We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captain Jack”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #187 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Phila
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Captain Jack”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We own a timeshare at the Manhattan Club and have been staying there for about 12 years. This is a nice place compared to other NYC luxury hotels. Most rooms are two room suites with two bathrooms, very convenient for couple were one likes to go to bed early and the other late. The hotel is in a great location with easy walking access to the theater district and Central Park. The staff is efficient and courteous. The rooms are nice if a little threadbare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Your kind review is sincerely appreciated and we’re thrilled that over the last 12 years you have enjoyed The Manhattan Club’s accommodations and our convenient location. As you mentioned, we are located within close proximity to many of the area’s attractions including Central Park. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us here; we look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    526
    132
    61
    69
See reviews for
475
427
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for the second time - the last time we were here was 8 years ago. We chose it again for its location, so close to Central Park, the theatre district and Times Square, and within easy reach of many of New York's many attractions. Unfortunately it would seem that in those eight years The Manhattan Club has not received any updating or redecorating. The wallpaper is tired and shabby in places, with some of it peeling off, and in other places it has been (inexpertly) patched. The furnishings are no longer luxurious, just dated. Handles were missing off the cupboards and the bath plug didn't work.

We had to ask to move rooms as ours had a door connecting it to another apartment, and the noise from our neighbours made it seem as though they were in the same room. They yelled at each other every morning before 7 and their tv blared. We were given another room on the same floor, but found that we now had a view of a blank wall through filthy windows. Punishment for asking to change?

We didn't try the $14.95 continental breakfast, but it didn't sound like a great deal. The staff were ok and efficient enough.

For the money (and the 'service charge' of $30 per night) I reckon you could do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: It's no use asking for a room with a view or on a high floor. Whatever it is you want, they tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixie Cristobel... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
While we are so glad to know you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel, it is certainly disappointing to learn that your expectations were not met in every way. Thank you for posting your feedback and sharing your valuable perspective with us; we will pass along your comments to our management team. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

When you pay more than $400 per night you have certain expectations. But we were wrong.

The room, the furniture and the appliances were old and dated. The noise from the street was constant and terrible. The noise from the renovations was terrible and started as early as 6am. The noise from the proximity to elevators was terrible. The blinds in the living room did not work. The toilet seat in the ensuite did not stay up. The water in the bath did not switch fully to the shower. The kitchenette sink was blocked. The door between the rooms squeaked and did not close properly. Should I keep on going?

Reception staff promised to make a note in the system but never did. Complaints about noise were ignored. All we got was smiling faces without any actions and that is simply not good enough!

And they had the audacity to keep calling us and inviting us to their sale demonstrations (they actually started calling us at our home country before we left!). Surely they were not trying to sell us the same room that we were in?!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gasp891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies that we did not create the experience you deserved as a valued guest. Your comments will be shared with all departments to re-emphasize the high standards in place for customer service and attention to detail. Please know that our management team is always available to all our guests should any issues arise that cannot be resolved through the staff. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience and thank you for alerting us to the challenges you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
640 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Pros:
Superb Manhattan location. Close to everything and convenient to subway.
Concierge service is efficient.
Fitness center and business center are quite adequate.

Cons:
Tired furnishings and facilities. I believe the upper floors have been renovated but our room, although comfortable and spacious, was in need of updating.
You will wait a long time for the elevators. Remember this. They're extremely slow and always busy. Elevator doors will slam into you if you're not quick about getting in or out.

All in all, we were very comfortable for our week-long stay. We highly recommend the location, but you should not expect the Manhattan Club to be a luxury experience. It is what it is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your review and high recommendation of The Manhattan Club, thank you. Our midtown location is, as you mentioned, extremely convenient for exploring all the amazing places that surround our hotel with so many attractions just steps from our front door. Thank you for all your feedback; we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at The Manhattan Club for seven nights using our time share from Australia. Our Penthouse Suite was perfect for my husband, daughter & I. Two bathrooms, small kitchenette, very comfortable bed & pullout sofa bed. On our first night we discovered the sofa bed not made up, rang down to reception & a short time later someone came to make up the sofa. All staff were polite & helpful, the property is very close to everything. Would recommend The Manhattan Club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation and review of The Manhattan Club. We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us when visiting NYC and delighted that your family enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and convenience of our midtown location. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Vincent, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Manhatten Club through our RCI timeshare. The rooms were not at all what we expected. The carpets were dirty the showers didn't drain. The mini refrigerator was dirty and old. The rooms were very outdated and need some remodeling. Our biggest disappointment was the staff were greeted by a rude front desk employee and very rude manager. We were told we couldn't check in because we weren't listed as owners on the RCI. After 2 hours we determined we were and no apologizes were offered. They charge a nightly hospitality fee... They aren't using it towards hospitality training. The only pro would be the polite bell man. I would not recommend the Manhatten Club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillA904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It is clear from your review that we missed an opportunity to create the experience you had expected of us. We do regret the confusion you encountered at check in and apologize for the delay in rectifying the situation. All feedback is welcomed; we have shared your comments with our management team. Thank you for alerting us to your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I along with our extended family hired two rooms and stayed afor 9 days at The Manhattan Club in New York city. The overall experience was just great and the location was the standout feature.

The rooms, staff and overall service was excellent and we had read about the problems with the situation of waiting for lifts. Only once we waited more than one to two minutes and the staff actually provided us access to the service elevator so that we could get going with our day.

Anything we wanted the Concierge team organised without any fuss and the five minute walk to Central Park was a breeze. One block from Broadway and a 10 minute walk to Times Square has=d us won form the very beginning.

I would not hestitate to recommned a stay at this hotel and would withour question stay there again when next visiting New york city.

Room Tip: The gym on the 26th floor is excellent and if your are an owner or time share owner as we are then t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Manhattan Club for your recent stay in the area and for your many compliments. Our midtown location places our guests in an ideal place for visiting some of the city’s most renowned restaurants, museums, theaters and landmarks. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,380 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Property: The Manhattan Club
Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing