We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited on 12th to 16th June. On arrival we were allocated a room on the 2nd Floor front which we found really noisy and there was no fridge. We requested to be moved to a higher floor with a fridge (to keep our drinking water cool as it was so hot) and were advised no rooms available that day, but we could move the following day which we agreed to do. On our first evening, we visited the Wheeltappers pub which is attached to the hotel. The bar was busy and the decor is very nice, but the prices for both food and alcohol were very expensive...just outside the hotel are more reasonable, but just as nice, places to eat and drink. The next day we moved to floor 9 which was so much quieter, but unfortunately we still didn't get the fridge! The rooms are very clean and the bed was soooo comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the hotel charges to use wifi so we used the Starbucks at the bottom of the street, no more than two minutes away, and that's free. The location of this hotel couldn't have been better, very central and extremely close to Grand Central Terminal, which itself is a sight to behold and also to our surprise had a food court, very reasonably priced and we took advantage of the 'beer cart' which charged $2.55 for a pint bottle of very cold lager!!! Tip - do buy a $30 7 day metro card pass, which allows hop on/off access to all MTA busses and the subway - which is the quickest way to travel in NY. We felt extremely safe everywhere we visited at all times...the city is saturated with police (very friendly and helpful). We bought a City Pass which gives access to numerous tourist attractions at a fraction of the cost of paying at the door and avoids having to wait in the standard queue. The Fitzpatrick hotel is within easy walking distance to 5th Avenue, Empire State building, Chrysler building (just outside the front door!) and so much more. We would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone visiting NY and if we do return, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Higher floors at the back of the hotel will be quieter. Try to get a room with a fridge to keep your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThreeKings-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear hreeKings-13

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the future.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    641
    155
    61
    24
See reviews for
291
1,045
93
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 7 a.m. in the morning but was quickly allocated a room, which I was very grateful for, after a 12 hour flight. The room was very large, with 2 double beds and a huge bathroom with walk in shower. Breakfast was served in the adjoining Irish pub (don't bother eating there in the evening) and was a decent continental breakfast. It's a 2 minute walk from grand central so very convenient for commuting around manhattan

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew-jerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear andrew-jerusalem,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here on a family holiday and were not disappointed. The concierge and reception staff were extremely helpful, there was a lovely atmosphere about the hotel and the rooms were well designed to suit our needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear E B,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that your family enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel may 2013, from start to finish, all the staff were really friendly and helpful and couldnt do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Bed was so comfortable my husband usually suffers with his back when we are away on holidays so this was a big plus for us. Very clean and comfy hotel. Great location we walked everywhere, highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Caroline T,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Convenient location... you can just walk across the street and be at Grand Central to take the subway to any NYC destination or even to trains headed north. Can't understand why wifi is not free... you have to buy it from AT&T for $13.95 for 24 hours. This is really annoying. Good restaurant for breakfast at the Wheel House restaurant pub attached to the Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for turn down service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pajpaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear pajpai,

Thank you for being a repeat geust of the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received. Regarding the WIFI, we are currently looking at other options that will provide the current security and bandwidth but at a better value.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Quite possibly the best service I have ever experience at any hotel I've stayed at. upgraded complimentary to the Garden Suite on the penthouse floor our own garden in the middle of the built up area surrounded by sky risers with a bottle of champagne and some chocolate strawberries waiting for us. The room was left spotless every day, Faultless staff who were very welcoming and even went out their way to book reservations and give advice on where to eat and shop etc.........Location is perfect 2 mins from Grande central station which will get you everywhere you need....... Thank you Fitzpatrick for your outstanding service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saint125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear saint125,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you choosing that Fitzpatrick Grand Central to celebrate what is a very special time, with us.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received. The Garden rooms are quite special and offer a unique stay in the city.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for in July 2012. The check in staff were amazing; very welcoming and courteous. The decor of the hotel was impressive. The hotel waiting area was classic, kind of majestic and well furnished with comfortable seats. My room was big - by NYC standards - with a comfortable bed and it was squeaky clean. A gown was provided, which one could buy for $25. The central location was also a plus; it was easy to get around. A real grand hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moronge O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Moronge O,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing