We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Anniversary Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #92 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
ridgefield ct
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful weekend celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary. From start to finish everything about the Fitzpatrick was A-1. We booked the Romance package and it was such fun to enjoy champagne and strawberries on arrival .Location across from Grand Central is convenient to everything and we walked to everywhere... .so it was taxi free! All the staff were welcoming and helpful. Room was immaculate as was the bathroom. We chuckled at the name of our room( Phil Coulter) we love him and really laughed at the autographed picture on the desk...nice touch:)
The room was on the inside so we didn't have street noise and was nice and dark which allowed us to sleep in until 8:30 ish...bed was super comfy!.It did overlook the patio and there was happy chatter until midnight.it didn't disturb us but it might bother some
Breakfast ( the full Irish) was included and it was nice to just go down to Wheeltapper and not have to go out before starting out for the day.although we didn't use it use of a sport club facility is included
Can't say enough about FGC. We will definitely return

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear FXD,

Congratulations on you 45th wedding anniversary.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be excellent. We are well situated, close to Grand Central station and the major sightseeing and shopping locations.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    586
    147
    59
    22
See reviews for
239
927
87
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I needed a relaxing weekend in the City and the Fitzpatrick Grand Central was our Hotel of choice. We received excellent service from start to finish from the entire staff. From the warm greetings from the front desk (Chris, Neisha, Fernando, & Thomas) to the attentiveness of our room from Housekeeping, this was a great start to kick off the fun filled weekend. I will definitely be returning to the Fitzpatrick Grand Central for my next getaway weekend.

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Franz F,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I appreciate you taking the time to mention the associates by name, they will be excited to read your fedback.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just have to say we had an brilliant time in NYC and having a great hotel definitely made the difference. The staff were really friendly, especially Micheal in the concierge,who was there when we arrived he looked after our bags and recommended places to eat/visit. The waiting staff were lovely and looked after us really well especially Rapi. The room was a good size and the bed super comfy. The only negative was trying to get the temperature of the shower to stay, it would either turn too hot or too cold. I'll definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eimear g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear KeithLacey,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great Hotel beside Grand Central Station - We arrived to a free upgrade because we were newly weds - room size was good and the free champagne great! Bed was super comfortable and most likely a king size too. Nice touch of an umbrella in the wardrobe along with the usual safe\iron board\hangers etc.. Staff were excellent and really friendly/helpful. The bar is were the breakfast is located and it's quite nice but the weekend we were there the staff response times was very very slow - took quite a while to be fed. Just a shortage of staff they should address at peak times especially Paddy's weekend! I liked that there are Irish staff on site too which makes us feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Keith Lacey,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and best wishes for the future.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fitzpatrick Grand Hotel for 4 nights for my boyfriends birthday weekend over Easter. We absolutely loved it. The staff couldn't do enough for you, they even sent up sparkling wine & chocolate covered fresh strawberries for his birthday night. No matter what your query or question they went above & beyond to help.
Our room was superb, the bed extremely comfy & fluffy. Black out blinds at the windows, adequate wardrobe space with a free safe, iron & board, hairdryer, coffee machine & tv. The bathroom had a fantastic shower & great products that they replaced daily. All very clean.
This hotel has a pub attached to the hotel that offered breakfast from 7am (which was very good!) & closed at 2am with great outdoor space with a large smoking section.
The location is fantastic with Grand Central Station across the road!
If we ever visit New York City again we wouldn't bother looking for another hotel we would definitely return here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Shelley T,

A belated happy birthday to your boyfriend.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your Easter break wih us and I do appreciate your kind comments about the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

You can't beat this location. Loved the welcoming hot coco upon arrival. Chris Brown was friendly & informative on an early check in. The room was clean and comfortable. We left our bags with the concierge for the day, easy. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripplanninmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Tripplanninmama,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to see you tried the hot chocolate, it certainly does revive you after a long trip.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights over Easter - it was our first trip to New York/USA.
We had a room on the 9th floor which was facing inwards so it was quiet overnight (no street noise), there was some noise from people in the outdoor area of the pub but this stopped around 11pm so not an issue for us. We did find that when people in neighbouring rooms returned at night they could be quite noisy with talking and shutting/slamming doors (not the hotels fault).
Pros:
Location - awesome location, short walking distance to a lot of the major attractions. Easy to get to/from the airport as very close to Grand Central Station and lots of eating places around.
Concierge - Fernando was fantastic and so helpful! Thanks Fernando! All the staff we encountered were friendly and willing to help
Rooms - clean, tidy and we got free bottled water and small chocolates. Nice toiletries which were replenished daily. Pod coffee machine and a safe in the room

Cons:
Bathroom - minor gripe with the pressure in the shower but we were on the 9th floor, floor tiles could do with replacement
If I am being really picky - no fridge in the room and no free wi-fi in the room (free wi-fi was in the lobby)

We got a nice treat for Easter - 2 creme eggs!
As someone else has said our room was dark but to be honest we were not in the hotel much during the day anyway so this was not an issue; we did find the room was a bit cold but we just turned the air conditioning unit on for about 10 minutes and the room heated up very quickly - easy to adjust temperature.
We did not eat at the Wheeltapper as we felt it was a bit pricey and you can find other places near by to eat and drink - the coffee place next door to the hotel does very good coffee.

Would recommend staying here as it really is such a great location - do ask the concierges about attractions and sights as they are so knowledgeable and give plenty of tips to make the most of your time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwitraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Kiwitraveller1983,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#59 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#156 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#153 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel
The Renwick Hotel
#83 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 E 44th St, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing