We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Ranked #47 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is in a great location with comfortable rooms and good service. The meeting room was also very spacious and well appointed. My only concern was that the internet connection was pretty slow.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Ian C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see that you your enjoyed your stay and will be sharing your comments with the entire team.

Thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope you will continue to stay with us when traveling to the city.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,664 of 2,323 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

My mum and I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights at the beginning of August. We had a lovley stay. When we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful which carried on throughout the entire stay. We asked for help and advice on places which the staff were always happy to help, even printing off ground zero tickets for us. I asked for a fridge for my cupcakes which was given at no extra charge and also helped with ordering a pizza to the room!
All in all a great location 2 mins walk from grand central or within walking distance to most attractions
I had a lovley stay and would return when I save up for my next visit to the big apple
Thank you for your kind hospitality

Miss s Tickner

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ticknersteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Ticknersteph,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see that you and you mum enjoyed your stay and will be sharing your comments with the entire team.

I am happy to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful and the location suited your needs.

Thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope you will continue to stay with us when traveling to the city.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband booked this hotel for my 40th Birthday in NewYork, normally I usually book everything, so I was a little aprehensive about it....
I had nothing to worry about, from the time we got there to the time we left , it was the best hotel I had ever stayed in NewYork.
The receptionist knew it was my birthday and also our wedding anniversary, so they made it extra special for us by upgrading us to a suite with Champange ,it really makes the holiday when you get something special like that, they make sure that all their guests are well looked after.
We ate breakfast every morning and dinner on a few evenings, drank in the pub next door and generally had a brilliant time, the food was superb, I think we probably tried most things on the menu, each was as good as the other.
We were in walking distance of everywhere , Times square , Central park and right beside Grand Central.
All the staff from the Manager down were top class,I would highly recommend this hotel, and when I am booking my next trip to Newyork, this is exactly where I will be staying.

Room Tip: If you are celebrating something special, let them know when you are booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missymajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Missymajor,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see that you your enjoyed your stay and will be sharing your comments with the entire team.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your husbands choice of hotel and chose to celebrate you birthday with us.

Thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope you will continue to stay with us when traveling to the city.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a great hotel - small enough that everyone knows you by name and makes you feel like you are at home. Marilyn and Kelly are always welcoming and Mike at the Condierge's Desk is extremely helpful. Rooms are nice and hotel is conveniently located - I will never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors may get more traffic noise but are easy to access from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Gary R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see that you your enjoyed your stay and will be sharing your comments with the entire team.

Kelly, Marilyn and Mike will be particularly happy to read your comments.

Thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I look forward to meeting you on your next stay, now that we are your your favorite hotel.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was the last stop on our whistle-stop honeymoon tour of USA. Basically this hotel was superb and exactly what you need for a short trip to New York. We didnt arrive until 2300 but the member of staff (Patrick Lennin) who checked us in was superb and really helpful. He recommended the sandwiches which we needed after a flight where United Airlines ran out of food!! They were massive. We also had sparkling wine and chocolate coated strawberries waiting in our room for us as it was our honeymoon, a very nice and thoughtful surprise and it made our stay at the Fitzpatrick even more enjoyable. I spoke to Patrick quite a lot and he was helpful, friendly and polite. I would go as far as saying he provided the best service i received during the whole two week period in the USA and i would like to thank him for all his help during our short stay in New York. As for the hotel, it was clean, tidy and had a home feel to it. The room was just the right size for a few nights in New York as realistically you are not really going to spend to long in your hotel room when visiting such a great city. The best thing about the Fitzpatrick, apart from great staff, the location. It is a 2 minute walk from Grand Central Station and is essentially right in the central of all attractions. You can walk to the Empire State (20 minutes), Central Park (20 minutes), Times Square (15 minutes), and we did and it is the best way to see New York. The attaching bar and restaurant with outside courtyard was really nice (the decor was based on Irish Railways) and served good continental breakfast. All in all a great hotel to stay at for sightseeing in New York. I couldnt recommending it more highly. Finally i would just like to thank Patrick Lennin again for all his help.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Cap_Hill_Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see that you your enjoyed your stay and will be sharing your comments with the entire team.

Congratulations on your recent wedding and I appreciate your kind comments about Patrick and the service he provided throughout your stay.

Thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope you will continue to stay with us when traveling to the city.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Last weekend had a quick trip to New York. This hotel was perfect. Delightful little hotel tucked away beside Grand Central. The weekend manager was welcoming and genuinely pleasant. The room was especially large for New York, and beautifully appointed. On Saturday night we walked through Times Square,up to Central Park, and back home for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cap_Hill_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Cap_Hill_Traveler

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see that you your enjoyed your stay and will be sharing your comments with the entire team.

I am happy to read that you found the manager to be pleasant and welcoming.

Thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope you will continue to stay with us when traveling to the city.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of August and this hotel surpassed our expectations. The location is perfect, being central to all attractions. We were surprised and delighted to find we had been allocated a suite - a huge room, very clean with spacious bathroom and separate lounge area. The bed was large and extremely comfortable. All staff were friendly and helpful.
In all, the Fitzpatrick Grand Central went that extra mile to make our stay most memorable. This was a special trip for us - a 50th birthday celebration. The wine and chocolate strawberries were totally unexpected and very much appreciated: a lovely gesture. We are already recommending this hotel to friends and family. A big thank you from both of us...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLeyden, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Grand Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Graham H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am glad to see that you your enjoyed your stay and will be sharing your comments with the entire team.

A belated happy birthday and thank you for recommending us to your friends.


Thank you for choosing the Fitzpatrick Grand Central and I do hope you will continue to stay with us when traveling to the city.

Kind Regards,
Patrick Leyden
General Manager
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 470 in New York City
1,350 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 470 in New York City
258 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
723 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 470 in New York City
614 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 470 in New York City
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central

Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $163 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing