We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #137 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Manchester, U.K.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well situated”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable hotel - we stayed 4 nights and found it clean and convenient for all sites in New York. Didn't try breakfast as always ate out. Asked for quiet room but there's no such thing in New York. Good bed and we both slept well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bockleopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable visit with us and experienced the distinguished level of intimate service we pride ourselves on. We appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Renaldo Moore and Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,437
    1,881
    495
    117
    63
See reviews for
1,243
2,015
234
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Located on corner of Broadway and West 54th St. Ideal location being a 10 minute walk from both Central Park and Times Sq. Grand Central Station is about 15 to 20 minutes away. The Empire State Building 25 to 30 minute walk or $10 cab fare. The view from the Observation Deck is breath taking. Beware of the Rickshaw bicycles in Central Park who are expensive but are willing to strike a deal, but at the lowest offer of $85 were not good value. Although Carriage rides were expensive they are the better bet. If you'd rather walk around Central Park it is easily walkable and we found what we wanted to see although overall the park is very poorly signposted. The New York subway is good to use and has a frequent service.

Hotel is recently renovated. As with a lot of New Hotel rooms our room was on the small side, but no one goes to New York to sit in there room so not a problem.
Reception staff are friendly and helpful as were all staff. Special mention to Jeneth on reception who was very helpful with on line check in for our return flight. Also Mourad & Julien on the door who were both friendly and helpful. All 3 are a credit to The Ameritania and management should be very proud of them.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable visit with us and experienced the distinguished level of intimate service we pride ourselves on. We appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Renaldo Moore and Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a very cool property. Hotel is very clean, staff is very friendly and in a great location. I loved the decor, the beds were comfy and the room was very comfortable.

I will absolutely stay here again next time I am in New York!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

i was in NYC for business and was booked into the Ameritania hotel. it is a very clean,cozy, boutique hotel. The staff was extremely pleasant, the room was very clean and larger than most NYC rooms i have stayed in. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location for the majority of the main sights of New York. I felt very safe in the area and walked everywhere. The hotel was spotless and the beds were very comfy with plenty of space in the room for the short time spent in them. The bar area is very cosy and welcoming on a cold winters night. We did eat out at breakfast but the continental breakfast, that was available if required, looked appetizing. The staff were all polite and very helpful especially Jeff who always went that extra mile to please. We spent 5 nights here and I would certainly recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable visit with us and experienced the distinguished level of intimate service we pride ourselves on. We appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Renaldo Moore and Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this boutique hotel. Very conveniently located (adjacented to David Letterman show) between Central Park and Times Square. The service, cleaniless of the room and friendliness of the staff was great. The beds and upscale linens were wonderful. You definitely receive more attention in a hotel of this size than the larger chains throughout the city and it was more reasonably priced! We are definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tycon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at Ameritania Hotel.. We are very flattered to read your comments regarding our customer service in which we all take pride in offering. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next booking and any requests you may have. See you next time!

Most sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just spent 3 nights here and we were very pleased with our hotel choice. Within a few minutes of Central Park, Times Square, Rockefeller center and many other attractions. A short walk gets you to the Subway stations which will get you further afield very quickly. The rooms are a little small but very clean and lets face it you don't need to spend a lot of time in the room anyway. The door staff were really helpful especially Jeff who organised our transport back to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gene992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable visit with us and experienced the distinguished level of intimate service we pride ourselves on. We appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Renaldo Moore and Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#76 of 468 in New York City
1,780 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#67 of 468 in New York City
5,028 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,933 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#192 of 468 in New York City
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing