotless bathroom. Huge mirror, the right amount of floor space meant it was easy for 4 ladies to get ready. Well appointed large lobby with a bar and comfortable seating and meeting areas were appreciated. There were lots of international tour groups, these are large group specialists. Staff were super, and patient with our kids.

Room Tip: Higher up is quieter from outside noise, horns, sirens, etc. Beds are double, we had 4 in our room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Pat,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We were delighted to have your group with us, and I am so happy to hear that you and the kids enjoyed The Ameritania!

I hope you'll think of us again for your next visit to The Big Apple!

Warm Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

A good hotel and great location, room just very noisy and road works through the night didn't help. Aircon unit let in a lot of noise from the street and the unit itself was noisy if you had to leave it on while sleeping as quite warm in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HolidayGoerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear HolidayGoerScotland,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that your experienced a lot of street noise during your stay. Just because New York is the city that never sleeps, doesn't mean you shouldn't!

We look forward to welcoming you back to New York here at The Ameritania in the near future. Please feel freet contact me or our Front Office team directly, and we will ensure that you are in a quiet room.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
388 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights. Cool lobby/ bar area and good welcome from the front desk.

Rooms are small, though vary quite a bit and the standard rooms seem to be bigger the lower down you stay. Bed was super comfy and had everything i needed...apart from lack of plugs and strange plugs in the lights by the bed, which seemed liked a safety hazard. Room was a bit noisy...door slamming, noise outside and maids walking in unannounced and too early.

My room door was very insecure and raised this and they promised to fix but didn't...i noted all doors were a security risk (could be opened with a hard kick!)
Gym is not good and breakfast looked reasonable for the price.

Worst of all, the internet is not free...this always puts me off returning.

Location - good to be near park but not best area of New York....too many people

All in all reasonable stay, made better by friendly front desk.

May go back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank copperbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Rooms Director at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear copperbottom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm sorry that you found your room to be noisy. I have shared your experience with the rest of my management team and we will be sure to address your concerns.

We all take a great deal of pride in providing the best service to our guests, and am happy to hear that you were pleased with your interaction with our front desk team. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can assist you with a future reservation. I will see to it that we accomodate you in a quiet room and make your stay a memorable one.

Best Regards,

Judson Trapnell
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comber, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Recently stayed here for a birthday trip to New York. Hotel management very kindly gave complimentary wine and cake which was really kind. Clean and comfy. Friendly front desk and door staff especially Jeff and Julian - thanks guys! Very central to time square and Central Park.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend. Brill location saves on getting subway as you can walk everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Nicola D,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience while staying with us at the Ameritania hotel.
I am happy to know you enjoyed your time with us and that you took advantage of our great location! Our team welcomes the opportunity to be of service in the near future and we look forward to becoming your hotel of choice when visiting New York City!

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,774 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,707 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing