We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central for everything you need from NY.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #47 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights (03/04/14 to 06/04/14) and really enjoyed our stay there. The staff are friendly and efficient, the Hotel itself is excellent and we slept in one of the most comfortable beds ever. The Wheeltapper Pub and restaurant attached to the Hotel is very welcoming and the food is excellent. We will certainly return on our next trip to the Big apple.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 808 and the bed was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear DKburnett22,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

A five minute walk to Times Square can't be beat and I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

We booked this hotel for 5 nights in April , there was an initial mix up with the room type in the bookings, but was sorted the next day without any problems.
All the staff from the front door, desk, bar, managers were all very efficient at what they do, customer service is top of their agenda, and it's genuine...
The king junior suite we booked was great, although we didn't spend much time there, the bed was soooo comfortable, nice seating area, big bathroom, and 2tvs, it was nice to have a bit of extra space when we were staying that long, we did get to spend our first night in a normal king room, again a really comfortable bed, with a small bathroom, not a lot of room if you like your space, but that's really the norm for Newyork.
The hotel itself had a great bar, good food, and a wonderful outside patio area , probably one of the best I have seen , it's great if you are still a smoker.
It's in walking distance of everywhere, and next door to grand central station if you need to hop on a train.
We had been to Newyork several times before and we had done all the sights, this time we were celebrating a big birthday, so our main mission was to spend most of the time finding the best irish bars which we did... And this hotel added to our celebrations big time.
I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel, it is irish owned, and you do get that irish welcome feeling, if you are looking for something more contemporary this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: If you like a big bed, the king bed, and queen bed rooms are the same price, there are only a few ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missymajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear MissyMajor,

Thank you for returning to us and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am to see that you have discovered our outdoor patio, it is a great place to realx after a busy day exploring the city.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A real Irish welcome in the heart of NYC. Friendly chap by the name of O'Sullivan from Cork checked us (I'm also an O'Sullivan from Cork) and that set the tone. All of the staff were helpful & friendly. Only niggle was the expensive wifi. Should be included in the rate. Super location too.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Killian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Got this room for free with some credit card points for a stay two weeks before Christmas. The hotel was very nice. I typically stay a little further north in Midtown East, but for free this would do. Location of the hotel is great. Perfect for those arrival to NYC via rail service. From Penn Station you can take the 1,2, or 3 lines one stop north,then it's a free transfer to the 7 line which runs directly to Grand Central. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from Grand Central. It is close to any shop you can think of, and many of the NYC attractions.

The hotel lobby had a very warm feeling; decorated nicely for Christmas. The hotel definitely had an Irish feel. The room itself was nice. The room had a trouser press, which I had never seen before. Part of the Irish feel I guess. Bathroom and shower were nice. My fiance really appreciated the makeup mirror. Bed was adequate as well. Found the room and hotel to be very clean.

Service was great. Seamless check-in and out. The concierge was very helpful when we asked for a bar recommendation. Also helpful with holding our bags for 6 or so hours on our check-out day so we could go out and do some more things around the city.

I cannot comment on value because as I said, it was free. But I would definitely stay here again, free or not.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just returned from a three night break at this fantastic hotel. We arrived at 1.30pm to be met at reception by three receptionist.
We had a very warm welcome and advised our room was ready for us, GREAT!, our check in was quick and efficient.
They informed us that we had been upgraded to a suite GREAT!. The room was CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN.
Fresh white thick fluffy towels and gowns, a queen size bed that was soooooo comfortable with pillows to die for.
Large flat screen T.V, safe, and tea making facilities. Mr & Mrs Riggall
Iron & Ironing board, hairdryer, umbrella.
Food was excellent, we tried the burgers, shepards pie, and my husband had the curry all of which was reasonably priced.
The Hotel is very well presented, and the staff are more than friendly with great advise on how to get about and where to go.
I can not express enough how clean this hotel is, and i even looked in a standard room which was as nice as our suite just slightly smaller, and without a sitting room.
The location of the hotel is about 5min walk to the Empire State building, 10 min walk to Macy,s, 10 min to Times Square. The same to the city library.
Grand Central station is 2min away and has the most quaint market place that runs through selling all fresh produce lovely for bread, cakes, fruit ect.
All in all we had a fab time in New York, and i think it is very important to get the hotel right, as after a long day of walking around, you are shattered, so to come back to a lovely room and comfy bed is very important, you will not be disappointed with the Fitzpatrick and can book with confidence, we will return, !

Room Tip: ask for a high floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Natalie R,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that the service, amenities and cleanliness of the hotel exceeded your expecations and that you found the hotel to be centrally located.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights recently and the location is brilliant as Times Square, Empire State building and the Rockerfeller center are all within walking distance and Grand Central station is 2 minutes away. Our room was clean but in desperate need of renovation as the shower was coming away from the wall, as were some of the plug sockets. My other half found it near impossible to find a working plug socket for the hairdryer provided, as the lead was so short , it could not be plugged in by the desk mirror, but underneath the TV. Other than that the staff and housekeeping were really good and I think we would have been moved if we had complained but we really only used the room as a base so chose not to. We would have rated the hotel good overall if given the option.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Killionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to see that there were some deficiencies in the room but rest assured they will be corrected. I hope they were not too much of an inconvenience. We would gladly have offered you a room move so that you could enjoy your stay without issue.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

just home having spent three nights at this hotel. We arrived very early on Sunday morning to a very busy hotel lobby with guests checking out. My husband asked if our room was ready but we were advised that due to full occupancy the previous evening that the room would not be ready. However, Christopher, I think the guys name was...was exceptional. He absolutely pulled out all the stops to ensure we were awarded a lovely spacious room checking us in to it a few hours earlier. We were so grateful as we were completely exhausted. There is nothing about this hotel that I would or could complain about. After a days sightseeing in the frenetic city that never sleeps it felt like we were coming home each day.This was mostly due to the staff. So pleasant and friendly! Thanks again to Christopher. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 140jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear 140jules,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and of the service you received. I am glad to see that Christopher was able to assist you in arranging an early arrival.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#44 of 469 in New York City
1,333 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#45 of 469 in New York City
246 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 469 in New York City
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
713 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 469 in New York City
595 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#123 of 469 in New York City
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $166 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing