We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed bugs....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bed bugs....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed at the Fitzgerald Grand Central for two nights over a weekend, and on the flight home noticed itchy spots on my back. When I checked them out with the doctor, he said it was likely bed bugs. Not a huge surprise since they didn't bother to clean my room (depsite me being out most of the day) on Saturday.

The place looks nice, and the rooms are small but acceptable, but overall one my worst NYC experiences.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bobkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    642
    156
    61
    24
See reviews for
294
1,048
93
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma Calif.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

wonderful hotel and great location. friendly helpfull staff and clean.

Room Tip: 7th floor room. Some street noise, but we like it. Friendly helpful staff and GREAT location. Walk e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillrman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Steps to Grand Central, a very well situated hotel in midtown within walking distance to shops, theatres and restaurants.

Room Tip: As the pub on the ground floor gets very busy and noisy many nights, choose a room away from the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfischer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed on this hotel 7/10/2011 - 10/10/2011. Is a charmy hotel, clean, good rooms and amazing bathrooms , really good experience.
The dissapoint is there not Free intenert access, and not provide printing services, for example if you need print your check in ( boarding pass ) .
The portable air acondicioner is noise.
We was 100 % happy with this hotel, however on last day, the check out is 12:00 noon.
we leave the bags on the hotel and down for breakfast, when back to the hotel, around 10:30AM . our room, has been locked ( the card reader not working ) and we cannot access, we down to reception and the lady active the cards to entry the room, but still that impossible, hopefully the maid. use their card to allowed entry our room and take the bags.
Is very bad by the recepetion lock the doors before 12:00 .. sound like .. GO AWAY ... if the check out is 12:00 why they lock my card on 10:00 ?

Room Tip: the higher rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

A really lovely hotel in a most convenient location to visit all tourist attractions in New York. Lovely spacious room and beds extremely comfortable. Lovely patio restaurant at the back of the bar which could easily be missed if you weren't the inquisitive type to roam around !
Greg the concierge helped to make our trip a great success with his New York sense of humour which I love !
I'll be back !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolingan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just returned from a 2 night weekend stay in NYC at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central. The hotel is in a great location, convenient to everything and all transportation. The staff is extremely accomadating, polite and pleasant. The rooms are recently refurbished and remarkably large for NYC given the pricepoint. The staff at the Wheeltapper pub make you feel very welcome and the outdoor space is a hidden gem in NYC. We are looking forward to a return visit. The beds are the most comfortable I have come across in any hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKOEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed here during a business trip last year. Square footage in NYC is expensive, but I found my room to be pretty tiny considering the price.

There is an attached restaurant. My reservation included a lovely free breakfast that was pretty substantial.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel

Property: Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Address: 141 East 44th Street, New York City, NY 10017-4006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New York City
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel provides warm Irish hospitality in an elegant atmosphere. Situated on East 44th Street directly opposite Grand Central Terminal and close to Times Square, our location puts you in the middle of almost everything New York City has to offer. Our highly personalized service and very comfortable rooms and suites offer a great option for your next business trip, weekend getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing