We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Best Value in NYC!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Ranked #46 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Our recent stay at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central was wonderful! This small hotel, very near Grand Central Station, offers quiet, comfortable, well appointed rooms. In fact, this was the quietest stay we've ever had in NYC. 44th street is a one-way that ends at Grand Central, so it has minimal traffic. The charming staff and the unexpected courtyard patio added to the comfort for our three night stay. Our first call will be to the Fitzpatrick for our next trip to the Big Apple.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brucelizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,075 - 2,081 of 2,396 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

The hotel is located just across the street from Grand Central Station so getting around the city is a breeze. The room that we had was excellent (#910), the bed was awesome but my partner thought it was on the soft side. The shower was enormous, 6 people could shower together with no problem. The hotel was very clean. I thought that the pub/restaurant was very expensive and the food not that good. Overall a great stay and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarleykidupstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Surprising find so close to Grand Central. You'd expect a flea bag, but couldn't be further from that. An exceptionally clean hotel with a very homey parlor, pub and patio. The room was very comfortable. The bathroom quite large and lovely (black marble walls, sparkling clean) and even had a window over the tub. There were two windows in the bedroom, one over 44th and the other one from which you could obliquely see Lexington. Bedding was luxurious and bath amenities quite nice. Towels are big and thick but if you're a washcloth user, be watchful since they don't seem to get replaced.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerTampaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We booked this hotel on the strength of some trip advisor reviews - we weren't disappointed. The staff at the desk and the concierge were so helpful – he arranged a great dinner cruise for us on our last night in New York. It has a warmth and friendliness that is so often lacking in big city hotels. Our room was a great size, clean and comfortable. The location was ideal - easy walking distance for Fifth Avenue, time square, central park, great shopping, the Chrysler building and grand central. Don't miss the opportunity to cut through Grand Central when you go out and about. There are loads of great places for breakfast on the doorstep - try Breakfast Central opposite the Grand Central entrance on 42nd.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

This hotel perfect for what we needed! The room and en suite were both spotless and spacious and the hotel staff could not do enough for you! They were friendly and helpful!! The location of the hotel was brilliant. Situated right next door to the Chrysler building and across the road from Grand Central station! It took us about 15 minutes to walk to Times Square and about 10 minutes to get to 5th Ave for all the major shops! If you are looking to stay in New York on a budget I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimjim1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

THANK YOU FOR YOUR ROOM, MR. NEESON! A truly special Father's Day spent in the Big Apple... thank you to the Fitzpatrick Grand for the upgrade into the Liam Neeson Penthouse Suite on the rooftop. Since my original room wasn't ready upon my early arrival, the front desk made my stay quite memorable! Waterford Crystal chandeliers and working fireplace with marble mantle, bathroom featuring Italian marble and tile, a soaking tub with television, and a double rainforest shower... my Manhattan based son did his best to trade me his apartment for the night (didn't work). Nothing will ever top this hotel experience (it pays to be nice to the front desk staff... I'm sure they have their share of irritated travelers who don't get upgraded).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuze07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This is a fabulous hotel in a perfect location about one block from Grand Central Station. It is charmingly decorated with a very European feel ~ I especially loved the library on the ground floor where I could sit and rummage through the books or take high tea. Our rooms were so nice ~ clean, well appointed, with extras such as a pants press, umbrella, and lots of magazines. Chocolates and bottled water appeared at our bedside the first night. But best of all was the service, which was excellent on every level. We have recommended this hotel to friends who have raved about it as well. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falconara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#49 of 473 in New York City
1,387 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
480 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 473 in New York City
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#53 of 473 in New York City
694 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 473 in New York City
736 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 473 in New York City
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#33 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $153 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing