We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Irish Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Another delightful stay at the Fitzpatrick. Love the location - close to Grand Central and only a 20 minute walk to Times Square. Rooms are comfortable and clean (which isn't always the case in New York hotels). The food and choice of beers in the Wheeltappers is excellent (especially the Shepherds Pie and Smithwicks beer). Thanks guys!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    631
    154
    61
    24
See reviews for
283
1,027
92
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at Fitzpatrick Grand Central. It's location is great, many sights within walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful. We chose a room facing the street and while there was some noise in the mornings it didnt bother us and it was nice to have some kind of view. The room was a good size compared to previous stays in New York hotels with a very comfortable bed. The only downside I would say is the lack of free wifi in the bedrooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arch_ie161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Arch_ie161,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received. Although there is a charge for WIFI in the guest rooms we do offer complimentary WIFI access in the hotel lobby.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at the Fitzpatrick last night … everything was perfect! The Reception staff was very welcoming; the room was spacious and very clean; beds were extremely comfortable; bathroom was large and we loved the walk-in shower! Decor was chic yet very comfortable. I definitely would recommend this hotel - it's location is great for midtown - and I hope to stay there again soon!

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor street-facing room and could hear traffic as well as see light from street lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear LoriLough,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Booked this room from Booking.com, great price , great location. The staff which were mostly Irish ( no problem, my Father was from Ireland) were friendly, accomodating which made our stay extra special. Felt like we were staying in a family hotel not some chain hotel. The room was clean well appointed, bathroom quire spacious for a NYC hotel.
Will def stay here again, good job!

Room Tip: Keep checking the price it can fluctuate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank battaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear battaj1,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to see that you felt you were staying in a family owned hotel, we want all our guests to feel at home when they are with us.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights on the final leg of our honeymoon. One of our friend had emailed to say we were honeymooners and they bumped us up to a suite and also had a bottle of champagne and chocolate coated strawberries left in our room when we checked in which was a lovely touch.
This is a great hotel and is very clean. The staff are excellent and are very polite also.
We will return to his hotel on our next visit to New York.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear BHE1,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon.


I am very happy to read that we were able to exceed you expectations and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, congratulations and thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central recently and would recommend it to anyone without hesitation. It first came to my attention when I was looking for hotels in Manhattan. I left hotel reservations to the last minute for a weekend getaway but was able to secure a room at the Fitzpatrick.

For starters, the location cannot be beat. It is literally right across the street from Grand Central Terminal as you exit onto Lexington Avenue.

The hotel has a very European feel, from the unassuming entrance to the friendly but professional staff. Elevators and hallways are not as spacious as in American chain hotels, but that didn't bother me during my stay. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and it was quiet enough to get a good night's sleep.

All in all, I cannot wait to return and would tell any good friend to come here if they need a fantastic hotel in a great central location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sue B,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I traveled to New York on the 18 January this year for a 4 day trip for my boyfriend and myself. As it was a surprise I had to do all the booking myself..I've been to New York before but wanted a different hotel.Well what a choice! I ended up looking on trip adviser and found very useful comments about hotels In the City.The fitzpatric On Lexington Ave was first class and so friendly from the moment we went in.We got upgraded to a beautiful suite and to top it off we got back after a day sight seeing to find champagne and strawberries in our room. The staff and hotel couldn't do enough for us.Will be going back to this hotel again for definite. Don't listen to the bad comments I've stayed in the Wardolf and also the Burg Al A Rab which is a 6 star hotel in Dubi and these people need to stop complaining about such little problems! Enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can they are big and we had 3 TV .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Deborah H,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I hope your boyfriend enjoyd his surprise.!

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing