We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel for the price”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab hotel for the price”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We've just got back from staying at the hotel and we had an awesome stay. The hotel is in extremely close proximity to Times Square but without all the noise and crowds.
The staff were very helpful and could not do enough to please.

The room was lovely and fitted with high end goods. The only negative we had was that there wasn't much room to get around the bed and having a thick metal frame that stuck out didn't help as we repeatedly smashed our ankles and toes on it!

Having said that..for the price and location we'd def recommend the hotel and we'd def return.

Thanks for a lovely stay :)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindzlashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Lindzlashes,

Thank you kindly for your review of our hotel. I am sorry if the size of your room was not to your liking. We would be happy to show you the variety of rooms we offer for your next trip, with the hopes that you will find something more to your liking.

Kind regards,
Renaldo Moore and Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,383
    1,851
    485
    113
    62
See reviews for
1,208
1,982
226
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have recently come back from the big apple and had the pleasure of staying at this ultra chic hotel, a fab room with very modern furniture and a bed that was as comfortable as my own. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and bright. This amazing hotel is an excellent base and being right in the centre of the action is a must stay for everybody who wants to be within easy walking of the most amazing cityi have stayed in.
The staff were very accomodating and pleasant to deal with, they were helpful and friendly and gave advice when asked on a number of occasions. If i go back to New York i will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Linda
What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have forwarded your kind words to all of our departments and we all look forward to meeting and exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
See you soon

Renaldo Moore and Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked the ameritania for a five night trip to new york. It was without a doubt amazing. This was our second trip to new york but our first in the ameritania and I would happily choose to stay here every time now. From the minute we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We requested a room on the top floor with a view and we loved it. The cleanliness was exceptional and the cleaners do a great job. Also a special mention to Jeff who was always on hand to help with our bags or sorting taxis etc, nothing was too much trouble and always smiling and helpful. It made our holiday the best yet. One thing that could have been included would be breakfast but it wasnt a problem with there being so many delis and places to eat so close. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Donna W, Wow! We are so happy to hear you had such an enjoyable experience with us. We take great pride in the quality of our service and are glad that you felt well taken care of. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely
Renaldo Moore and Amertania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for thanksgiving week and it was amazing!! The staff was so friendly en the location was perfect! (next to the david Letterman show!!) The staff was willing to do anything for they're guests. Hotelroom was very clean and with perfect sight over broadway! very close to times square and just a few streets away from Macy's. We had a perfect time! Special thanks to Micheal ;)

Room Tip: rooms at 54th street will give you a beautifull typical New York view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear, Marielle V
What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have forwarded your kind words to all of our departments and we all look forward to meeting and exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
See you soon

Renaldo Moore and Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My choice for New York City! The Ameritania hotel is chic and modern yet with a warm inviting ambience. Great location, wonderful rooms, and the best staff I have encountered in NYC.
From the warm welcome by the doormen to the front desk staff....all superb!
Renaldo knows how to make everyone feel special and welcome to this wonderful hotel and
over at the uber hip bar, Javier is a charming, master bartender.
I travel alot and you can see when the staff truly cares about their customers and have pride
in the place they work. A real pleasure to return there, time and time again!!
I give my highest recommendation to the Ameritania hotel and thats coming from a very refined travel DIVA!! Bravo!! Tina

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Good value for the Hotwire bid price. (bid on rating, not name of hotel). Two queen room was big for Manhattan and clean and comfortable, and location is perfect. Between Times Square and Central Park is optimum for tourists. Be aware, there is a lot of street noise- take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Also, internet signal is very weak on upper floors- frequent disconnects and slow at times (almost dial-up modem slow). I mentioned this to clerk who had obviously heard it before and took charge off my room. My advice, go to Starbucks around the corner.

Room Tip: Earplugs, use 4G or go to Starbucks, but room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip atkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us and allowing us to reach out to you. I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you had wth the wifi. We are always in the lookout for ways to improve our services and become the best hotel possible. I look forward to having a second chance to show you how much we value you as a guest.
Sincerely
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you want to stay in a great location in New York then you cant get much better than this, right in the heart of things on Broadway next to the Ed Sullivan Theatre. This contemporary hotel is ultra modern having recently been modernised, spotlessly clean and staff that couldnt do enough for you. Upon checking in the room I attempted to programme the safe however a low battery light was displayed so I reported it to reception, the maintenance man arrived within two minutes to sort it out! The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom fantastic with a powerful walk in shower. Wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel and would be on top of my list when we book next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiloRubix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,966 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing