We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time to New York”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #124 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our first time to New York and it was amazing! Our hotel was nice from an ascetic standpoint, but what made this hotel worth it was the staff! They were all incredibly kind and helpful especially Mourad. He went above and beyond to make sure we had a great experience in New York. If you want to stay close to Time Square and are looking for a hotel with a GREAT staff, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: For a great view be sure to request the side facing Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear JustenQ,

We are so glad to know that your experience with us was outstanding! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,447 - 3,453 of 5,391 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here 6 nights for a vacation trip to NYC. The hotel and rooms were nicely decorated with a modern style. Our room was not large but it was comfortable and all the space we needed. The hotel was very clean. The sheets and towels were always clean and smelled good! The hotel maid service everyday was exceptional. The front desk staff was so kind and always helpful. They printed out ticket reservations for us and gave us recommendations on great places to eat. The front door man Mourad went above and beyond with his level of cusotmer service. He was very helpful and went the extra mile to ensure our stay was excellent. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you are wanting more space. The rooms vary in size. Also our room was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crys6408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear, Crys6408,

We are so glad to know that your experience with us was outstanding! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spent one night here in this hotel. The rooms were very nice and modern (including a rain shower head). Wasn't crazy about the half glass shower door that doesn't move - the floor got pretty wet. The beds were doubles not queens and were not very comfortable - they look more comfortable than they are. No support I woke up feeling very achy and not refreshed. Usually the rooms in NYC are sound proof. Not the case here. I heard all of the goings on into the night. The location is right outside of Times Square (around the corner from the David Letterman studio) - which explains the priceyness of the hotel. All in all I probably wouldn't stay here again for the money I paid for the one night. The bar in the lobby is very small and does not carry domestic beers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrav1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear mrar1072,
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are sorry that the hotel didn't meet your expectations. We would have been happy to move you and your family to a different room while you were here if we would have known how upset you were. Please let us know the next time you travel t as we would like to ensure that you have a better time than you did on your first visit.

Regard
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Myself and sister booked a trip to new York for 5 nights and I choose this hotel to stay in. It was a excellent stay with all the things that we would need from a hotel room. Firstly as a girl a decent hairdryer, huge mirror and great shower.
It even had a ipod dock station and free unlimited wifi, which was perfect for us as we liked to keep in touch with our partners.
Further as it was my sisters birthday we had a huge cupcake waiting from crumbs bakery ( which is one to try) and they also upgraded us to a bigger bed which was fab.
The staff were fab and really went out of their way to help.
The location is good and right on times square and the subway is nearby too.
You have to try evergreens for breakfast and dallas bbq on 8th avenue for food it was amazing.
Further definitely go see a comedy show it was hilarious and we even went to Madison square gardens and watched a live boxing match which was a really good experience.
I am normally one of those people that finds at least one thing wrong with the hotel but I can't find a single thing to complain about and I would stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsKizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Leedskizza: Thank you for the five-star rating!! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with our Front Desk staff. Look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Ameritania Hotel was recommended to us by a friend and we were not disappointed. It's in a great location within walking distance of Central Park, Times Square, and the theater district. The hotel looks newly refurbished and is fresh and clean. The room was comfortable with good beds and a wide screen TV. I loved the rainforest shower! The staff was friendly and helpful. Mario took care of our luggage until our room was ready. He remembered us throughout our visit and went out of his way to greet us and ask how our stay was. Crystal at the front desk was equally welcoming and helpful. All our dealings with the staff at the Amertania were pleasant. I am eager to book another trip to NYC and stay at the Ameritania.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear ,Charslot

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers! We are thrilled you had such an good experience and look forward to welcoming you back again and again. See you next time!

All the best,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've been to NYC before, but this was the first time we stayed all weekend. The Broadway location was the point. The hotel was much nicer than I expected for the price. Very stylish. The staff was great! Javier the bartender was great. We ended every night down at the bar, and after the first night he already knew enough to make great wine recommendations based on my previous night's choices. Service was amazing. Even after I checked out, Jeffery kept an eye on my luggage and even contacted a car service after recommending what time I come back to the hotel to catch my flight. Will definitely stay here again next time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Gail K, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate you taking time to let us know. Our staff’s number one priority is service and it’s great to hear we were able to meet your expectations. We would be honored to have you stay with us more often and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time so we could arrange the reservation to your liking. We hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards.
Renaldo Moore& Ameritania Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just a week ago, I spent 7 days at the Ameritania Hotel in New York City with 7 other friends. I'd like to praise their friendliness and will to help. The location is perfect, close to Times Square, Central Park, the Rockefeller Center, everything anyone wants to see when in the Big Apple.
The rooms are clean and the beds are so comfortable that you want to take them back home when you leave. The TV set is wonderful and the mini-bar is very good, too.They provide you with plugs, hairdrier, many little things that make you feel comfortable. Perhaps the wardrobe is not very big, but enough for a week. The breakfast could be improved by adding fresh fruit.
I'd like to mention a very nice porter from the Dominican Republic who speaks perfect Spanish, which always helps. His name is Ronaldo or Reinaldo Moor. He was delightful and so friendly with our group.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Carmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaldo M, Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City. Kind Regards,
Renaldo Moore & Ameritania Staff..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#80 of 469 in New York City
1,894 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,457 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 469 in New York City
7,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#132 of 469 in New York City
3,198 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#130 of 469 in New York City
5,620 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#138 of 469 in New York City
7,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $157 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing