We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ameritania is great”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #133 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Ameritania is great”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Really comfortable hotel with the friendliest and most helpful staff. Loved all the people behind the desk, doormen, the works. Julian was fantastic. Great location. Some rooms are noisy but they bent over backwards to accommodate me and move me into a quieter one. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I got a corner room -- 9th floor room 905 -- it was the best -- large, high enough to avoid noise, v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Anne R
Thank you for the five-star rating!! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with our Front Desk staff. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,483
    1,891
    498
    117
    65
See reviews for
1,267
2,031
237
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We used a third party to book this hotel and were pleaslantly surprised. The hotel is very chic, clean, and modern. Fantastic location!!!! The room and beds were fantastic. We had one issue with our room and it was taken care of without any hassle. The staff was attentive and helpful. Three people stood out during our visit, Crystal, Mourad, and Paul, the Manager. Thank you for making our girls weekend exceptional. We will be back.

The bar was just what we needed. Wish it was open a little earlier but the prices, happy hour special, and choices were excellent. We were able to book a car, limousine in fact, at an extremely reasonable price. This is a great hotel option in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewli69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Lewli69, You were very sweet to say those kind words about our staff. We couldn't agree more. It was nice to hear that your son felt comfortable as well. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
With the best.
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, turn right and you get to Times Square. Turn left and you arrive in Central Park. Hotel is very clean, room is not ultra large and bed is quite small but all very comfortable. Very good free wifi in the room. To top it off Mario at the reception provided exceptional service.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank esc881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear esc881: Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means a lot to us and we will share your positive feedback with our staff. Again, may we wish you safe travels !! Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

we have just returned to Denmark after a nice week i NY, which included 3 nights at Ameritania. It was a very pleasant stay with great service from Sharon and Crystal at the frontdesk among others - actually all the staff made a very good impression! The hotel is very near to Times Square, Central Park and other great places. It's a really nice hotel with very good value for money!! :-)

Mr. & Mrs.Wiborg from Denmark

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiborg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear wiborg2013,

It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our first time to New York and it was amazing! Our hotel was nice from an ascetic standpoint, but what made this hotel worth it was the staff! They were all incredibly kind and helpful especially Mourad. He went above and beyond to make sure we had a great experience in New York. If you want to stay close to Time Square and are looking for a hotel with a GREAT staff, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: For a great view be sure to request the side facing Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear JustenQ,

We are so glad to know that your experience with us was outstanding! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here 6 nights for a vacation trip to NYC. The hotel and rooms were nicely decorated with a modern style. Our room was not large but it was comfortable and all the space we needed. The hotel was very clean. The sheets and towels were always clean and smelled good! The hotel maid service everyday was exceptional. The front desk staff was so kind and always helpful. They printed out ticket reservations for us and gave us recommendations on great places to eat. The front door man Mourad went above and beyond with his level of cusotmer service. He was very helpful and went the extra mile to ensure our stay was excellent. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you are wanting more space. The rooms vary in size. Also our room was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crys6408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear, Crys6408,

We are so glad to know that your experience with us was outstanding! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spent one night here in this hotel. The rooms were very nice and modern (including a rain shower head). Wasn't crazy about the half glass shower door that doesn't move - the floor got pretty wet. The beds were doubles not queens and were not very comfortable - they look more comfortable than they are. No support I woke up feeling very achy and not refreshed. Usually the rooms in NYC are sound proof. Not the case here. I heard all of the goings on into the night. The location is right outside of Times Square (around the corner from the David Letterman studio) - which explains the priceyness of the hotel. All in all I probably wouldn't stay here again for the money I paid for the one night. The bar in the lobby is very small and does not carry domestic beers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrav1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear mrar1072,
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are sorry that the hotel didn't meet your expectations. We would have been happy to move you and your family to a different room while you were here if we would have known how upset you were. Please let us know the next time you travel t as we would like to ensure that you have a better time than you did on your first visit.

Regard
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#75 of 466 in New York City
1,802 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#70 of 466 in New York City
5,087 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#198 of 466 in New York City
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#263 of 466 in New York City
4,535 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#112 of 466 in New York City
1,226 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#156 of 466 in New York City
6,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing