We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Ranked #46 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This is a fabulous hotel in a perfect location about one block from Grand Central Station. It is charmingly decorated with a very European feel ~ I especially loved the library on the ground floor where I could sit and rummage through the books or take high tea. Our rooms were so nice ~ clean, well appointed, with extras such as a pants press, umbrella, and lots of magazines. Chocolates and bottled water appeared at our bedside the first night. But best of all was the service, which was excellent on every level. We have recommended this hotel to friends who have raved about it as well. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falconara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central over Memorial Day weekend 2009, after finding it on an internet special. The location of the hotel--on 44th Street close to Lexington and right across from Grand Central station--can't be beat for Manhatten sightseeing (it's literally 5 minutes to the Grand Central subway station). The rooms were clean, and for NYC standards, fairly spacious. The staff were helpful--we were able to get an early check in when we arrived and they were willing to hold our bags after we checked out on the last day. I think the hotel might be a little pricey normally, but it was a great deal at our promo rate.

The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was its bar/restaurant the Wheeltapper. There was nothing wrong with the bar/restaurant, it was just a little overpriced for standard bar food. And, there is so much great food elsewhere in NYC, I would recommend skipping the restaurant and eating somewhere else, unless you have a food credit (which we did).

All in all, a great stay at a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bachaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

This is an excellent hotel. Our room was clean, comfortable and relatively spacious. The bathroom was spotless and all the plumbing worked well. We were on the 9th floor on the street side and it was very quiet at night. The outside bar was nice with some NYers stopping by after work. In a great location, right across the street from grand central and all the subway trains. Within walking distance to Times Square, Bryant Park and Rockerfeller Center. The food at the pub is average.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randyinhsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Just returned from Fitzpatrick Grand Central ..what a great place to stay. Was worried about "pillowtop" mattresses as we like a firm one. Absolutely no problem, slept like logs. Asked for a quiet room beforehand, and, even though it is also a busy pub, we had no problem sleeping. We didn't have a fridge in the very comfortable room, but we did have an ironing board/iron! Didn't have breakfast as it seemed expensive..$20, plenty of places around. Had one evening meal as they gave us a $50 voucher for the restaurant, food was unremarkable.
Grand Central Terminal a few minutes away and also has lots of food options , very convenient...excellent unobtrusive but welcoming staff..this hotel suited us fine!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skilancashire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

True to the name of the hotel, this was ideally located within walking distance of most NYC attractions and the subway. My husband and I stayed here from 8-13 May 2009, and it was brilliant! Would definitely recommend this hotel, and its staff. We got a great internet deal with room rate of USD$149 per night (not sure if this is continuing over summer months) and couldn't have been happier. Room was spacious enough for a couple, with QB, smallish bathroom, and no view (strangely, also no bar fridge) - but blissfully quiet and dark for sleeping on comfy soft bed after long days of walking the city. We'd also recommend using Big Apple Greeter which is a volunteer service for anyone visiting for the first time - our wonderful guide spent 8 hours with us, but I think the norm is about 2-3 hours on a walking tour. The hotel is also within walking distance (about 10 min, depending on the amount of luggage you have!) of the express bus service to/from JFK and La Guardia, costing about USD$15 per person one way. We had a fabulous time and look forward to returning some day.

Thank HauteCouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We visited New York for the first time this April, this hotel was great value for money. We stayed here for four nights, and can't find fault with anything about it. It's in a great spot, you can walk to Times Square in a matter of minutes, our room was so quiet! The room was great, spacious enough for two, and the bathroom and shower were great. Was dying to test the bed after all the reviews here and it didn't disappoint, extremely comfortable, I almost didn't want to get out of it.
The staff were fantastic, especially the concierges. Housekeeping was great, no complaints whatsoever. The restaurant staff were great too, food was great and room service menu was to die for.
Maxies on Times Square is fabulous for breakfast, pricey, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurferRosa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

This was my second trip to the Fitzpatrick and once again, everything was great! My two sisters and I arrived at 11 a.m. to use the bag drop and the front desk staff said they'd check if we could get into our room, and good news, we could! The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat! We called the front desk for extra towels and five minutes later they were delivering them to our room, plus we asked later for additional sugar/condiments for the coffee, with those, too, being delivered to the room in minutes. I read some of the negative reviews and think they can't have stayed the same place that we did. We've stayed at more expensive hotels in NYC, but feel the Fitzpatrick gave us the best for a very affordable price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twina49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 470 in New York City
1,343 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 470 in New York City
255 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#43 of 470 in New York City
612 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 470 in New York City
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $162 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing