We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book it..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameritania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ameritania Hotel
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Book it..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

(10th floor vouch only - room 1005 - memorial day weekend)

We had a great stay at Ameritania from check in to check out.. online rates were best in the area for a hotel of this standard.)trust me I checked)....check in went very smoothly and we got a corner room overlooking Broadway and 54th. The lobby is welcoming and staff friendly.

The rooms are New York cozy and excellent for 2 who wants to get cozy...very nice bath with rain shower, comfy bed/;pillows, flat screen. The closet is very small so I just hung my clothes and stash my carryon behind the curtains. The room is very nicely decorated very chic...

The only thing to be aware is that you are in time square New York and you will have street/partier goer noise (even with the windows closed - the AC cut back on it)..(i.e. the city that never sleeps) ....but for me it added to the experience.

The hotel is close to EVERYTHING - (Restaurants, all subway lines, Time Square, Central Park, Broadway etc..)

This is my hotel of choice now for NYC now...highly recommended.

Room Tip: 1005.corner room..loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin B, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Lawrence M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ameritania Hotel with your fellow travelers. Your wonderful compliments of our décor, location and customer service are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Sincerely,
Erin Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,273
    1,776
    472
    105
    59
See reviews for
1,155
1,898
221
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed for 5 nights in this hotel, i found it a very nice hotel and the staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful.In particular many thanks to Mourad and Javier for all their help and "the craic" Javier the cocktails were great !! Would definately recommend this hotel as it is so central to everything in NYC and a good base, Times Square, Central Park and alot of other places all within five minutes walking distance. The rooms were adequate to our needs and the beds were so comfy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 625Marjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin B, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear 625Marjon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Ameritania Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff delivered top-notch service to you. Mourad certainly appreciates your feedback and Javier is ready to whip up a drink for your return! I am happy to inform you that they both have been acknowledged for their performance based on your review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Best regards,
Erin Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I just returned from traveling to NYC with six teenagers on a school trip. We stayed at the Ameritania for five nights and six days, and, I must say, it was such a pleasant experience. The rooms were modern and sleek and the beds were so comfortable. The rooms were roomy (considering NYC standards) and clean, but mostly, I have to mention the staff - they were wonderful! From the front desk personnel to the doormen - amazing service. Traveling with teens can be stressful, but getting back to such pleasant staff and comfortable rooms after long, busy days was surely welcoming. Of course, the location is absolutely ideal. I will definitely go back with family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyLMorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin B, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear CindyLMorales,

Thank you for your review of your experience here at the Ameritania Hotel. I appreciate your great compliments towards our entire team, and will absolutely share your comments with everyone. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, and appreciate your ongoing support of the Ameritania Hotel.

Sincerely,
Erin Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel in May and we loved it. We had a king room and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in!! The front desk staff and the front door men were terrific. Great location...walking distance to Times Square and Central Park. Great restaurants in the neighbourhood. We will come back here. We bumped into Kunal Nayyar aka Raj from the Big Bang Theory just outside the Hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin B, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear CanadaJeff,

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff delivered top-notch service to you with a great Martini. With such a great location and a neighbor like Letterman, celebrity run-ins are almost inevitable! We are glad you got to experience such a great New York moment! I will share your comments with our staff, and we sincerely hope you will return to the Ameritania for your next trip to New York City.

Most sincerely,
Erin Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville Valley, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I ended up at the Ameritania entirely by accident, having booked a room at a "sister property", the Bentley, across town. When I arrived at the Bentley (late and tired after a long day of work and travel), I ended up shuffling my feet in reception for 10 minutes while they decided they didn't have my prepaid and confirmed room after all. They put me in a cab and 15 lurching minutes later, I was in Times Square and checking into the Ameritania. They were expecting me and treated me like a welcome guest, not a leftover from another hotel. Score.

I was quickly settled in my "classic boutique" room on the 10th floor, and a very pleasant room it was. The creative decor would be familiar to anyone who's ever stayed in a Kimpton hotel... Wild geometric carpet, lots of textures and buttons, but a neat, spare aesthetic in spite of the flourishes. My room was equipped with two double beds, platform jobs with custom mattresses and snow white coverlets. The bed, as it turns out, was seriously comfortable and cocoon like. Score.

The bathroom was small but similarly stylish, with a rainwater shower head and a seemingly impractical no-door enclosure (that worked better than expected). All in all, a very nice room package.

What's not to love? Well, as many others have noted, even ten floors up, it's noisy. Like, if the air conditioner cycles off (and it does, a lot) you're confronted with stark street noise. In my room, the window seemed to be mishung, which made the sound leakage even worse. If you're like me, you'll wake up a lot in spite of the cozy bed.

Would I stay here deliberately? Yes, if the rate was right, I probably would. Nice property, just far enough out of Times Square to escape the tourist trap, er, trap, and a bed to remember.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, if you can stand them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewKnightWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin B, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear DrewKnightWV,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience here at the Ameritania Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your impromptu stay with us, and that our staff gave you a warm welcome. I will share your comments with our staff, and we sincerely hope you will return to the Ameritania for your next trip to New York City.

Kind regards,
Erin Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel! Yes it was noisy but what do you expect in New York! House keeping were fantastic. Reception were great and the doormen were amazing! They helped with anything we needed. They went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant one. The room was great, very clean and spacious considering what we were expecting. Would definitely recommend this hotel. It was central to everything. 2 mins walk one way to central park and 2 mins the other way to times square. Was home for 2 hours and started planning my next stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin B, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Holly F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Ameritania Hotel. It is our pleasure to make sure our guests know that we will go above and beyond to meet their expectations. Your review has been acknowledged by all departments and we look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to NYC!

All the best,
Erin Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed at the Ameritania for one night for work on May 16. The location is great and the service was friendly (albeit not that efficient). But my room just was not clean. When I stay in a hotel, I don't need fancy, just clean. When I checked in on the 16th I bent down by the desk to plug in my laptop and there was hair all over the rug behind the desk chair. There were stains on one of the duvets in the room, stains on the rug, water stains on the nightstand and the room just did not smell right. The bathroom was cleaner than the main room (thank goodness) but I felt uncomfortable for the small amount of time I was in the room. Also, the bed was really way too soft and for me, it was not comfortable. I also think, given the number of hotels in NYC that offer free wi-fi, that the hotel charging for the service is just crazy. This hotel unfortunately was not chosen by me, but by a colleague because so much of NYC was sold out. Unless you absolutely have to stay here, I would look elsewhere. Too many better options out there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandie_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin B, Front Office Manager at Ameritania Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Brandie_in_Boston,
Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that your experience with us was less then what we had hoped for. I understand WIFI has a big impact for our guests experience therefore I am in discussion of the potential possibility of complimentary WIFI. We are constantly supervising our teams work and moving forward we are performing more random inspections by a Senior Manager. Thank you for your review, as it helps us improve our current performance.
I would like the opportunity to further discuss the details of your stay and if you have the opportunity to further discuss your concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Best regards,
Erin Becker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameritania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameritania Hotel

Property: Ameritania Hotel
Address: 230 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ameritania Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Ameritania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritania New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing