We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,572)
Filter reviews
1,572 results
Traveler rating
642
633
152
69
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
633
152
69
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews time share carnegie hall central park timeshare exchange one bedroom suite timeshare hotel rci points full bathrooms great location times square new york owners lounge pull out couch columbus circle daily housekeeping small kitchenette around the corner
Filter
Updating list...
1,158 - 1,163 of 1,572 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed at the Manhattan Club for 7 days. Location was great as was the room/studio unit.

In general we had a great stay but it was marred by the rudeness of the staff who were rather condescending and abrupt - in particular one of females working at the reception area was so rude that her manner bordered on insolence.

We would recommend staying at the Manhattan Club as it is in a great location, easily accessible, clean, rooms are great and well maintained however we would warn people to expect rudeness from the staff .

MDC - South Africa - August 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Susan018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Just back from a week long stay at the Manhattan Club (timeshare exchange via RCI). I was a bit nervous before our stay, after reading many of the reports here, however, we didn't have many of the problems that others experienced.

The wait for elevators ranged from no time at all to 5-10 minutes. Longest waits were the days of check in/out on the weekends. Most waits were less than 3 minutes. Our 1 bedroom/ 2 bath unit was one of the smallest I have stayed in at the MC, but even with 5 people, we had room. The king sized bed was huge, and while not a lot of drawer space, we hung most of our clothes in the closet, or placed them on the high shelf in the closet. The desk in the bedroom provided a nice area to check email and search the internet for restaurants in the city. The internet connection was free, but at times, it was "iffy".

The living room was a nice size.....all of us could fit to watch TV in the evening. It became crowded once we opened the sofa bed (sister and her child slept in that), The two bathrooms were large, and came in handy w/ 5 people getting ready in the morning. We had plenty of towels, (think they gave 6 of each), as well as bath products, which were replenished daily if needed. The mini kitchen was very limited.....just a microwave to do any cooking, along with a small coffee pot (less than 4 cups), and a small fridge. Coffee, tea, and popcorn was replenished each day. There were enough plates/glasses (6 of each, in varying sizes) for everyone, as well as silverware. Some cabinet space to store snacks.

Can't beat the location....subways are around the corner and across the street. Starbucks around the corner, full service grocery store within 2 blocks, and a large "Whole Foods" store in the Time Warner building (several blocks away). Plenty of restaurants/pubs in every price range within a short walk. Kids loved spending time in Central Park, at the playgrounds and climbing the huge rocks. We did the typical touring, saw some shows, and visited museums. Everyone had a great time.....and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank senorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

I was a bit nervous after reading the reviews, but pleasantly surprised during my stay this month.

Starting with the cons:
1) The elevators! We were on the 16th floor and at times just walked down! There was 1 regular elevator and then the service elevators, so we waited from 2-10 minutes based upon time of day.
2) While pleasant, housekeeping was very slow in helping us out our first night with a small issue, but then were fine after that.
3) The concierge was adequate but not particularly helpful.
4) The pullout couch, which my daughters slept on, was awful, so they put the mattress on the floor and layers of blankets on it to deal with the thin covering over the innersprings.

Now the pros:
1) Great location just 3 short blocks from Central Park, 10 minutes to Rockefeller Center and 5th Ave shops, diagonally across the street from Carnegie Hall, and the theatres were all within a 5-15 minute walking distance (there are so many sets of lights that it can take a while).
2) The room was a generously sized 1 bedroom corner with views of Central Park, which I loved.
3) The bed was surprizingly comfortable.
4) Two great bathrooms!
5) Despite sweltering 88-92 degree weather, the ACs worked beautifully!

So in summary, great location, great room, be careful of the pull-out couch mattresses and hope that both elevators are in service when you go, but I wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rcs249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We are timeshare owners at the Manhattan Club and have been so since 2005. We stay here all the time when we come to NYC. We love the Manhattan Club and have no intention of selling our timeshare (we use it so much). However, it has gone downhill since we first began coming here:

PROBLEMS:
--Service is spotty at bets. Can be good. Can be terrible (unresponsive). However, we have never had rude service.
--ELEVATORS!!!! Be prepared to wait a LONG time to catch an elevator. Usually only one (of two) elevator works so they open up the service elevators (which don't help much).

STRENGTHS:
--Nice clean rooms (usually).
--LOCATION!!! You can't beat the location. Close to Time Square and Central Park.

This is a nice place to stay. It isn't what it used to be which is a management problem. They need someone who can figure out how to run a timeshare hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank shanebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My family consisting of my husband and I ( aged 50+) and my son and daughter (late 20s) stayed in the Manhattan Club for a week from 29th June 2008.
We had read all the mixed reviews and were expecting to have to put up with a lot for the sake of the location. Quite the opposite!
The staff couldn't have been nicer - and I mean that! Every single person working there, regardless of job, could not have been friendlier or more pleasant. I cannot understand how others reviewers give them such a bad press.
We were on the 19th floor and when we stepped out of the lift, my heart sank. The carpet has been taken up and the refurbishment is under way. The apartments are generously sized but are rather careworn and not particularly light and airy. Everywhere is clean, though and the bathroom toiletries are lovely!
We were on an RCI exchange and were led to believe it was a partial kitchen ie. hob but no oven. In fact there are no cooking facilities whatsoever. Sink, fridge and microwave only.
There was free coffee, tea, hot water, cake and biscuits on the 26th floor every day from 11 to 4 which was very nice.
The lifts (or elevators) were exactly what we had read from the reviews. How serious you were about it depended upon your character - either it was a bit of a hassle that you had to laugh about or you let yourself get really steamed up about it. It was really only a serious problem on check out day. We used the service elevator and felt sorry for the staff who couldn't get their service or luggage trolleys in for all the guests. Incidentally none of us ever travelled in the elevator with any garbage!
The floors that have already been refurbished are lovely and once the elevators have been fixed, this place will be wonderful.
I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NewYorkfirsttimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews