We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but could do a smile from the front desk staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #137 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location but could do a smile from the front desk staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on our way back to London after a 2 weeks holiday around New England. Location was superb as it is very near to all top sights of New York. Though the room was small it was nicely done with a boutique hotel feel. The only down side is the people at the front desk who make us feel unwelcome and kind of make you feel that they are not enjoying their job as responses to questions can be quite short and very abrupt. Definitely the front desk is the let down of this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us and allowing us to reach out to you. I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you had at our hotel. We are always in the lookout for ways to improve our services and become the best hotel possible. I look forward to having a second chance to show you how much we value you as a guest.
Sincerely
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,332
    1,812
    481
    108
    61
See reviews for
1,188
1,936
223
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for three nights in New York with mum. Hotel was good base to explore city - subway only 2 minute walk away - central park 10 minutes. Room was fine for stay - would have been nice to have had coffee making facilities within room, but remembered great tip regarding free coffee in breakfast room in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us and allowing us to reach out to you. I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you had at our hotel. We are always in the lookout for ways to improve our services and become the best hotel possible. I look forward to having a second chance to show you how much we value you as a guest.
Sincerely
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I’ve stayed in many hotels all over the world, but this hotel by far is one of THE best. Very clean and nice and the stuff was just amazing. Very accommodating to our needs. Special thanks to PENNY at the front desk, she went above and beyond to fulfill our request. Jeff also helped us a lot at the end of our stay, with helping us get the taxi drive back to the airport. I will definitely always stay ONLY at this hotel whenever back in NY.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basia1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear, Basia1127Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ameritania in late September for 4 nights on a recommendation from our travel agent.

First impression of this hotel was very good. Very nicely presented modern reception with helpful reception staff. Our street view bedroom was similary well presented and spotlessly clean although typically for NYC, on the small side. It had a good sized bathroom with a modern walk in shower but no bath.

It has an excellent location on the corner of Broadway and just a few minutes walk to both Central Park and Times Square. There are several subway stations nearby making travel around the city very manageable.

Depending on what's important to you, there were a couple of small negatives. There was a breakfast area but it was not well promoted and was not overly appealing. We preferred to find local diner options of which there are many. There is a lobby bar, but we never saw it open during our stay although our preference would always be to go out. It is Manhattan after all and there are hundreds of options on your door step.

I was surprised that there was no free wi-fi in the hotel. I would have thought that in a modern hotel in NYC in 2013, which presumably caters for business travellers, this would have been a given. It was'nt a deal breaker for us, but was disappointing.

All in all, we would return to the Ameritania but I think we'll still be shopping around for alternatives, the next time we visit NYC.

Room Tip: We had a street view onto Braodway which was a bit noisy but preferable to an innner room. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabcaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Ameritania Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Amazing location, a few blocks from everywhere u want to go; the heart of tge theatre district. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We arrived a few hours ahead of check in. Staff was very accomodating and held our luggage while we toured a bit. They upgraded our room for free so we could get in earlier, which was awesome. The beds were amazing, so comfy and the shower was like heaven, just be sure to put a towel by the shower entrance, water tends to splash. Radio/alarm clock has iPhone charger on it, which you'll need in NYC because your phone battery will drain like crazy searching for wifi! The only issue I had was they never gave us enough face towels, 2 girls need more than 1 face towel, but room service was great. No ice machine on the floors, call room service. Overall, excellent stay. Would definitely stay here again when staying in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candamaetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Candamaetaylor, thank you so much for your detailed and warm review. We appreciate you taking time to let us know about your experience at the Ameritania and it’s great to hear we were able to help you with all your needs. Please return. We would be delighted to see you again, and contact us directly to ensure optimal service!

Kindest regards.
Renaldo Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
235 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Clean rooms, good location and great staff!
You step outside and broadway is around the corner.
Saïd of the door staff team was very helpfull during my stay.
I would highly recommend it during your stay in the big apple !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamara v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at The Ameritania Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities and comfort our rooms provided, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Before we even arrived, we were upgraded to a double room which gave us a lot of room, a nice view and a desk. I spent a LOT of time searching for a balance of value, comfort and location and the Ameritania was the winner. Prices were high everywhere the week that we went.

The location is great. Possibly a bit noisy if you're on a lower floor, but we weren't. Close to subway stations, Central Park, right on Broadway directly next door to Letterman and a short walk from Times Square. A perfect spot for our first trip to the city.

Said and the rest of the staff couldn't possibly have taken better care of us. A smile every time we came or went. We got help with every question and request and always felt like a priority. One of the extremely nice door men gave my daughter a teddy bear. We arrived before check-in time but Said took our bags and locked them away so we could go out for a walk in the meantime.

The room was spic and span. The cleaning staff did a great job. Basically the hotel is run as professionally as any hotel I have ever stayed in and I would absolutely stay there again if the price is right.

The beds are extremely comfortable (unless you hate pillow tops) and the rooms are nicely decorated and appointed. Don't judge the patent leather look of the lobby, the rooms are very classy and comfy.

Room Tip: Just get a room on an upper floor and preferably a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Owner at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear,Scott's
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service to be helpful, We pride ourselves in being able to provide the best service that, not only meets, but exceeds our guests’ expectations, so thank you once again. We hope that you will not stay away too long and return to visit us soon!

Kindly,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,850 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,882 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing