We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean & Modern Getaway!”
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #138 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean & Modern Getaway!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My friends and I went to NYC for a getaway on Memorial Day weekend. We picked the right hotel. The staff was so helpful! They gave us tips about where to party (with vouchers for free entrance saving us $30 each) and where to eat (down the street, off the beaten path). My friends and I got there before check in and the staff was able to hold our luggage. The beds were so luxurious we didn't want to leave the room.

The location is perfect!!! You are right between Central Park and Times Square.

I will come here again and will recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1beachfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear 1beachfun, thank you so much for your excellent feedback. I am delighted to hear you had great time while staying with us. Our staff is extremely knowledgeable of New York and filled with great advice on what to do while visiting the city. Please return. We would be thrilled to have you stay with us again. Contact us directly on your next visit for the best possible attention.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,426
    1,873
    494
    116
    63
See reviews for
1,236
2,011
232
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fantastic boutique hotel. Of course the staff was overly pleasant and professional. The room was on the small side, but in NYC, you don't need a large room. The art work and decor is modern and the room/lobby are all up to date. Brand new bathrooms as well. Everything we needed. Of course flat screen TV and futuristic alarm clock. Plenty to do around the hotel as well. You can walk west to Hell's Kitchen/Theatre District, MOMA is a few blocks east, Times Square is close as well as Central Park. Seemed like we were a 10-15 minute walk from whatever we wanted to see. I'd definitely stay here again. (we didn't eat or drink at the hotel bar/restaurant - although it looked very nice and upscale).

Room Tip: I'd recommend this hotel for a solo business trip or just visiting the city for a few days. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estepier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Estepier, thank you so much for your wonderful review. Our location makes travelling to any part of the city easy. Within minutes one can be in many of the city’s historic neighborhoods and attractions. I wish you had tried our bar since it’s so awesome! As a token of our appreciation upon your return we will include complimentary drink vouchers. Please contact us directly on your return for optimal service.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just got back from 3 nights here. Delightful staff from front door to the desk. Everyone was very accomodating. Clean as a whistle, great shower. Damn construction starts at 7 a.m., surely not the hotels fault. Would I stay here again, oh yes. Location, location, location.

Room Tip: If you can get a room not facing the construction, try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear nickerama, thank you very much for you concise and warm feedback. Our staff works tirelessly to ensure the best possible service and I am thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. Please return. Contact us directly to ensure another excellent experience.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Ameritania Hotel this past weekend. Check-in was easy and painless. The doorman was extrememly friendly and helpful! We stayed in room 1105, a corner room with two windows, an amazing view and PLENTY of room. It was one of the largest rooms I have ever stayed in in NYC. The bed was comfortable, room was clean and bathroom was small, but very modern. The energy efficient features with the lighting, etc. took a day to get used to, but it was appreciated. The lobby is amazing and shiek, elevators and hallways just recently renovated. There is construction going on next door, but it did not interrupt our sleep and we weren't in our room during the day. The location is awesome, right around the corner from David Letterman Theater and one block from Sister Act. I highly recommend this hotel and hope you are fortunate enough to get a corner room as we did!

Room Tip: request a corner room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear lgpaz, thank you very much for you amazing review. 1105 is indeed an amazing room and I am thrilled you got to enjoy it as much as it ought to be. We at the Ameritania pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and I am delighted to hear we met your expectations. We would be honored by your return. Please contact us directly upon your next visit to ensure the best possible room type (hint-hint) and the exception service you deserve.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from 2 night stay at the Ameritania- fantastic!!!
We were given room 614, it had no view from the window (didn't matter to us)
but it was a reasonable size and very quiet.Good size wet room too with lovely
shower.
The best for us was the location- we were able to walk to Empire State Building,
Rockerfeller Tower,Central Park, Times Square and were able to walk to theatre
very easily.
We did not bother with hotel for breakfast as there is plenty of choice nearby.
The only negative is the roof garden which is in dire need of a makeover!
Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndaHertforshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear LyndaHertforshire, thank you so much for your warm review and recommendation. I personally love the 14 line due its spacious bathroom and natural sunlight during the day. As you mentioned, our location makes travelling within the city quick and easy and ideal for anyone visiting New York. As for the “roof garden” I regret to inform you that our roof is not actually accessible to the public, and you might have gone up via the elevator because we have a storage unit which employees use at times. We would be honored to have you stay with us again. Please contact us directly to ensure optimal service.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. Everyone was so nice and the room was awesome. I had contacted Erin the office manager by email the day before my arrival to ask for an upgrade since this trip was my moms birthday present and her first time in the city. She returned my email within an hour and said they were totally booked and could not give us a suite, but she would make sure we had a nice deluxe king room. I have to say this room was one of the nicest rooms that I have stayed in in the city. Not only did she make sure we had a nice room but she had a cupcake waiting in the room with a nice letter for my mom. Thank you to all the staff and especially Erin for making this a very memorable stay in the city.
The location of this hotel is so nice. There are plenty of places to grab a meal at. You are out of the hustle of times square but close to walk to it. Central park was very easy to walk to too. Subway is easy to access also.
Excellent stay. Will definitely be back for another trip.
Thanks

Room Tip: We stayed in 1005 and the room had 2 great views and the street noise was not bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanrn454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We chose the Ameritania Hotel for our 7 night stay in the City - best choice ever!
The hotel is located right at the corner of 54th street & broadway, ideal to go jogging in central park [which I can warmly recommend] and explore midtown by walking around.
Situated in the 5th floor our room was facing to the east, nice view down to the streets and even the sky was clearly visible to check out weather conditions in the morning.
Room-size was sufficient for us, the bed felt very comfortable and the bathroom was equipped very well [rainshower, nice furniture, clever style]
only minus point - carpet and external surfaces could have been tidier
The staff was in general very helpful and friendly.
Bellman Mr. Mourad gave good advices around all our questions and it felt good to have a kind of familiar chat everytime we saw each other -
thank you!
conclusion: next time New York - next time Ameritania Hotel

Room Tip: Our room on the east side had great view, I think the higher the floor - the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Manuel K, thank you so much for your amazing review! Many excellent points that are at the core of what staying at the Ameritania is about. The Ameritania at Times Square is in one of most centrically located hotels in all of New York City, minutes away from iconic landmarks, buildings and neighborhoods. We would be thrilled to have you stay with us again. Contact us directly upon your return to assure another excellent experience.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#75 of 468 in New York City
1,778 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 468 in New York City
5,015 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,239 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#295 of 468 in New York City
7,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing