We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waiting on second visit”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #199 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I would like to say excellent but am reserving my opinion to be sure after I see if we can return easily on our new membership or not...hearing good and bad things about that so what to see for myself

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hootster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your review of The Manhattan Club. We’re delighted you enjoyed your first visit to our hotel. When you are ready to plan your next stay, we would be happy to assist you in making your reservations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in the middle of November and can hardly wait to go back. I was so surprised how absolutely quiet the rooms were. Beautiful rooms, excellent service from every staff member and so well equiped.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We are truly grateful for your many compliments of The Manhattan Club, thank you. Our suites are elegantly appointed and equipped to make our guests feel at home. We’re delighted you enjoyed the rooms, amenities and service offered at our midtown Manhattan hotel. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was my second time at this Hotel in a one bedroom unit that has 2 bathrooms. As I had previously enjoyed room 2401, I asked for it again on the phone in advance, but it was not available upon arrival. However, Jordan at the front desk was most accommodating, and made great effort to help me find a good location. When I entered room 2317 it was well appointed but it was extremely hot- an oven actually. The heat was NOT on. The engineer and maintenance arrived to inform me there was nothing to be done about the temperature as air conditioning was no longer available do to the time of year. (November 7, 2012) Although sympathetic, they could not suggest a cooler location, and commented that several fans had been sent to other rooms. This old building can only do heat or A/C- not both. The living room windows would only open 5 inches, and the bedroom windows would not open at all. We were given floor fans in an effort to stay cool. If you look at the Hotel website, the standard rate for a one bedroom is $514 per night, but they don't offer temperature control? I spoke to the Asst. Front Office manager, Michael Mandel in person who was completely uninterested in this problem. He offered a robotic explanation about the lack of temperature choices, while typing on the computer, never looking me in the eye. I asked Mr. Mandel to have the hotel manager, call me the next day, but it never happened. (Mr. Mandel said his name was Daniel Casanue) The great things about this hotel, are the location, 2 bathrooms in the one bedroom unit, the bellman, and Michael, the bartender, a terrific mixologist on the 26th floor. He is worth the pricey $17.00/tip is included in the bill for the manhattan cocktail. The price of the rooms should be applied to updating the climate control issues of this old building. In the meantime, plan on a fan in your room.

Room Tip: the one bedroom units with 2 bathrooms, 2401 and 2317 are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank prissySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Although you have shared an appreciation for our hotel’s location and many of the staff, we truly disappointed that you were less satisfied with some other aspects of your stay. As with many larger buildings, in preparation for the cooler weather, the air conditioning system is switched off and the heating system is turned on. We are sorry that the room temperature was not comfortable at the time of your stay and that you were not pleased with the manner in which your concern was addressed. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Clean rooms, great view , right around corner from times square, two blocks from central park.....would stay there again .....love NYC . Be sure to ride the double deck site seeing bus....use as your taxi too, u can get on and off at your leisure ....Rosie o Gradies is a wonderful place to eat...Wicked on broadway is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohakaAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We love hearing about our guest’s experiences and learning what made their stay enjoyable. The Manhattan Club is within walking distance of the some of the city’s most renowned restaurants, museums, theaters and landmarks. Thank you for providing some great suggestions with regard to getting around NYC and places to visit; we’re sure many others will find them extremely helpful. We hope that you will return soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Through connections with RCI we were lucky to get a week at The Manhattan Club. One bedroom, two bathroom apartment that sleeps four. What a location, and what a wonderful apartment (so good we bought a share in it). Over the road from Carnegie Hall, a short walk to Central Park, Broadway, 5th Avenue and subway stations nearby. Any number of local restaurants to choose from, a supermarket around the corner (there is a kitchen in the apartment) should you wish to eat in.
Downside would be the "smart" elevators that, when loaded to capacity do not stop at your floor. We were on Level 16. Apart from the slow elevators, this residence has everything for a fantastic stay in midtown.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher levels are better, but beware the "'smart" elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank takemetotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We’re thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your week at The Manhattan Club. Our midtown location provides our guests with easy access to all of the City’s most popular attractions, restaurants and entertainment. We are sorry that you experienced some delay with the elevator and hope that any inconvenience was minimal. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and it was magnificent.We had 2 bathrooms,separate large bedroom and big sitting room.The bed was very comfortable,the room was serviced daily and it was impeccable,we even had a mini dishwasher if we felt the need,but why every thing was so close by,time sq,central park and all the eating placing a short stroll away.The concierge Moira must be commended on her skills and knowledge,we had 7 wonderful days planned by her,just tell what you want and she helps you plan it.We hope to visit this city again.

Room Tip: Ask for high up as possible,away from ice machine,we were on 15 th floor and didn't here any tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Your many lovely compliments for The Manhattan Club and our staff are greatly appreciated, thank you. We're delighted that we could help to create a holiday of a lifetime for you and hope that you can return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent three nights at the Manhattan Club, getting out of town on Sunday just as Hurricane Sandy descended on NYC. Our thoughts to everyone affected by this devastingly strong hurricane. We were happy with our room, but the bed was awkwardly placed with just a few inches of passage room between the end of the bed and a protusion in the wall. We had to ask to have the A/C turned off in our room as the vent was right over the bed and the thermostat did not alter the temperature. The bathroom was a good size, with nice toiletries. Only one bathrobe provided. The kitchenette is useful and the seating area ample. Staff were helpful but the location is their drawing card !! Close to Lincoln Centre for jazz, Columbus Circle, Central Park, Broadway, Carnegie and fine dining, so much more We even walked The High Line right to Chelsea Market.

Room Tip: Ask for a court side room if street sounds bother you. However, most rooms are high up and the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadiantravellerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of The Manhattan Club. We are very happy that your three night stay in NYC was so enjoyable and that our location worked out perfectly for you. Our hotel neighbors upon Central Park, Carnegie Hall, Rockefeller Center, the Broadway theater district and the worlds' most desired shopping areas, Madison Avenue and Fifth Avenue. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,914 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,391 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#130 of 470 in New York City
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#330 of 470 in New York City
7,068 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#118 of 470 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $214 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing