We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend the Penthouse Suites”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #187 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Recommend the Penthouse Suites”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We exchanged through Registry Collection and enjoyed a week long stay. Two couples - probably not great for everyone, because one couple must share a queen sized hideabed, but we were comfortable because there are two bathrooms, both large. Terry robes were provided for all of us.The kitchenette did not allow for cooking, but you could enjoy Starbucks coffee supplied and reheat takeout food in the microwave. There is even a mini dishwasher in the suite. It was nice to pick up a bottle of wine and appies and enjoy them in our suite before going out in the evenings. King sized bed in master was very comfy, with turndown service and chocolates! Flat screen TVs in lvg rm and bedroom. When door between lvg rm and bedrm was closed there was privacy for both couples. We used the large and comfy hospitality room on the 26 floor a couple of times for afternoon coffee, but preferred our own suite. Gym on 26th floor was well equipped and clean. Staff were very helpful. Other guests/owners were friendly. Elevators are only slow at peak times, but no terribly long waits - they're small, but people were great at squeezing together. ("Penthouse" means the top four floors 27-30.) great walking distance for Central Park, Columbus Circle, Carnegie Hall, MOMA, Broadway, etc. close to subway stops too. Would recommend this exchange property if you get a chance. Would make a great "girlfriend" getaway too.

Room Tip: No room tips, we weren't offered a choice, but were happy with what was assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mile0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Your review and recommendation for The Manhattan Club is greatly appreciated, thank you. It is always wonderful to hear from our guests to learn about their impressions and experiences. We're delighted that you had such a nice week and we are so glad that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room, the amenities we offer and our midtown location. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    540
    134
    62
    70
See reviews for
487
442
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Arrival and check in were uneventful and handled well by competent staff. Room was quite small but well appointed except for chirping smoke detector in the room. Maintenance responded quickly but had to install a new smoke detector to quite the annoying chirping. Out of four lobby elevators only two serve the Manhattan Club, one was broken when we arrived and the other quickly went down. Luckily we were out of the building most of the time the elevators were broken, having to share the freight and service elevators was not a good experience. Concierge service was often closed during the week but was staffed until 7PM on Friday evening. Location is the big plus for this hotel. We happened to be there during the "transition season", i.e. the heat had already been turned off which left us with two very chilly evenings. Overall the stay was a pleasant one but I would have been very disappointed had I been paying $500 night as one gentlemen relayed to me during a trip in the service elevator. Owners lounge on 26th floor is very nice with continental breakfast for $14, free coffee in the afternoon and fruit in the morning and 15% gratuity automatically added to your bar bill! Room charges of $30/day are added for housekeeping, towels, etc. probably not "excessive" for Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ichabod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Club for your recent stay in NYC. While we are glad that you enjoyed our location and that overall your stay was pleasant, we truly regret the difficulties you encountered. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences. We hope that next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back and that you will let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very happy with this hotel for a NYC mid-town stay. Room was big, although the fold out bed for our kids was smaller than a full bed and a little tight. Location is great. Easy walk to Times Square, Central Park, Rock Center, etc. Multiple subway lines within a block of the hotel. Valet parking a bargain at $28 per day. Room was quiet, clean, and a decent view from the 22nd floor. Microwave, sink, fridge and d/w in the room would have been good if we were staying longer. Staff was friendly and helpful. Not pushy about the timeshare aspect of the hotel with RCI. Skipped the continental breakfast for $14 per person - lots of casual breakfast options around the corner on 7th Avenue. This will likely be our go-to place for staying in Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_plus_Four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are delighted to learn that The Manhattan Club will now be your go-to-place when staying in Manhattan. Thank you so much for sharing your comments and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is, as you mentioned, conveniently located within walking distance of many NYC attractions such as Times Square. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Some members graciously allowed us to stay here two nights. We have zero complaints. Big suite with double doors between the rooms. Two full bathrooms (one walk-in shower, one tub with shower), sink on the kitchen island, microwave, refrigerator, dinette table and chairs, large stuffed convertible couch, king bed, two TVs, and two closets. Couldn't ask for more. We requested a room away from traffic so we were placed on the 14th floor over the "courtyard." We couldn't see the courtyard below, only a facing wall with rooms to either side. The exhaust HVAC fans were somewhere in that space and they were loud, but it was a consistent sound, like you would get from white noise machines, only louder. The fans stop sometime after midnight and restart at 5 a.m. We were a little anxious that the noise would affect our sleep, but once we fell asleep, the fans didn't affect us at all. On the 26th floor is an exercise room, the dining room, and offices. Non-members can expect a call from a sales person trying to sell time shares, but if you don't have 90 minutes to receive a tour and sales pitch, you don't have to accept. Compensation for your time may be offered. In our case it was two complementary tickets to a show or vouchers for dining. We didn't have the time, so we declined. The staff and club members were very pleasant and gracious. Some might expect a little pretentiousness from a club, but we never experienced anything like that from anyone. Near checkout time, the elevators can get crowded from people departing from floors above you, but we used the service elevators and never had to wait. The cleaning and support staff were very nice. Check in is at 4 p.m., but if your room is ready before hand you may check in. We received our room around 1 p.m. The bell staff checked our bags for us until our room was available. Check out time is 11 a.m. As many reviewers have stated, the Club is conveniently situated for museums, shows, restaurants, etc. Most everything you would want is within walking distance. Times Square 42d street is 14 short blocks away and we had no problem schlepping our bags from there to the Club. Three subway entrances are nearby, with two being only one block away. We like to go to Williamsburg in Brooklyn for good beer and fun times, and the L train from Times Square takes us there very quickly. Only took us 15 minutes to haul our bags to Herald Square, near Penn Station, from the Club via subway. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, General Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay at The Manhattan Club. It was such a pleasure to have you here with us and we were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your visit. Our hotel is conveniently located in midtown and is within walking distance of many of NYC's exciting attractions. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The best thing about the Manhattan Club hotel is its fantastic location, location. It is literally within walking distance of so many attractions, shows, museums, restaurants, subway, Central Park, etc. We walked everywhere, or took the subway (buy a subway pass card). We had a wonderful week enjoying a magnificent city.
The Manhattan Club itself is showing its age, and is in need of major renovations, especially the room climate control (didn't work and had to open window to cool down the room), and the single glass windows allow all the street noise...having to open the window to cool the room added to the noise. The $30 per day service charge is excessive, but maybe not for Manhattan.
We would recommend staying at the Manhattan Club, despite issues with the room, because of the easy access to tourist attractions and activities. We used a timeshare exchange through RCI, which works out to about $350 per night cost, once your timeshare maintenance fees are factored in for the weeks / points required for the exchange. For a one bedroom apartment in hotel mid-Manhattan, that cost is "reasonable".

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street because of the street noise...New York really doesn't sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation of The Manhattan Club. We were thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed our fabulous midtown location which is within close proximity to many of the exciting attractions here in NYC. Your feedback regarding our property is appreciated and will be shared with our team. Please accept our apologies for any difficulties you may have encountered regulating the temperature in your room. We hope that the next time you are planning a visit to the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here as a group of 6 british girls celebrating our 30th birthdays. 3 people to each room, plenty of space and bathroom was lovely. The beds were made every day and the staff were fab. Within walking distance to times square and lots of bars and restaurants. Our only (very small) gripe was there was no kettle and the room was very hot at night even with air con on full. Would definately recommend to a friend! An excellent base for an amazing city!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
It is simply delightful that everyone enjoyed their stay at The Manhattan Club. Happy Birthday to all the girls who were celebrating their 30th birthdays! We are thrilled that you all enjoyed the spaciousness of our guest rooms and our convenient midtown location. We do however apologize that the temperature of the room was not optimal for you while you were here. Thank you for such a lovely review and for your recommendation. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here for 5 Days. We had a one Bedroom Suite which was pretty generous in size for NYC standards. The hotel is in a great location. You are 3 blocks from Central Park and in walking distance to all of the Broadway Shows. They have a nice lounge on the 26th floor. Only 2 of the 4 elevators were working but it never seemed to be a problem. The staff was very attentive to our needs. I felt very safe here. The room had a little refrigerator, dishwasher, sink, plates, glasses, knives, forks, etc... We started each day with a big breakfast at the Applejack Diner right around the corner at 55th St. and Broadway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiarfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Club for your five day stay in New York. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our suites as well as our convenient midtown location. Our hotel is within walking distance of many of NYC's exciting attractions including Central Park, Carnegie Hall and more. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#100 of 466 in New York City
1,609 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#75 of 466 in New York City
1,806 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#136 of 466 in New York City
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#355 of 466 in New York City
82 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,704 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#217 of 466 in New York City
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Property: The Manhattan Club
Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing