We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ameritania Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Courtyard(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Dream Midtown(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Moderne Hotel(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    WestHouse Hotel New York(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Fitness center
    Da Vinci Hotel(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    The Manhattan Club(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Bar/Lounge
    Reviews (5,773)
    Filter reviews
    5,773 results
    Traveler rating
    2,873
    2,128
    554
    140
    78
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    2,873
    2,128
    554
    140
    78
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscentral parktimes squaregreat locationnew yorkfree wifidoor staffaround the cornerfew blocksgreat showerspecial thankswould definitely stay here againtwo double bedscorner roomstreet noisesmall roomthe theater districtbig apple
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    3,793 - 3,798 of 5,773 reviews
    Reviewed April 8, 2013

    Around the corner from the David Letterman show. Got good price through red tag . Room was small but awesome shower and comfy bed. Too bad no free wifi. Not even in lobby. Starbucks across the street though. Skip price that includes breakfast. Pastry and bagels only.

    • Stayed: March 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank sukihoney
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 8, 2013

    Yes the location is great (right near the theatre where they tape David Letterman's show) but our room was extremely small. There was no furniture. Instead there were black wrought iron kitchen type racks on either side of the bed to store your clothes. The bathroom was so tiny that you literally had to step over the toilet to enter the shower stall. Plus the sink was a free standing porcelain style model which didn't allow you any place to keep your toiletries. We had to open the window (which had no screen) and place our stuff on the window ledge hoping nothing would fall out onto the street. Really annoying. The bar area at night was hopping though with lots of yelping people in a party mood. In fact it was packed. So if you don't mind a small room offering only the bare essentials and an even smaller bathroom then maybe the advantage of a good location in Times Square may work for you. We stayed at the Paramount Hotel previously and although the rooms were small, they were tastefully decorated, newly renovated and much brighter and cheerier. Would not stay at the Ameritania again.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Kerry A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 8, 2013

    Enjoyable trip. Hotel location excellent stayed for 8 nights. Requested room with two seperate beds.Room had 2 double beds very comfortable. Bathroom spacious and safe provided.Hotel warm, clean and cosy. Continential breakfast available in small dinning room near reception. Reception staff very helpful especially Emerald who gave us great advice re Bus Tours and hairdressing services available locally. Felt very safe and secure in hotel and in New York generally.Central Park and Time Square within walking distance.Bar staff polite and friendly as were portering staff.Hotel staff arranged to store our lugage on our departure day as our flight was at 21.00hrs in room at reception. Taxi to airport was organised by Emerald, Taxi Driver very pleasant. Free Wifi available in our bedroom during our stay. There was no dinning room service apart from breakfast. I would recommened if you fancy a show on Broadway go to box office of theatre on the day for tickets to obtain best value. "Once" the musical great proformance well worth seeing. I will be back to Ameritania Hotel on my next trip to New York.

    Room Tip: We requested a room with 2 beds. Got a room with 2 double beds. Two single beds would have been ok.
    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank 2IrishLadies
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 8, 2013

    Very art deco as soon as you step into the lobby.there is only so much you can do with a old hotel like this but it's great and just around the corner from times square and central park.If the you want a new high tech hotel then this not for you but if it's back to 30's,40's then step back in time with this hotel.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank gary006
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 8, 2013

    I stayed in the Ameritania end of March 2013 and I really liked it. My room was huge for NY standards and it was fully renovated and very nice.

    In general the staff was very friendly (except for the breakfast people). Don't bother with the breakfast as I consider it as a joke anyway. There are plenty of places near by.

    For this price range the hotel is definitely great and I would go there again without hesitation.

    Room Tip: It definitely helps to be away from the elevators (one beeps loudly when it opens) and I also think trying to get a room in the upper floors is a good idea.
    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dansku
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews