We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
bolton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in a great location”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

First day back in the UK after 5 nights at the Fitzpatrick and I am missing NY already. The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the city just 2 mins walk to Grand Central station and walking distance to the Rockerfellar Centre and Times Square. Grand Central has numerous lines so it's really easy to get a subway to anywhere in the city. I was worried that there would be a lot of train noise being so close to Grand central but I couldn't hear anything aside from a little traffic around rush hour. There are plenty of shops around the hotel so when you think you've finished for the day you can head back out and do that little bit more!

The hotel itself is small but lovely. The rooms are a good size and nicely decorated. The bathroom has a good shower and shallow bath and a full length mirror. Staff are super friendly and happy to help with whatever you need. A massive thanks to the concierge guys who are so knowledgeable about the city and give you some really good hints about how to get around and what to see. Make sure you ask them for a Macy's discount card as it saves you queuing at the visitors centre for one. They also have VIP passes for Empire State which get you a free souvenir and a queue jump. Don't be afraid to ask them for help as they really know their stuff.

The wheeltapper Irish bar that is connected to the hotel is great for a drink after a long day walking around the city and the outside smoking area is a great chill out zone. I don't smoke but the area is so warm and cosy and without a smoky smell that its a great place to relax and it kept my smoker OH happy. If you are stopping in the hotel make sure you check it out because you won't believe how hot and pretty it is which is an odd thing to say about a smoking area!

I'd definitely stop again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear shell76,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to read that the concierge staff were able to assist you by offering some excellent recommedations and that you found our outdoot patio a great place to chill out after a busy day exploring the city.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    678
    160
    64
    24
See reviews for
330
1,107
98
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at Fitzpatrick, Grand Central. We were with friends and we all couldn't fault the hotel. We were greeted by Garfield the Concierge who was so lovely and helpful. The reception team were welcoming and got us all checked in in no time. Our rooms were adequate and very clean, as was the bathroom. Some reviews say the rooms are small but they are plenty big enough, NY is not a place to go to spend hours in your hotel room!! The location is great, just across from Grand Central and also walking distance from Times Square etc. We didn't eat breakfast at the Wheeltaper (next door), but we were recommended a traditional diner called Comfort Diner, less than 5 min walk from hotel. Breakfasts were sooo good along with welcoming staff. All in all we all had a great time in NY and when we do return will be staying again at Fitzpatrick GC & I will be recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear SJSamps,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I will sharing your comments with Garfield and reception team and I am suer they will be thrilled with the feedback.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice and I wouldn't stay anywhere else! This is a wonderful hotel, everything about it is fantastic! The staff are so helpful and friendly. The rooms are so comfy. The bar is great with lovely food. There is a gorgeous coffee place just next door where you can get great coffee and pastrys. One words or this hotel.....AMAZING!!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lsherry25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear lsherry25,

Thank you for being a repeat custmer at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from New York and stayed here,great location,very friendly staff,,lovely and clean room was amazing. Just round the corner from Grand Central, Ideal location for all the attractions.The Wheeltappers pub courtyard was a great spot for a drink at night and very warm.We went on hop on hop off bus,which was value for money. Top tip buy VIP pass to top of the rock save queuing. We had a fairy tale ride on a horse and carriage round Central Park which was amazing. Staying in New York this is the place to stay.Excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Lynn S,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel twice and both times it has been fabulous!

Brilliant friendly and very helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble.

Fantastic location within walking distance to a lot of the main attractions and shopping districts.

Food gorgeous and room service brilliant.

Rooms a generous size and beds very comfy. Slept very well.

Will definitely stay here again when I return to New York.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NessaBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Nessa Burke,

Thank you for your continued patronage and at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you third stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberton PA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a great small hotel. It is located across from Grand Central Station just off Lexington Ave. It has subway access on the east side and a shuttle to Times Square for west side access. The pub has nice breakfasts and is good for a quick bite at night. The courtyard bar is a fun spot outside weather permitting. The staff is friendly and the hotel is always clean. I have allergies and they have always been very accommodating. I have stayed in this hotel many many times. It is my go to for a great location and excellent value in NYC. They also have specials particularly on weekends so call for the lowest price.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a higher floor or the back of the hotel. The street traffic can be noisy during the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Kimberton,

Thank you for your continued patronage at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARE IRELAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was my boyfriends and I first time to New York, so we wanted something close to all the main attractions and of course good value. We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in Feb 2013. On arrival we were met by a lovely receptionist who greeted us how we hoped. We were then greeted by concierge who went over and above to help us with our quieres. Greg & Mike were great. They gave us a map of NY and told us everywhere we should visit over the 2 days and where to avoid. They also gave us discount cards and VIP access to the Empire State which was amazing. Our room was perfect. We were in room 619.( not a great view) but quiet which was great. The bed was amazing, it was like a memory foam bed. We didnt want to leave either morning it was that comfy!!! :) We had breakfast on both mornings which was lovely. If your looking for a cheap and good location hotel. This is the one for you!! :) Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHAUNAG2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear ShaunaG2551,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sharing your comments with Greg & Mike.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
1,270 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#23 of 467 in New York City
294 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#121 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 467 in New York City
501 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,168 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing