We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab staff make Fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
1 review
“Fab staff make Fab hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in hotel for 5 nights Patricks weekend 2013. When we arrived we got a warm friendly reception and a tourist map of New York. On the third night of my visit I sprained my ankle. From the bar/ restuarant and in paticular reception they couldn't have been more helpful. The girls on reception rang a medical centre for me and got a price for treatment. The porters helped me with luggage and taxi's. I stayed in room 313 which was surprisingly large for a New York hotel. It was very clean and extremely comfortable. The location is great for getting around 2minute walk from Grand Central Terminal and 10minute walk from Times Square. I'm not one for writing reviews but the staff were so nice and helpful they deserve to be commended. Thank you for making my stay. If I return to the big apple I will definitely be staying at Fitzpatrick's.

Room Tip: Room 313 double room at front of hotel. Spacious with comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracesull13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Gracesull13,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I do hope you have recovered from you sprained ankle and did it did not take away from your trip to the city.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    641
    155
    61
    24
See reviews for
291
1,045
93
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have just returned to the UK from staying at the Fitzpatrick in New York. It really was a fabulous hotel and although quite small compared to other hotels in New York, the taxi driver knew exactly where it was without us giving the address. We were very late arriving (past midnight) and I was concerned that our room may not have been kept for us so I gave them a call from the airport. A very pleasant receptionist assured us our room was still reserved and he was looking forward to meeting us. Our room was clean and modern and the bed was so comfortable. Lovely bathroom facilities too. We had breakfast in the hotel one morning and found that was very good too. I like the location of this hotel, just around the corner from Grand Central Station so it was extremely easy to get about every day. I really recommend this hotel for its location, price, friendly staff and comfy bed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaWestBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Reviewtruth40,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Co Clare
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked 5 nights here for my 40th Birthday and first trip to NYC and couldn't have picked anywhere better!

Walked in the door to a friendly smile and warm welcome - greeted with a "happy birthday!" and smooth check in.

Room was warm and welcoming not at all small like I'd been told to expect in NYC with a nice boutique feel. The bathroom was large, with a bath and great shower. Expected to struggle with sleep because NYC street noise - but slept really every night as the beds were super comfy and glazing pretty good.

The public areas of the hotel were relaxing and comfortable with lots of personality - lots of squashy chairs, books and snugs.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful and obliging and even sent up champagne and chocolate strawberries for my birthday with a card which was lovely! and fridg'ed a cake we'd bought - the desk clerk making sure all staff knew where it was by sending round an email!

We ate in the adjoining bar (The Wheeltapper) for a lunch and breakfast - both were really nice with massive portions! The bar staff were friendly and efficient.

Location was perfect with Grand Central station on the door step, TImes Square and Empire State just 15 minutes stroll away and Central Park only 20 minutes walk - it was ideal for all sightseeing and transport links.

You have access to the NYC fitness club around the corner with your stay - but we didn't have time between sightseeing, shopping etc to make use of it - but definitely next time!

We had a higher room at the front of the hotel which we requested as we had been told it can be a little noisy in the evenings if your room is over the lovely patio area they have.

The only downside was we understood wifi was free in public areas of the hotel - but it isn't and you have to pay - but we found a great Irish bar (The Perfect Pint on 45th/3rd) with free wifi for customers so that probably meant the Fitzpatrick lost out on some bar/meal business as we used the pub instead so we could look up things and check bookings etc.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor on the front - they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear ClareA73,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

A belated Happy 40th Birthday and I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I see you were able to relax in the library area, and the fireplace is great place to spend a chilly evening.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
257 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our 4th visit to NYC. This hotel was by far the best hotel we've stayed in so far. If (more like when we return) we WILL return to the Fitzpatrick. Here's our thoughts;

LOCATION - 2 minutes away from Grand Central Station, close to nice bars, walking distance to midtown attractions. EXCELLENT!

RECEPTION/STAFF - Very nicely decorated throughout, VERY friendly and accomodating staff who were informative, helpful and cheery. Always a welcome on our return after our long walks around NYC. We asked for a room with any kind of view and were offered room 309 and were able to check in early! No problems.

ROOM 309 - Excellent recommendation by the staff as it was well furnished, had a table and chairs, dual aspect windows and was way bigger than any room we've had in NYC. If we asked for the room not to be tidied, the service staff left us a message offering their cleaning services!! Excellent. The lift was always available, public areas are very clean, well decorated.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE - Absolutely incredible, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Benny25,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just back from a brilliant 4 night stay at The Fitzpatrick. The staff were exceptional and very friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to get an upgrade to a suite for our 10th wedding anniversary with champagne and strawberries on our arrival.The room was spotless and the bed really comfortable. Linen and towels were good quality. On our first morning we had a mini crisis to deal with back home in France and the staff were just fantastic and couldn't do enough to help out, thanks again Kelly! Great breakfast and a good atmosphere in the Irish pub downstairs. Thanks to everyone and we'll definitely come back with the whole family in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkav73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear gkav73,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

Congratulations on celebrating you 10th Wedding Anniversary and I am very happy to read that Kelly was able to assist you in resolving your mini crisis.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Wow - What a surprise! I stayed at the Fitzpatrick on St. Patrick Day weekend, a time when all Manhattan Hotels are super overpriced. The Fitzpatrick was not one of them. We booked the Shopping Special and got a rate of $199 for the night which included two continental breakfasts and a packet of shopping discounts.

The staff was super friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze. The rooms were a nice size, very clean and comfortable. It is an older building but I think they did a great job! It was a rainy weekend and in the closet.... they provide umbrellas and a bathrobe, all the amineties you would expect from a higher priced hotel. It's right next to Grand Central and near many subways and restaurants.

I would absolutley come back and tell anyone visiting Manhattan!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyncyn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear cyncyn28,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Considering the stay was over St. Patrick's Day, the price was quite reasonable and the comfort and location were perfect. The room is small, but when in NYC, there is not much need to stay in the room, for other than sleep!!!! Good place to stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huggo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Huggo69,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing