We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ameritania Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Courtyard(New York City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Dream Midtown(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Moderne Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
WestHouse Hotel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Da Vinci Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Manhattan Club(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (5,770)
Filter reviews
5,771 results
Traveler rating
2,873
2,127
553
140
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,873
2,127
553
140
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral parktimes squaregreat locationnew yorkfree wifidoor staffaround the cornerfew blocksgreat showerspecial thankswould definitely stay here againtwo double bedscorner roomstreet noisesmall roomthe theater districtbig apple
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,745 - 3,750 of 5,771 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My daughter and & I visited during a spring trip to check out a college. This hotel was very clean and looked freshly rennovated in upscale style. Amenities are minimal, but was ok with us as we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room. The double room (one bed) we shared was very small, but not surprised for a NY hotel room. The location was great, just around the corner from Ed Sullivan Theater ("Late Night" w/ David Letterman) and just a couple of blocks to Central Park & Columbus Circle and close to the theater district. Just at the north end of Times Square, there is lots to do and everything one needs is close by. The lobby is a bit modern for my taste, but that didn't matter much to me and it does not reflect the style of the rooms. I paid with a package w/ airfare, so I felt the combo deal was a good value for the money.

Room Tip: If you want more room, get a room bigger than a single bed.I peeked into the room with 2 beds and the rooms seemed much larger.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear npeben,
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are sorry that the hotel didn't meet your expectations. We would have been happy to move you and your family to a different room while you were here if we would have known how upset you were. Please let us know the next time you travel to the States as we would like to ensure that you have a better time than you did on your first visit.

Regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I took a chance on a name your own price hotel for a weekend to the city and got a great, comfortable place. very modern, and renovated on the inside, the rain shower was great after a long day of walking around. the room was a queen size bed, closet, tv, bathroom and not much more, but you don't normally expect large rooms in nyc. there was construction that ran from 8 am till midnight on the weekday we were there that was right outside our window, but I couldn't really fault the hotel for that.
The location was perfect, right off Broadway a couple of blocks north of times square and just a few blocks south of central park. Easy access to subway as we took the train to Penn station. the front desk staff were extremely helpful, courteous and attentive. Overall a great value if you are staying one or two nights for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeljwalter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear michaeljwalter2,
What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have forwarded your kind words to all of our departments and we all look forward to meeting and exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us. See you soon!

Best regards
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel in an excellent location for walkers.
The rooms are small, as are the bathrooms but who goes to NYC to stay in the room?
They have a lovely small bar in the lobby and 24 hr room service.
The staff, from doorman to front desk to housekeeping make you feel welcome and are very accommodating.
The only problem is the construction across the street. It does start a bit early.
For an affordable centrally located friendly hotel in TImes Square, I would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the other side of the building construction.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiB1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a decent and comfortable hotel in a good location for Times Square, for all the fans of neon out there. Personally I find Times Square to be the least lovely part of an amazing city, worth visiting once at night rather than making it the basis of a visit, but clearly I'm in the minority on this one.

This is a hotel which has had a design makeover, rather than a place which was conceived as a design hotel. It is stylish enough, and almost certainly more elegant than many other dull hotels in this part of the city. Compared to the true design hotels scattered across Manhattan, this falls slightly short. The lobby area - dominated by red furniture - is initially impressive, but sit in the bar beside it for a few minutes and you'll realise that something subtle is missing. It is a combination of the slightly misplaced cheesy music, a slight coldness to the furniture, an annoying beeping door somewhere which interrupts your drinks, and maybe just a few missing cushions or objects to really finish the area off in style.

It is the same deal with the bedroom. The bed is comfortable, with excellent linen, the walls are stylishly decorated and it all feels very modern. But sit there for a minute and you'll see the missed details. My room had a deep closet with no light in it, so when you unpack you will hang your clothes up (and try to retrieve them in the morning) in complete darkness. The bathroom is stylish, but the two shower taps are on chrome plates which are not fixed to the wall so they were both lopsided. It had no impact on being able to use the rainforest shower, but it was just a sign that the final few percent of attention that would make this a 'five circle' rating had been missed.

In the truly stylish hotels, you could cut them through and they would bleed interior designers and stylists. In this place, if you cut it through you would find a marketing person and a harried project manager with a clipboard, ticking things off without quite getting it.

Very good overall, and a noble leap forward from something plastic and soulless, particularly in this bustling, touristy and restless part of town. But if you want a true design experience, head to somewhere like the excellent Mondrian Soho or the Soho Grand.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garreth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear VickiB1229, thank you so much for your excellent feedback. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and I am thrilled to hear we met your expectations. Our location makes the Ameritania an ideal place for anyone visiting New York and hope you return soon. Please feel free to contact us upon your next visit to ensure another excellent experience.

Kindest regards.
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights, the location was great only a few minutes walk from Times square. Our room on the 5th floor was clean and very modern with a Broadway view. The staff were excellent and rang to book our helicopter tour for us. I'd love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slap_n_Tickle37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear slap_n_Tickle37, We are elated to hear that you felt special during your time with us! Thank you for your positive feedback, it is so refreshing and encouraging. We hope you will give us an opportunity to pamper you again the next time you visit New York!
Sincerely Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews