We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations, not one complaint”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #199 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Some members graciously allowed us to stay here two nights. We have zero complaints. Big suite with double doors between the rooms. Two full bathrooms (one walk-in shower, one tub with shower), sink on the kitchen island, microwave, refrigerator, dinette table and chairs, large stuffed convertible couch, king bed, two TVs, and two closets. Couldn't ask for more. We requested a room away from traffic so we were placed on the 14th floor over the "courtyard." We couldn't see the courtyard below, only a facing wall with rooms to either side. The exhaust HVAC fans were somewhere in that space and they were loud, but it was a consistent sound, like you would get from white noise machines, only louder. The fans stop sometime after midnight and restart at 5 a.m. We were a little anxious that the noise would affect our sleep, but once we fell asleep, the fans didn't affect us at all. On the 26th floor is an exercise room, the dining room, and offices. Non-members can expect a call from a sales person trying to sell time shares, but if you don't have 90 minutes to receive a tour and sales pitch, you don't have to accept. Compensation for your time may be offered. In our case it was two complementary tickets to a show or vouchers for dining. We didn't have the time, so we declined. The staff and club members were very pleasant and gracious. Some might expect a little pretentiousness from a club, but we never experienced anything like that from anyone. Near checkout time, the elevators can get crowded from people departing from floors above you, but we used the service elevators and never had to wait. The cleaning and support staff were very nice. Check in is at 4 p.m., but if your room is ready before hand you may check in. We received our room around 1 p.m. The bell staff checked our bags for us until our room was available. Check out time is 11 a.m. As many reviewers have stated, the Club is conveniently situated for museums, shows, restaurants, etc. Most everything you would want is within walking distance. Times Square 42d street is 14 short blocks away and we had no problem schlepping our bags from there to the Club. Three subway entrances are nearby, with two being only one block away. We like to go to Williamsburg in Brooklyn for good beer and fun times, and the L train from Times Square takes us there very quickly. Only took us 15 minutes to haul our bags to Herald Square, near Penn Station, from the Club via subway. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, General Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay at The Manhattan Club. It was such a pleasure to have you here with us and we were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your visit. Our hotel is conveniently located in midtown and is within walking distance of many of NYC's exciting attractions. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

The best thing about the Manhattan Club hotel is its fantastic location, location. It is literally within walking distance of so many attractions, shows, museums, restaurants, subway, Central Park, etc. We walked everywhere, or took the subway (buy a subway pass card). We had a wonderful week enjoying a magnificent city.
The Manhattan Club itself is showing its age, and is in need of major renovations, especially the room climate control (didn't work and had to open window to cool down the room), and the single glass windows allow all the street noise...having to open the window to cool the room added to the noise. The $30 per day service charge is excessive, but maybe not for Manhattan.
We would recommend staying at the Manhattan Club, despite issues with the room, because of the easy access to tourist attractions and activities. We used a timeshare exchange through RCI, which works out to about $350 per night cost, once your timeshare maintenance fees are factored in for the weeks / points required for the exchange. For a one bedroom apartment in hotel mid-Manhattan, that cost is "reasonable".

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street because of the street noise...New York really doesn't sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for your review and recommendation of The Manhattan Club. We were thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed our fabulous midtown location which is within close proximity to many of the exciting attractions here in NYC. Your feedback regarding our property is appreciated and will be shared with our team. Please accept our apologies for any difficulties you may have encountered regulating the temperature in your room. We hope that the next time you are planning a visit to the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here as a group of 6 british girls celebrating our 30th birthdays. 3 people to each room, plenty of space and bathroom was lovely. The beds were made every day and the staff were fab. Within walking distance to times square and lots of bars and restaurants. Our only (very small) gripe was there was no kettle and the room was very hot at night even with air con on full. Would definately recommend to a friend! An excellent base for an amazing city!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmmManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

It is simply delightful that everyone enjoyed their stay at The Manhattan Club. Happy Birthday to all the girls who were celebrating their 30th birthdays! We are thrilled that you all enjoyed the spaciousness of our guest rooms and our convenient midtown location. We do however apologize that the temperature of the room was not optimal for you while you were here. Thank you for such a lovely review and for your recommendation. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here for 5 Days. We had a one Bedroom Suite which was pretty generous in size for NYC standards. The hotel is in a great location. You are 3 blocks from Central Park and in walking distance to all of the Broadway Shows. They have a nice lounge on the 26th floor. Only 2 of the 4 elevators were working but it never seemed to be a problem. The staff was very attentive to our needs. I felt very safe here. The room had a little refrigerator, dishwasher, sink, plates, glasses, knives, forks, etc... We started each day with a big breakfast at the Applejack Diner right around the corner at 55th St. and Broadway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiarfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Club for your five day stay in New York. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our suites as well as our convenient midtown location. Our hotel is within walking distance of many of NYC's exciting attractions including Central Park, Carnegie Hall and more. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed two nights in March. Fantastic location, one block to R Train which was very convenient. The rooms are extra large in comparison to other NYC hotel rooms. Loved having the kitchenette - fridge, microwave came in handy. We had a room on 12th floor with view of 6th Ave, very quiet. Excellent service from bellmen, front desk average. Travelzoo deal included $100 Restaurant.com gift cards which came in handy but were a little challenging to use. Tried to redeem via Smartphones but ended up having to call them to issue certificates and you had to spend a certain amount in order to use so a little misleading. Restaurants that we used them at where very accommodating, no issues there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for your review of The Manhattan Club. It brings us great joy to learn that our midtown location, spacious rooms, and friendly service all contributed to your wonderful experience in NYC. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We used our Wyndham points and exchanged through RCI for a week stay. We thought the points required were very reasonable for midtown Manhattan, but found out we could not do this again. It was a promotional visit. It worked so well we bought a time share for the future. We love NYC, and our son can also use this. There are only studio and one bedroom units. We had and bought a one bedroom, as we liked the additional room and two full bathrooms.

Things we liked: location (3 blocks from subway stops, could walk to a number of small cafés as well as nice restaurants and even, good street food nearby, just a couple of blocks to Central Park), wonderful staff, size of the hotel, comfortable bed, well maintained and spotless, and we were not bugged by sales people. We had one call before we arrived and we said we were not interested. After staying a few days, we changed our mind and we initiated the sales talk. As Wyndham owners, we are used to the annoying calls upon arrival and constantly thereafter to set up a meeting, etc. None of that here. Also, there is maid service daily. The kitchenette is small with a half refrigerator and microwave and small dishwasher. No washer and dryer as have at Wyndham resorts. Nice owners lounge and fitness center.
We walked the 3 blocks to the grocery store and brought back breakfast foods and sandwich makings. Perfect for us. The unit we stayed in is due for remodeling but it was perfectly comfortable. It could use some brighter colors, but we spent so few daylight hours in the room, we hardly noticed. We look forward to our next week here.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor and avoid the slow elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We are thrilled that you had such a great stay at The Manhattan Club. Thank you so much for sharing with us the details of your visit and all the things that made your time here special. Our hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to many of New York City’s exciting attractions and fascinating neighborhoods. It was a true pleasure to have you here and all of us are looking forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We rented a 1 bed suite in this resort which enjoyed a great location across from Carnegie Hall and 2 blocks from Central Park. Time Square was 5 minute walk away and Broadway just around the corner.
The unit was very comfortable and quite well equipped.
However on departure we were quite shocked to have been levied a $30 a night 'Hospitality Fee'. We paid it as we had such a good week but will be asking questions before taking on such a unit again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We are thrilled that you found our midtown Manhattan location to be such a plus and enjoyed the comfort of our suites. It is however regrettable that you were unaware of the hospitality fee at the time you made your reservation. Thank you for sharing your comments, we hope to welcome you back again soon to The Manhattan Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,910 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,388 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#130 of 470 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#330 of 470 in New York City
7,062 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#120 of 470 in New York City
1,846 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $212 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing