We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,558)
Filter reviews
1,558 results
Traveler rating
637
625
151
69
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
625
151
69
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharecarnegie hallcentral parktimeshare exchangeone bedroom suitetimeshare hotelrci pointsfull bathroomsgreat locationtimes squareowners loungenew yorkpull out couchcolumbus circledaily housekeepingsmall kitchenettearound the corner
Filter
Updating list...
1,156 - 1,161 of 1,558 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Only one elevator was running for guests. The back 2 service levators were opened for guests but we had to go up and down with the help, the garbage and the laundry. Long waits at the elevators. Very poor customer service. Bad management. Front Desk Staff very rude and not very helpful. Lots of banging outside the hotel windows.

Would not buy timeshare here and would never stay here again! Beware!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Travellerforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Have always heard great things and was very excited to stay there..Great location but ..BIG DISAPPOINTMENT. Stayed 2 nights...had a metro room...small, clean, nice but had frosted windows
( claustraphobic) and air conditioning was NON EXSISTENT. Complaining did not bring any cold air...don't think they even addressed it. HOT STUFFY NIGHT...rooms have plastic dishes and cultery...what's the dishwasher for?? Show?? Only One elevator running and very LONG waits...seems like others had the same complaint in 2005 so that is no better 3 years later... Tried the stairs...stairwells were dirty and smelled....conceige was rude and front desk personal was very impersonable. The staff raved about the Club lounge. ... closed during our first try at 11;00 PM, open on second try at 4:00 PM, however we found no bartender, a tray of stale cookies, and nothing but water in plastic cups...not impressed. We were interested in buying a
time share week but glad we stayed first because we would never buy now. Once they realized we were not interested...they seemed to no longer be interested in us!!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We booked direct from the UK. After reading the reviews on here, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Points to note: The Manhattan Club is a timeshare complex (NO sales pressure) and as such has very liitle in in the way of amenites. The concierge desk people are not particulary pleasant to talk to and give an impression of being unhelpful.The lifts are not all working, so be prepared to wait for typically up to 3-4 minutes. No real problem for us. The rooms are clean and comfortable (two bathrooms), but are beginning to look a littele-bit dated, The location is first-class, Times Square and Central Park, all easily within walking distance. Everything is almost on your doorstep and there's even an Irish Pub across the road which shows all the live premiership football (bliss). The rooms facing the front of the hotel can be a bit traffic noisy, but conversly the rooms at the side are next to buliding development works. This is definitely not the prettiest place to stay, but overall, you really would have to go some to beat it on value for money and location!! I am glad we picked this place to stay.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank David1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

I own several timeshares and rented a one-bedroom suite with two bathrooms from an owner at Manhattan Club. RCI is the timeshare company for all suites except the penthouse suites, which is affiliated with Interval International timeshare management.
This is a great property on West 56th and 7th Ave.-near Carnegie Hall, across from Redeye Grill. Easy walk to small grocery and Duane Reed pharmacy/sundry stores.
I stayed here before in a studio suite, which is okay for a couple but crowded if you bring a grandchild. The one bedroom suite with 2 baths is large for NYC with nice kitchenette, dining table with 4 chairs. Plenty of dresser drawers and two closets. Best king sized bed I have ever had in a hotel,too. The sheets had several large tears in them but were soft.
Only problems were:
1. The elevators are very slow and crowded. Take your chance at the lobby elevator or the service elevator and hope for the best.When we were there, one of the lobby elevators was out of service for "improvements". A staff member told us the improvements would make the elevator nicer but would have no affect on speed - too bad!
2. Climate control can be a problem depending on time of year.
We stayed in April and the rooms were VERY hot. You can open the windows but we had a room facing another building and ventilation was not great even when we had all four windows open. The temperature outside was between 48 and 62 F. We requested a fan but were told all of the fans were loaned out already for each day of our 3 night stay. We requested a fan twice a day for 3 days with no luck, although everyone was very polite. Why not put two fans in each room? It would have made our stay so much more comfortable. Management and the bell man told us they were not required to turn the air condioner on until late May. They said since this is a very old building there are only two pipes instead of four, which means they could turn on heat for the cooler months and A/C for the warmer months but never a choice of heat or A/C at all times. Everyone in the building was complaining of being too hot. We were considering purchasing a timeshare here, but the lack of individual climate control changed our minds. I would stay here only in December through March (good bet for the heater to be on) or June-August (good bet for the a/c to be on).

The housekeeping was excellent, bathrooms were clean and of adequate size. Only complaint in bathroom is that there is a pedestal sink and absolutely no cabinet or stand to put toiletries. No hook on back of bathroom door to hold a hanging toiletry case either. Two nice terry robes were provided but only one hook in the small bath on the wall to hang one robe. The kitchenette had microwave,coffeemaker,small refrigerator, dishwasher, sink and small supply of dishes,bowls,plates and utencils.Maid service was provided daily (unusual for a timeshare) and soundproofing is good between rooms. If you close the windows, you hear minimal Manhattan street noise like horns and sirens. We ended up leaving all windows open to keep the room cooler. We were awakened by construction noise which we assumed were related to sandblasting since sand started coming through the opened windows on two mornings of our 3 night stay. We had to close the windows and leave until later in the day. There is a nice exercise room and business center, along with an owner's lounge on the 26th floor. Wireless internet was free and worked well in our suite.

The "Penthouse suites" have access to owners or their guests by a key in the elevator on the 26th floor. I don't know if there are similar climate control problems but there are two terraces (north and south) with lovely views. Only problem is the very loud air handlers on the roof near both terraces that make conversation difficult due to noise.

I would stay again but only during months when heat or A/C would be on.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mcm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We recently enjoyed a 3 night stay here.We had a 1 BR unit with a King bed, and the kids slept on a pullout in the living room. Both rooms were a really good size, especially for NYC, and there was lots of storage space. There were 2 full baths. One had a tub/shower combo, and the other had a large shower. Bath and Body works soaps/shampoos/lotions were included. The kitchenette area had a table and 4 chairs, microwave, frig., dishes, and dishwasher.There was also a coffeemaker and included coffee
We enjoyed being able to have our coffee and breakfast in each morning.
A major problem with this hotel/timeshare is the elevators. There are only 2 that serviced the timeshare apts., and 2 service elevators. Since 1 elevator was out of service,guests could use the service elevators, but it took FOREVER to get down from the 17th floor. We waited 40 minutes once, as every time one stopped, it was jammed full Finally we squeezed onto an elevator going up, and we stopped on each of the floors up until the 26th floor, and then on each floor on the way down.Everytime the door opened there were people hoping to get on, but there was no way. Everyone was complaining, and it was a huge problem! One couple squeezed their 2 kids on with us, and they walked down 17 flights to meet us at the bottom. Guess who got there 1st!
Other than that, our stay was great..

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews