We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Hotel..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #67 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Broadford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay and you really couldnt find a better hotel than Fizpatricks Grand Central. Its a great location, really nice hotel with very helpful and friendly staff and great foold...This was my 5th trip to NY and this by far was the best hotel I ever stayed in. Would highly recommend it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDoyle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear L Doyle_13,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay with us and I am happy to hear that you have found a new home when you visit New York.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    605
    150
    61
    22
See reviews for
265
965
88
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chadds ford pa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here last weekend. Midtown location was quite good and happy to find a $12 for 12 hours parking one block over on 43rd Street -rate jumps, however, to $60 if one minute over. Bar and outdoor patio were hopping busy on a cold winter's night. Quite comfortable on outdoor patio with heaters. Next morning breakfast in same pub - was very good and the historic rail memorabilia quite interesting. Staff was welcoming on all levels and seemed to go out of their way/friendliness - check in/check out, maid service, pub wait staff. Rooms comfortable, quiet, clean, sizeable. Not a trendy hotel but excellent for service and hospitality, location, cleanliness, value. We will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear wreath,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I amd glad to read that you were able able to use the outdoor heated patio. Despite the cold weather those gas heaters make it very comfortable.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is nothing short of perfect. The location near Grand Central is awesome. Fitzpatrick is a beautifully maintained hotel with very nice, clean rooms and general seating areas. The attached Wheeltapper Bar & Restaurant is great for meals and drinks all day both inside and out in their courtyard. The staff in both the hotel and bar/restaurant were fantastic. We were greeted upon every encounter. Coffee shop is next door as well. Convenient to restaurants, bars and markets. Thank you Fitzpatrick for making our celebration unforgettable. It's not IF we will be back, it is WHEN!

Room Tip: If the street noises of NY bother you, there are inside rooms above the courtyard, but less air flow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pitapam56460647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear pitapam56460647,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just arrived back to the uk, must say the hotel is 1st class. Upgraded to a suite on arrival for my husbands 50th birthday. Bed so comfortable , rooms beautifully furnished and spotlreception staff go out there way to make your stay special. Hotel so close to grand central station so easy to get around. Hotel food excellent . A great place to stay couldn't,t fault anything! Thank you everyone at the fitzpatrick

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelepalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Adelepalin,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you and your husband enjoyed his 50th birthday with us.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night before my husband's business trip started. The front desk was helpful and check-in was really fast. Our first room was on the 2nd floor but we moved to the 9th floor after our heater broke twice. The manager was really helpful and tried to fix the heater but eventually moved us. Both rooms were very small and our second room's heater turned off in the middle of the night. The bathroom was very small as well. The hotel was very close to Grand Central and had a lot of food choices close by. It was a nice hotel but next time we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwm0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear cwm0812,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I apologise for the issue you encountered with the heater, we do have rooms of varying size available depending on your preferences.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location, comfortable beds and pillows, rooms small but adequate! Pub was always quiet lacked atmosphere, staff were not over friendly. Reception staff especially Kelly are wonderful, welcoming, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Garfield and Mike (concierge ) both very helpful. Had a great 1st time visit to New York.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank l-taylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Donna C,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that your family enjoyed their stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We originally booked for the Millenium Broadway hotel in New York,but after reading reviews on trip advisor we asked the travel agent to find us another hotel as we had concerns on what had been written about the cleanliness. They found The Fitzpatrick Grand Central for us. We arrived early due to the flight getting in earlier than expected, but we were met with a very warm welcome and issued our keys for the 2 rooms immediately. As my son and daughter were with us and sharing a room,they upgraded the double room to a twin, free of charge. The hotel was spotless , the beds so comfy and the staff were so ameniable and polite.To have a coffee machine and bottled water in the room was a godsend. I just cannot fault this hotel, and would certainly recommend it. It is right next to the Grand Central Terminal which was great for touring, but also only a 10 min stroll to Times Square
Out of devilment we went and found the Millenium Broadway, and just looking through the window and seeing the stained carpets and tired furniture in the lounge reassured me that we had made the right decision

Room Tip: Our room didnt have a view at all as it faced onto another building. Im sure if we had asked they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnac11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear donnac11_13,

Thank you for staying at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel and the service you received.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope it won’t be too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#45 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#130 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#143 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#80 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#77 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 E 44th St, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing