We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfied with the Ameritania Hotel”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #131 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied with the Ameritania Hotel”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Booked the hotel via a third party website and was treated beautifully by the hotel staff from the moment we walked in until we checked out. I was concerned that our room would be noisy as it was across from the elevators but it was never a problem. Our king room was comfortable and spotless. Plenty of storage and plenty of hangers in the closet. Lovely bathroom, there are drawers in the vanity (easy to miss) to stow cosmetics etc.

The complimentary coffee served in the breakfast room was a nice touch and much appreciated. We enjoyed the bar one evening, and found the prices to be average for NYC.

The only complaint that we had was that the bathroom linens were atrocious. Honestly, I have thrown out better. Most of the towels over our 5 night stay were frayed with threads hanging from them. Housekeeping never left a full set of bath linens; we had to leave notes so they would specifically leave 2 bath towels and 2 facecloths each day. One day they took the bathmat and didn't leave one and only left us a hand towel and 1 bath towel. - I had to ask the desk to send up towels which they promptly did. Seems like the hotel would have a "standard" for the bathroom linen set up and would provide towels that were not ready for the rag bag.

Overall, we loved the hotel would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark_W_Griswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Clark_W_Griswold
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted to hear you had such a great experience. Our location and service ARE impossible to beat :) and it’s great to hear you had such a fantastic stay. Please return in near future and contact us directly at the hotel so we can ensure you exceptional service.

Kindest regards
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,494
    1,894
    499
    117
    66
See reviews for
1,277
2,036
239
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights in October.By far this is the best hotel in New York. It is located literally 5 minutes from Times Square but still quiet enough escape the madness. The Staff are great especially Jeff who helped myself and my boyfriend with everything including a taxi back to the airport. Rooms are beautifully done and the bed is probably the second most comfortable I have slept in compared to my own. The bathroom was modern and clean with lovely soaps/shower gels etc. The only downside is the cost of food there but, there is a Starbucks on the corner (two mins away) and an amazing bagel cafe next to that so you wont need to break the bank for a great meal. I will definitely be staying at this hotel the next time I visit, couldn't ask for more. Best Hotel in the City!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Kmmy R,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate you taking time to let us know. Our staff’s number one priority is service and it’s great to hear we were able to meet your expectations. We would be honored to have you stay with us more often and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time so we could arrange the reservation to your liking. We hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards.
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights here in September. Very nice hotel, nothing bad to say. we arrived early and they checked us in fast and early. they gave us a handi-capped room on the 9th floor, it was huge, maybe ask if one is available if you want a big room? we didnt ask for it.
location is brilliant, right next to Letterman theatre, we tried to get tickets online with no luck, but we walked by the theatre the second day in the morning and they were asking for people who could attend shows, we were interveiwed and they called us for a show. It was really fun, but you spend a great deal of time waiting, if your in a rush and dont have much time to waste dont do it, we loved it, but did consume about 3 hours of time wasted in nyc.
hotel is spotless clean, no kids were seen, we would stay there in a heartbeat if in town again. location iis great!

Room Tip: Think we got this on priceline 125 buck range
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Glynis P, Thank you so much for your excellent feedback. We truly appreciate you taking time to let us know about your experience. I am thrilled to hear your encounter with all staff members was memorable. It is our pleasure to make your stay special. We look forward to your next stay. Have a great rest of the year.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just home from NY after staying in this hotel had a fantastic stay. Right from the moment we entered the lobby and were greeted by Mourad and Geoff the very pleasant doormen . Rooms were very nice and a good size !!! Bathrooms were clean and showers was grt ! Only down side I wd say is its only single glazing windows but a gd set if ear plugs fixed this !! If you do find anything wrong go to Penny at the front desk she is fantastic and cd not do enough for us thank you all so much for a grt stay !!,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mann19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear, Mann19
Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City. Kind Regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was traveling with several large equipment cases and the doormen and porters were wonderful. Got help lifting bags up the 4 steps to the lobby and to the room. They were quick and showed initiative. Then returning to the airport they had a limo on call so I was on my way quickly.
I'd stay there again.
The only out of character issue was that they couldn't complete my company's credit card authorization. Each call was met with a different person that "would look into it" but it never happened. I had to pay on a personal card at checkout.

Room Tip: higher has less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Although this hotel is around the corner of Broadway close to many theaters, television shows and Times Square, this hotel has a nice and quiet atmosphere. Hotelroom was quite large for NY standards with two queen beds and a very modern bathroom. We slept with the windows open for the full week without being bothered by a lot of noise. Staff is ver friendly and helpfull and the hotel has a very nice bar with 2 for 1 wine every day and different cocktails offers each day, which maken having a drink there affordable which is quite unique in NYC. Only downside is that you have to pay for WiFi: $10 per day or $25 for three days, where even in Central Park you have free WiFi!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarijeTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear, MarijeTheHague
Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City. Kind Regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on our way back to London after a 2 weeks holiday around New England. Location was superb as it is very near to all top sights of New York. Though the room was small it was nicely done with a boutique hotel feel. The only down side is the people at the front desk who make us feel unwelcome and kind of make you feel that they are not enjoying their job as responses to questions can be quite short and very abrupt. Definitely the front desk is the let down of this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us and allowing us to reach out to you. I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you had at our hotel. We are always in the lookout for ways to improve our services and become the best hotel possible. I look forward to having a second chance to show you how much we value you as a guest.
Sincerely
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#75 of 466 in New York City
1,805 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#70 of 466 in New York City
5,097 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#195 of 466 in New York City
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#111 of 466 in New York City
1,231 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#260 of 466 in New York City
4,550 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 466 in New York City
6,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing