We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #48 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in Fitzpatricks Grand Central on the last leg of our honeymoon and of the three hotels in the US that we stayed in this was the most disappointing for many reasons. In the other hotels the fact we were on honeymoon was acknowledged and the staff made efforts to make our stay extra special. Unfortunately not only was our honeymoon not acknowledged, the hospitality at check in left a lot to be desired. We found the front office lady who checked us in, and who also happened to check us out (whose name I will withhold), to be very blunt and unfriendly. We weren't welcomed to the hotel and bar being informed of our room number and "the lifts are over there", no further information about the hotel or surrounding areas was offered. I would go as far as to say that our first point of contact in Fitzpatricks was the least hospitable encounter during our three week stay in the US.

We were given room 605 and while we understand rooms in New York are smaller then your typical hotel room, we found the room to be extremely small and not practical or comfortable for a five night stay. There was very little closet space so we were forced to live out of our suitcases, which there was little space for. The air conditioning units were old and quite loud. Furthermore we noticed the linen had a number of holes and stains on it on one of the days and whilst we were confident it was clean, this is not the standard we would expect for the price we were paying.

This was also the first hotel we stayed in our honeymoon where there was no free WiFi and we found this to be a bit miserly.

Whilst our experience with one of the front office staff was disappointing we would have to commend some of the other staff particularly all of the concierge and some of the bar staff.

On the plus side the location is perfect and in walking distance of a number of NY's top attractions. There were also a number of bars and restaurants in close proximity to the hotel.

Overall Fitzpatricks did not live up to its promise of "personalised service, luxurious accommodation and Irish welcome" and it was a disappointing end to our honeymoon given the high standards in the other hotels we stayed in in the US

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear JohnMah,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am dissappointed to hear that we did not recognise, or inquire if you were with us to celebrate a special occassion. I have addressed the issue with our front office team to ensure it is not repeated. I do appreciate you taking the time to compliment the concierge and bar staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I ask that you contact me directly at Pleyden@fitzpatrickhotels.com if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,365 - 1,371 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Location was perfect. Right next to Grand Central Station - very easy to get around, no wi-fi in rooms and it was very expensive to get Internet. Would stay there again but having no Internet was inconvenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Jessica S,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central for 5 nights at the beginning of June and the whole trip was a complete surprise and I had booked everything including the trips and the hotel on my own and kept it a secret, part of me felt anxious as I wanted everything to be perfect and was worrying in case I had booked the wrong hotel or location...well I can certainly say I didn't do that, we arrived at the Fitzpatrick on Saturday 8th June 2013 and were greeted by very friendly helpful staff and instantly felt the New York buzz. Checking in was hassle free and a cold drink awaited us when we arrived. We had a really nice room, they were clean, the bed was very comfortable and a nice size. The room had everything you possibly needed including iron, ironing board, kettle, television, toiletries, slippers, dressing gown, a safe, good lighting, everyday it was cleaned and the bed was made immaculately with fresh bedding and clean towels, bottled waters and chocolates were put in the room everyday and they also offered a turn down service every evening if you wished. What the hotel did which was extra special was because we were celebrating something special during our stay after returning back to the hotel on the first night there was a bottle of bubbly and strawberries coated in chocolate with a little note to wish my partner a very happy birthday and a wonderful stay. Basically the rooms we so clean and everything you could possibly want. Location was perfect we were in an ideal part of New York, just round the corner from Grand Central Station in Midtown, basically so close to Rockefeller, 5th Avenue and 10 minute walk from Times Square and its just the best area of New York to stay in as its a really nice street. There is a really nice pub connected to the Fitzpatrick called The Wheeltapper and its has a lovely seating area out the back where you can relax and have a drink and its really popular with the locals and does get busy as there were a few times we tried to get a seat outside and we couldn't. The staff and the concierges are extremely helpful with everything and they even helped us book our helicopter trip which was a great help and was so easy. Forgot to add we were also given a map and directions which was really helpful with it being our first time in New York. Also try the Pershing Square café and diner for breakfast they do the best pancakes!! I don't want to go on too much however we really did enjoy our stay at this hotel which made the trip even more memorable, if we came back to New York we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and we had a room at the front of the hotel, it was a good size and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Miss_marmite2012,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

Congratulations on your recent wedding I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received and I see you were able to relax on our our outdoor patio, a perfect way to unwind after a busy day.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here in June for 5 nights as we were getting married in Central Park during our stay. The hotel is beautiful and in a fantastic location, literally a minutes walk from Grand Central Station. What can I say about the staff, well I don't think you would find kinder, more welcoming staff anywhere else in the world. They were wonderful to us from start to finish, they upgraded our room to a junior suite as we were getting married and sent us bottles of champagne and chocolate coated strawberries to our room. Nothing was ever a hassle to them. Special thanks to Kelly and Patrick but to be honest, couldn't fault any of the staff in any way. Anywhere we needed to get to the desk staff or concierge sorted it for us & also sorted out some great days and nights out including a helicopter flight and a trip to Broadway to see The Jersey Boys. The room was gorgeous, spacious and immaculate & extremely quiet. The whole hotel was beautifully clean and the Wheeltapper pub attached to the hotel was very reasonably priced and the food quality was excellent. I honestly cannot find one bad thing to say regarding this hotel, we had the best and most magical wedding and honeymoon there and majority of that was thanks to the hospitality we received. If we ever return to New York I wouldn't even look at staying anywhere else, the Fitzpatrick Grand Central is the only place for me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadameTussaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Madame Tussaud,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read we were abel to make your wedding in New York a memorable occasion and we were able to make it a stress free few days.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful, booking tickets for us for the world trade centre memorial, a very good steak restuarant (Benjamin's) and checking us in online for our flight home. Our room (rm 813) was very comfortable and not at all as small as I had feared after reading some of the reviews here. It was clean and tidy and as quiet as you can get for the middle of NYC. A would definatley stay there again when we go back to New York. The only negative was the bar. It didn't have any atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Trudycb,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Unusually friendly and welcoming service for Manhattan. The Fitzpatrick is very clean and well appointed, not at all "tired". The staff went out of its way to 'connect' with its guests and make them feel welcome and cared for. (I heard the concierge explaining to some foreign guests the advantages/disadvantages of different site seeing packages they were contemplating purchasing.)
The room had a double bed, a desk with chair and (greatfully) air conditioning that worked very well. Fairly spacious for Manhattan standards, especially for one person. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. High end shampoo/soap etc with baronially embossed towels with the Fitzpatrick logo. There were linen floor mats on either side of the bed so your feet wouldn't touch the rug.
The only negative was that I found a fingernail clipping on the bed (!) And it was very hard to unscrew the body lotion bottle. It had a metal cap that someone with arthritis would be unable to open.
These are minor negatives. On the whole, if you are looking for a comfortable, boutique environment, centrally located in midtown at Grand Central on 44th Street, the Fitzpatrick is a good choice.
There is a free pass available to the gym a few blocks away.
I can't really comment on the value as I booked the hotel less than a week in advance so ended up with a great rate.

Room Tip: It was fairly quiet overall, especially for Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatTrip356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear GreatTrip536,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We've stayed here three or four times and always felt this hotel had a couple of things going for it. First, an ideal location and, second, a particularly Irish sense of welcome. This last visit we arrived at midnight and the desk person spent a lot more time discussing the $250 charge if you smoke in the room than he did offering to help with bags, etc.

We had the Gabriel Byrne suite which opens on the Gabriel Byrne air shaft but a view is not what you come to a small New York hotel for.

Unfortunately, more than a few people come to this hotel to get loudly drunk. In the past we've heard it from below and this time just outside our room where some newfound relationship was deteriorating with a loud argument, door slamming, cursing....but you can hardly blame the hotel for that.

It's clean, convenient and comfortable.

We still like this hotel but we're not as committed to it as we have been in the past.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear bruce b,

Thank you for being a repeat customer of the for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I do aplogize that your arrival to the hotel was less than welcoming, I will be following up the team to ensure this is corrected.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 469 in New York City
1,310 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
371 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 469 in New York City
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#150 of 469 in New York City
523 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#33 of 469 in New York City
218 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $173 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing