We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the Heart of New York - Close to Everything”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #189 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Right in the Heart of New York - Close to Everything”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

So we had an exchange through my timeshare program, which made this property very affordable. We were staying in a room though, that the general public has access to as well if they are paying a nightly rate.

Firstly, we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. We were in what was called a junior suite. The room had a small kitchenette (including a sink, dishwasher, microwave and fridge) which we put to good use as breakfast at the hotel was quite pricey. Much easier to walk a block to the nearest supermarket and buy some cereal etc.

The bed was comfortable, however, the mattress on the pullout had seen it's last legs and needed to be replaced. We ended up using the cushions from the lounge as that was more comfortable.

We didn't use the concierge, but the doorman and bell staff were excellent.

The only issue we had was with housekeeping, who didn't know the meaning of "wait until you hear an answer" - I swear there was about a nanosecond between them knocking and entering the room every day. You'd think they get the message after us having a go at them the second time in the one morning. If there hadn't been two of us in the room, they probably would have walked in on us in the bathroom.

Room Tip: No room really has a view, but don't go smaller than a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anasatasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are always delighted to welcome guests to The Manhattan Club! Our suite accommodations are designed to provide the best of comforts and amenities and we couldn't be happier to learn how much you enjoyed your stay. Excellent service is of utmost importance and we apologize if our housekeeping associates caused any inconvenience. Your review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    539
    134
    62
    70
See reviews for
487
441
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Yes, the decor is tired and the rooms can use a facelift. But the rooms are huge by New York standards (at least the one we got). This is not a hotel but a time share facility so the amenities are slightly different. It feels like a hotel, with bell men, security, front desk staff and a concierge. But expect the usual phone call offering a time share presentation, with both spouses present, of course. The sales staff was not pushy when we politely declined. The lobby feels secure, and the staff is pleasant. The sofa bed in our room was comfortable. There was a small refrigerator, coffee maker, sink. WiFi was spotty. The location on West 56th is excellent with Broadway and off Broadway within walking distance, and close to major subway lines E (to the WTC) and C (Soho, downtown). If you get a good deal through Living Social or Groupon or other travel sites, you can't beat the price for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Located at 200 West 56th Street between Broadway and Seventh Avenue in one of New York City's most desirable locations, The Manhattan Club is within walking distance to many of the city's major attractions. We're delighted our location worked out so well for you and that you enjoyed spaciousness of your accommodations. Thank you for your compliments of our hotel and staff, they are sincerely appreciated. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here with our two adult children for one night. The room was clean and the check-in and out was easy. Valet parking was very convenient. Location was great for the places we wanted to visit. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravelertoday48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, General Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Manhattan Club! We are located right in the heart of Manhattan making it convenient for visiting so many of NYC's major attractions. We hope you will return soon for another visit as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and hopefully for a little bit longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My Husband and I use to live 10 blocks away. We bought this timeshare years before we moved to Manhattan. WE LOVE NYC ! We have traded it in the past as no need to use it in the city.
It was a great week! We stayed in a renovated Jr. Suite. The pullout was comfy for my daughter and son in law.
The crib supplied for my grand daughter was perfect size. Yes, we are a cozy family. Who sits around a hotel room anyway! We used the lounge for cocktails before dinner when friends came to visit.
We shared one bathroom and it all worked out. We had breakfast in the room most mornings. We used the frig, microwave and dishwasher. My son in law had a business meeting early in the AM one day. He tiptoed out and showered in the gym as to not wake us all up. He said it was terrific. My daughter used the business center.
All bath and bedding first rate. The Staff were all pleasant. The only negative was trash night. It was quite noisy....but not the fault of MC. The location is PRIME. We walked to all except to our favorite restaurant in Tribeca. The #1 line is really close. It was great to be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We love NYC too! Thank you for writing such a lovely review for The Manhattan Club. It is always rewarding to learn about our guests and owners experiences and impressions. We're so happy that your entire family has enjoyed the accommodations and location of our hotel and we hope to see you back again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I recently visited this hotel accompanied by my daughter and daughter in law for a girls trip to NYC. The location can't be beat. There are multiple restaurants surrounding the hotel so we did not use the kitchen much at all. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance or a short subway or cab ride. Having checked into a suite that was not renovated, I found the accomodations suitable, however, the mattress on the hide a bed was not acceptable. I went to the front desk to ask what we could do and we were moved to a renovated suite with a new memory foam hide a bed. Thanks to the front desk staff for making this offer! Having two bathrooms was also a great bonus for our group.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with 3 adults, would recommend a renovated suite with a newer hide a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We're delighted that your girls' trip to NYC included a stay at The Manhattan Club. It was our pleasure to move your party to another suite to ensure everyone had the best experience possible and a great night's sleep. Our midtown location puts visitors right in the heart of NYC where so many of the major attractions are just steps away from our front door. We hope that you will return again for another stay as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked this as a rental through RCI. It was our first hotel suite experience with kids so it was nice to have a separate room. Their sofa-bed was not the most comfortable (typical for pull-outs). It was nice to have a kitchenette for breakfast foods and keeping our things cold. We came back to clean dishes each evening. There's a supermarket around the corner. The suite was quiet, the view was minimal as our room was on the inside looking onto another wall. The location was ideal -- within walking distance of most of midtown's attractions. Flatfare cab from JFK under $60. As a rental it was a great experience and good value.

Room Tip: Beware of timeshare sales. I ran into several owners who said they are frustrated with the increasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Manhattan Club and greatly appreciate the many compliments you have given us. Each of our suites are elegantly appointed and equipped with an outstanding selection of in-room amenities to make you feel comfortable and at home. We are also, as you mentioned, within walking distance of so many of New York City's major attractions. The next time you are in the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great location. Average service. Rooms are fine. Sales people are the problem. Because of its location I would recommend this hotel. You only sleep a few hours when you're in New York so for that purpose the hotel are fine.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phildrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent experience at The Manhattan Club. Although we are thrilled that you found our midtown Manhattan location to be such a benefit, we were disappointed that you were less enthusiastic about other aspects of your stay. We hope that if there was anything that we could have done differently that would have made a difference, you will let us know. The next time you are in NYC we hope you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#100 of 466 in New York City
1,597 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#74 of 466 in New York City
1,801 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#140 of 466 in New York City
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#365 of 466 in New York City
73 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 466 in New York City
2,691 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#112 of 466 in New York City
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Property: The Manhattan Club
Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing