We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Muncie, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Find”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ameritania Hotel and I was extremely pleased with my experience at this hotel.

For starters, the room in which we stayed (two double beds) was immaculate and looked exactly like the professional photos of the hotel. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the shower was amazing. The location of the hotel was fantastic (corner of 54th and Broadway) and was a very short walk to Times Square and many other amazing attractions/sites in the city.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and more than happy to give a helping hand. A great thanks goes out to the manager, Paul. Unfortunately an error was made by a new employee upon check-in at the hotel. Paul went above and beyond to guarantee that I enjoyed my stay and was happy with the hotel. In my opinion, that is the sign of a great hotel and great management.

Overall, I couldn't possibly recommend any other hotel in NYC more than the Ameritania. We make several trips to the city every year, and we will be making the Ameritania our go to place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Daniel, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate you taking time to let us know. Our staff’s number one priority is service and it’s great to hear we were able to meet your expectations. We would be honored to have you stay with us more often and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time so we could arrange the reservation to your liking. We hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,531
    1,915
    505
    118
    66
See reviews for
1,310
2,056
242
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Very clean , friendly staff, good cont. breakfast and great location. Chicago , the show was a fiewc blocks away as well as time sguare.Will stay here again next month. Took the train to Penn station then a subway up town very easy to get to.

Room Tip: Had a lower flooor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500bruce65500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Bruce, thank you so much for your feedback. Our location is truly great, and perfect for any theater go-er since we are in the theater district. We would be honored to have you again! Please let us know in advance so we can provide you with extra attention.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Ameritania hotel! Hotel staff were all very helpful and the reception desk has an IPad which you can borrow for free!! Rooms were made everyday, towels and bedding replaced when asked. Room was very comfortable and the hotel was based in a good location to explore NYC!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Tricia, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear you had such a positive experience while staying with us. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again. Please return and contact in advance so we can make it extra special on your next visit.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was highly disappointed with this hotel. When I called to make my reservation, the first thing I ask was "Do you have valet parking, and if not, what is the parking situation?" Since I was driving from out of state and I Know how expensive NYC parking can get, I wanted to confirm this with the hotel. They said they do not offer any parking, however there is a parking garage just down the street (100ft maybe), and they offer parking for "like $25 for 24 hours." EXACT WORDS from hotel front desk. Of course, I trusted them and booked a hotel room. When I arrived, I went to the garage and parked my car. My fault for not looking at the pricing before dropping the car off. The hotel held my luggage at the desk since I was early and the room wasn't ready. I was VERY HAPPY with the location. Letterman's studio was just below us, and Broadway was packed that weekend. This was the only upside to the hotel. The room was EXTREMELY SMALL...even for NYC. There was hardly any walking room around the bed. I'm glad I was alone because there would not have been enough room for 2 people to store luggage. The air conditioning situation was annoying as well. You had to stick your room key into a slot in order to manage the air; it was running all night on High even though I tried repeatedly to turn it off. But the worst part...the view. Very disappointing. After I checked out, I had brunch with friends and returned to pick up my car. $91!!!!!! I was pissed to say the least. Find a hotel with their own parking and at better rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGoddess86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Travel Goddess86, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate you taking time to let us about your experience online and lament that you did not have a positive one. We do not have a parking lot on-site and I understand how it could be confusing since there are many Icon Parking lots in Midtown. The Icon Parking lot we have an affiliation with is located on 1700 Broadway and the discounted rate for our guests is $30 dollars per 24 hours. We plead you return and stay with us again. We promise to make it up to you! Please contact me at Jmarmolejos@amsterdamhospitality.com, to personally ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenfell, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Three friends and myself planned a girls holiday in New York City. We had a wonderful time as the hotel was very good and the staff was excellent - especially the gentleman at the door. Super great and very helpful. A small problem with door keys and linens but nothing too bad. Would recommend this hotel - location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvester444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Sylvester, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am elated to hear you and your friends had such a positive experience. Our staff is always delighted to help our guests and it’s great that you were satisfied with our service. We would be honored to have you return. Please contact us directly to ensure optimal service.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Ameritania was a fantastic place to stay in NYC! A fantastic location between the park and Times Square, nice staff and a good clean room. We stayed for seven nights and I loved coming back to the very comfy bed to rest my weary feet after a big day in the city. My only criticism is the noisy air conditioning, it was really hot whilst we were there and we had to turn the AC off at night time as it was keeping us awake. Other than that, I really rate the Ameritania!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Selina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Selina, thank you very much for your feedback. I am thrilled to hear you had a fantastic stay! Our sincerest apologies about your A.C. unit, we have an engineer on duty at all times and wish we were aware of your situation to solution this issue. We would be honored to have you stay with us again! Please contact us directly on your return to ensure optimal service.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Ameritania is at the corner of Broadway and 54th St W. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The public areas are clean and modern (if a little chilly). The room was small but newly remodelled and very clean: modern bath with glass tiles, white sheets, comfortable bed; but the a/c was difficult to adjust so it was either too stuffy or too cold. The Ed Sullivan Theater is around the corner on Broadway. Studio 54 Theatre is 3 doors down on 54th. And there is a deli on the corner of 54th St W. and 8th Ave that offers a $4 breakfast special with free coffee. This hotel has to be the best-kept secret in NYC. Angelo's Restaurant (adjacent to the Ed Sullivan Theatre) has great pizza and Junior's Delicatessen has the best cheesecake in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackrabbit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear JackRabbit, thank you so much for your review. We are definitely the “best-kept secret in NYC” :) . Our location is truly great and there are many places to go and see within minutes. I apologize we were not able to help you out with the A.C. unit in your room, we wish were would have known previously about your issue as we would have corrected it immediately. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to make your next stay an even better one! Please return and contact us directly to ensure exceptional service.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
1,830 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,168 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
5,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#115 of 467 in New York City
1,245 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
6,867 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s Theater District, the Ameritania at Times Square possesses a playful spirit in the midst of one of Manhattan’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Ameritania Hotel at Times Square combines modern design within our boutique Theater District accommodations in the middle of one of the most vivacious neighborhoods in Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing