We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exactly what we expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“exactly what we expected...”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

just back from 4 night trip to NYC and chose this hotel as it is positiively iconic in terms of where the irish want to stay in new york. We were delighted with the location and completely overwhelmed to be upgraded to the phil coulter suite. This is not a flashy hotel but a warm, friendly, clean and excellently located spot. We were delighted with the coffee facilities in the room along with iron and ironing board. I struggled a bit with the temperature monitoring but my only issue. The lady Amie who cleaned was so lovely.

We really enjoyed breakfast in 2 local places pershing square cafe and the comfort diner. The concierge pointed us to Muldoons and we enjoyed a drink with the locals there. We had one meal on the buzzing friday night in the wheel tapper which appears to cater for after drinks crowd from the mid town area friday night. Other nights were much quieter. Bar could do with a little tlc but lovely staff.

would definitely recommend and return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodies25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear goodies25,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    678
    160
    64
    24
See reviews for
330
1,107
98
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Business trip for two nights. Spent alot of time in New York over the last 10 years due to business demands, but only came across this hotel just recently. Has all the charisma and charm an irish hotel should have. A warm atmosphere in the front lobby, small cosy rooms, but that have all the mod cons and facilities a modern hotel room should have. Umbrellas in rooms, nice touch. Friendly, informative staff. And superb location, just across the road from grand central station. Love the traditional pub thats attached to the hotel too, great for a pint after a hard days work! Will definately return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Andrew T,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay and you really couldnt find a better hotel than Fizpatricks Grand Central. Its a great location, really nice hotel with very helpful and friendly staff and great foold...This was my 5th trip to NY and this by far was the best hotel I ever stayed in. Would highly recommend it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDoyle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear L Doyle_13,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay with us and I am happy to hear that you have found a new home when you visit New York.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chadds ford pa
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here last weekend. Midtown location was quite good and happy to find a $12 for 12 hours parking one block over on 43rd Street -rate jumps, however, to $60 if one minute over. Bar and outdoor patio were hopping busy on a cold winter's night. Quite comfortable on outdoor patio with heaters. Next morning breakfast in same pub - was very good and the historic rail memorabilia quite interesting. Staff was welcoming on all levels and seemed to go out of their way/friendliness - check in/check out, maid service, pub wait staff. Rooms comfortable, quiet, clean, sizeable. Not a trendy hotel but excellent for service and hospitality, location, cleanliness, value. We will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear wreath,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I amd glad to read that you were able able to use the outdoor heated patio. Despite the cold weather those gas heaters make it very comfortable.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is nothing short of perfect. The location near Grand Central is awesome. Fitzpatrick is a beautifully maintained hotel with very nice, clean rooms and general seating areas. The attached Wheeltapper Bar & Restaurant is great for meals and drinks all day both inside and out in their courtyard. The staff in both the hotel and bar/restaurant were fantastic. We were greeted upon every encounter. Coffee shop is next door as well. Convenient to restaurants, bars and markets. Thank you Fitzpatrick for making our celebration unforgettable. It's not IF we will be back, it is WHEN!

Room Tip: If the street noises of NY bother you, there are inside rooms above the courtyard, but less air flow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pitapam56460647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear pitapam56460647,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just arrived back to the uk, must say the hotel is 1st class. Upgraded to a suite on arrival for my husbands 50th birthday. Bed so comfortable , rooms beautifully furnished and spotlreception staff go out there way to make your stay special. Hotel so close to grand central station so easy to get around. Hotel food excellent . A great place to stay couldn't,t fault anything! Thank you everyone at the fitzpatrick

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelepalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Adelepalin,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you and your husband enjoyed his 50th birthday with us.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night before my husband's business trip started. The front desk was helpful and check-in was really fast. Our first room was on the 2nd floor but we moved to the 9th floor after our heater broke twice. The manager was really helpful and tried to fix the heater but eventually moved us. Both rooms were very small and our second room's heater turned off in the middle of the night. The bathroom was very small as well. The hotel was very close to Grand Central and had a lot of food choices close by. It was a nice hotel but next time we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwm0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear cwm0812,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I apologise for the issue you encountered with the heater, we do have rooms of varying size available depending on your preferences.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
1,270 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#23 of 467 in New York City
294 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#121 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 467 in New York City
501 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,168 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing