We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MAY 2013”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“MAY 2013”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Cozy small hotel but comfortable! Close to Times Square. I stayed for 3 days in which we were helped by a pleasant staff.Crystal Franklin assisted me throughout my stay.Each day she welcomed me with a smile. She booked shows for my family and even provided me with directions. Anytime I return to NYC I will stay in this hotel. My gratitude is shown to Crystal!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard52804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
thank you so much for your excellent feedback. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and I am thrilled to hear we met your expectations. Our location makes the Ameritania an ideal place for anyone visiting New York and hope you return soon. Please feel free to contact us upon your next visit to ensure another excellent experience.

Kindest regards.
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,373
    1,843
    485
    113
    62
See reviews for
1,203
1,975
225
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place is amazing!I felt comfortable. It was very clean and the staff was friendly.Crystal Franklin assisted my family and I in which she was polite, knowledgeable, friendly and a pleasure to be helped by her.I will definitely return due to Crystals service

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbencosme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just stayed 2 nights, on my third visit this year. I value the fair pricing, service and especially exceptional location of this hotel. Jeff and Jalal at the door are always helpful and eager to make the stay special. Was greeted with sweet treat in my room upon arrival in my king size room with windows on two walls facing wonderful broadway. No complaints!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvmart91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judson_Trapnell, Director of Rooms at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay with us. I am sorry for the long delay in responding to you!

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Ameritania and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Judson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

great 5 days in this hotel. staff really helpful. Jeff on the door was incredibly attentive! rooms great, bed was excellent and I slept so well. Shower had ok pressure and water always hot. Fine location to get everywhere, great delis everywhere so food was not an issue. If you are looking for a central midtown hotel, look no further this is a great place to stay if you are siteseeing or shopping. this is not a hotel where there are areas to just sit and chill.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for enjoying the NYC Theater District as well as major museums. But things just don't seem to work right. Had to be moved at check-in because the toilet keep "howling" as it constantly refilled itself. A repair man tried but failed to correct the problem. During my four-day stay the only way to sleep was with ear plugs because major construction across the street began very early and went until late. The "breakfast" offered for $12 was among the worst "continental breakfasts" I've ever had with stale pastry, cold cereal and a scowling attendant who didn't speak English (or just didn't want to). Colleagues also had to change rooms (couldn't get anything but heat from air conditioner!) and all of us had trouble finding power outlets for computers etc. Again, location is great but there are other hotels where you can enjoy your stay and the local entertainment with less hassle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently stayed at this lovely boutique hotel in NYC. The location is great and the service … superb!
A week later I returned to the hotel and it was nice to be recognized by the Front Desk agent. Professional service and attentive to guest needs.
The rooms are very comfortable and have a great city view. I highly recommend the Ameritania.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have forwarded your kind words to all of our departments and we all look forward to meeting and exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was very happy with my stay at the Ameritania for 2 nights. It was in a great location and the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. They were great at suggesting things to do and were able to hold our luggage all day before check-in and after check-out. It also has a nice bar and the lobby is very hip. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely return again. Thanks also to Jeff, the doorman, for his help with our luggage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Chioe S, Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad you enjoyed the service here at the Ameritania Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards, Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,948 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing