We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Personal and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for five nights during a fabulous NYC trip, booked the hotel through BA and it was good to note that many BA staff stay here on their layover.

We always prefer a small hotel over the large and I believe impersonal chains, The Fitzpatrick Grand Central breaks the mould for NYC and they should be congratulated.

The service was friendly and Gregg helped enormously with some directions and shopping tips. However we didn't receive much that others have mentioned, no champagne and strawberries, no chocolates on the pillows... Not sure if we had upset someone.

The attached pub, The Wheeltapper is very popular and busy, ate there once on arrival, it was OK, beers are $8 and wine $10, quite cheap for NYC.

Location, location, location, absolutely perfect, all the major iconic NYC sights are easily walkable, really close to Grand Central Station which made it a breeze to travel from and to JFK for $7.50 each.

Highly recommended as a base for any trip into this amazing city.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fishstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear fishsorm,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    631
    154
    61
    24
See reviews for
282
1,027
92
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week from the 14th to the 23rd and I couldn't praise it more.
The concierge deserves a special mention , Gregg helped plan our perfect stay in New York !
The hotel was really nice , and our hotel room was nice , clean and comfortable.

The hotel was so central to everything , Central Park , Times Square and 5th Ave.
Will definitely be back :))

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Unaoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Unaoconnor,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that Gregg was able to help you plan your stay in the city. I agree our location can't be beaten as a base for exploring the city.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at Fitzpatrick grand Central for a week from 14th February on our honeymoon, and we were impressed by everything about this hotel.

As others have mentioned, there were champagne & strawberries waiting in our room for us on arrival, which was a very nice surprise.

We stayed in room 709, which was very spacious. The room was cleaned every day, and the attention to detail was excellent. There was some noise from traffic during the night, but not enough to be a problem. You have to remember where you are after all.

The hotel is within walking distance of plenty of places that you'll want to see - Times Square, Grand Central (2 minutes away), Central Park, Empire State Building... it's also just round the corner from the fantastic Chrysler Building.

The staff on reception were outstanding - very helpful and friendly at all times. Special mention to Greg, Carlos & Lucia who went far beyond the call of duty to help us out one night when we had a problem with our debit card, giving us access to the telephone and internet at reception. Nothing was too much trouble. Carlos even intervened when we had a problem at a local restaurant (which we won't name here). You definitely don't get this level of service anywhere else.

Wi-Fi is available in the hotel lobby for free, which we found very useful. It also stretches as far as The Wheeltapper pub, and the coffee shop next door if you are lucky.

We would highly recommend Fitzpatrick Grand Central to anyone looking for a break in New York, and we hope to return at some point.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReverendBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear ReverendBlack,

Congratulaions on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon wih us.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will share your comments wih Gregg, Carlos and Lucia.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The positive is the hotel is in a good location, clean,front of house staff very helpfull. The rooms are a little dated.noise levels we expected. Bar food nice but on the pricey side. I would go to Perfect Pint/Comfort Dinner around the corner for food. When we paid for our food in the Wheeltapper pub which we had lunch we gave the exact cash as tip is already included in price.My husband found it disappointing that staff could be heard laughing at our loose change we put in for bill. This hurt.........15 dollars per 24hrs for wi-fi. Reception area needs a bit of music. can be noisy from bar with the manhattan work crowd just at weekdays.Compared to other 4 star hotels it appears to be more a 3 star. When I stayed in Fitzpatrick when it was in Chicago it was pure bliss.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just returned from another superb trip to this wonderful city. The hotel is in a fantastic spot and is within easy reach if all New York has to offer.

We attended at exactly the same time last year and stayed in room 802, this year we were in 902. Thomas on reception, who we must say was not only polite but also most helpful, joked that we working our way towards the penthouse for next
year!!

Whilst mentioning Thomas it was also nice that he took time each day to ask you about your day and your plans, and also remembered what you had told him so would take the trouble to ask you how your day had panned out the following day.

The rooms are clean, and comfortable, not massive, but plenty big enough.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit New York, and will be sure to return ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanLeisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear DanLeisha,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am truly happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay and the hotel was lovely. The room was a great size with 2 beds for myself and my friend. Loved the pillows! The staff were very friendly and the location is amazing. Right opposite Grand Central Station and a short walk to Times Square etc. The only negative is no free wi-fi in rooms but you can access it in the lobby downstairs. A big thank you to the concierge who was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Elizabeth K,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to see that you found our location to be central and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January 2014, the location is perfect 10mins from Times Sq, Rockefeller Centre etc. We stayed in the Roma Downey Suite which, although it has view of a wall, was lovely, comfortable and spacious. I can only say positive things about this hotel and front of house staff however we did go to the 'restaurant' one evening, this was our only regret. Our waitress, a middle aged blonde woman was.. not friendly, attentive or professional. We decided to share a steak sandwich but when it arrived I was disgusted - Thick cold white bread with a small piece of steak inside, they didn't bother to toast/warm the bread nor slice the steak, I wanted to give it back and berate the service but my wife talked me out of it. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it, but I wouldn't eat here, and if I was the owner I would not have this lady serving, first impressions last!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonWhiteIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear JasonWhiteIreland,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to see that you found the front of house staff to be friendly but do apologise for the issue you encountered in the restaurant. I have shared your feedback with the staff to ensure it does not happen again.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing