We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location and spacious unit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #190 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Convenient location and spacious unit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stayed at the Manhattan Club during the Easter weekend. We had a one bdroom unit and it's the most spacious accomodation we ever had in NYC. The unit is kept very clean but the furnishings need updated. Prior to arrival, we had asked for an updated unit and was told my request was noted. At check in (a cool reception), we were told the unit was an updated unit. The unit was located right in front of the elevator but it turned out there was no issue with noise at all. But the unit was definitely not one of the updated unit. The fabric on the sofa was worn away and the door to the dishwasher look like it was falling off. We didn't use the dishwasher so we couldn't tell if it works. Aside from that, everything was fine- bed was comfortable and the unit was quiet though not much of a view. The valet parking rate at $28 per 24 hours was very reasonable compared with the lots nearby. Overall, it was a good stay though the service level could be improved.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank timbuk2Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
We strive to provide a home away from home with all the benefits of having NYC at your doorstep and so we’re glad that your accommodations were found to be spacious, comfortable and clean. We will look into the issues mentioned regarding the dishwasher and fabric wear and will share your comments with our staff. We hope you had a great Easter weekend in NYC and look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Manhattan Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    519
    131
    61
    68
See reviews for
471
418
33
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Our first time to NY. Location Location Location -walking distance to almost everything and close to the subway for everything else. Room size is great for two, had an inside room so there is no view. $25 a night for housekeeping was a bit much but it saved tipping every time you turned around. Nice to come back to the room and have it cleaned every day. Didn't use the partial kitchen much but it was nice to have a microwave and small fridge.
Concierge service was very helpful with directions, tickets for shows etc. I would pass on the timeshare presentation, just not the way to kill 1 1/2 hours.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank willykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
For someone’s first time in NYC, you couldn’t have picked a more perfectly located hotel than the Manhattan Club. Being in the heart of Manhattan, our location is one of our best features with the best in dining, shows, shopping and other top attractions right at your doorstep. Our presentation offers an informative session and a tour of the Manhattan Club for those interested in learning more about urban vacation ownership in the world’s most exciting city. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during April. We booked the junior suite as there we had our three teenage children with us. This hotel is situated on the corner of west 56 and 7th avenue. We could see times square from the corner and it was a easily walkable distance. We didnt use the subway at all, so i cant say if it was convenient or not.
Not a whole lot of amenities at the hotel, a gym and a lounge - bar opens at 4.30 pm.
We paid $399 a night without tax, and this was very good value for money considering new york rooms are small and we would have had to book two rooms in other hotels.
I would have given a better review if
1. The staff were friendlier - the reception desk and concierge were particularly frosty. We arrived at 11 and were told we couldnt get an early check in and to come back at 4pm. We actually arrived at about 3.50pm and were told a room wasnt ready and to take a seat and wait. The lobby is small with not much furniture . At 4.35 pm, we went to check again and were told yes the room had been ready since 4pm. They had not bothered to inform us of this.. We had waited sitting on the floor for 35 minutes. The manager later apologised.
2. We were not informed that there was a charge for the rollaway bed ($25), not that it mattered particularly to us, but it would have been nice to have known in advance.
3. They switched the airconditioning off - gave a garbled excuse, but did provide us with a fan. WE were hot and we all had broken nights sleep because of it.
4. We all got soaked on one occasion and there was no laundry service. we had wet clothes draped everywhere.
Jason, the bellboy of chinese origin was the only friendly person there. He always greeted us with a smile, and nothing was too much for him.
So to summarise, I feel that the Manhatten Club suites could have been a great stay IF the staff and management were more helpful and sensitive to their guests comfort.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank britondabayou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
It’s disappointing that there were missed opportunities that may have improved your overall experience with us at the Manhattan Club. We regret any difficulties or inconveniences and appreciate that you’ve brought these details to our attention. We will share your comments and compliments with our staff as we consider them all helpful feedback. We hope to have you and your family stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We were at the Manhattan Club for a week through Vacation Village Voyages Time Share. It met all expectations. The room was a suite which meant two rooms really. We had a bedroom with a bathroom and a living room with a second full bathroom. Plus a mini fridge and freezer, dishwasher, sink and kitchen was stocked. There was also a small table and two chairs in addition to the living room sitting area. Two flat screens but no HD. Rooms were kept fully stocked with product and towels plus popcorn, tea bags, coffee and cream and sugar were restocked daily. We never made it to breakfast because I had read it wasn't worth the money but I peeked at the room where breakfast as served and then in the evening it was a bar and it was very nice, had a great view too. The business center allowed us to print off what we needed from the internet but WiFi was included in the room and worked with no problems. We were close to Carnegie Deli which had great food but not cheap as far as Deli's go. We were in walking distance to Broadway shows. Down the street was a great food truck that made unusual smoothies. The Time Share people called me and attempted to persuade me to attend a tour but once I declined twice they backed off and I never heard from them again. Conceirge was always busy so we never used them but they had maps that were helpful. Everone was great and the room was palatial compared to typical NY hotel rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LmacP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to detail your accommodations and some of the benefits of our location in the heart of Manhattan. We make every effort to provide a home away from home with the benefit of having the best of NYC right at your doorstep. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you’ll visit us again soon at the Manhattan Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Had a message on my home answering machinel from Bridget at The Manhattan Cub. She said that we had entered a drawing and even though she didn't quite have all the results, she did have great news for us and a wonderful offer. Well who could resists this, so of course I called her back. Bridget did get on the phone and then she proceeded to ask questions about our employment, income and assets. After a few minutes she came back and said since our income and assets did not meet their requirements, they would keep us in their files. Okay, I told her, but did we win anything? She said no, and did not mean to mislead us. Okay, then what is the great news and offer you had for us? Then she said nothing at this time and was sorry for bothering us. So basically her message was just a ploy to get us to buy into this vacation sharing place. Fool me once, and once only, but shame on you Manhattan Club, you never even offered me a chance to look at your place. Tavelers beware of places that promote this type of behavior and business.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank J_Jforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

The Manhattan Club has some great things going for it (location, room size), but it also some issues that should be addressed. We booked two nights at the Club via Points with our timeshare and had hoped to extend the stay for one night with cash. Well, that was apparently impossible to do. Though the front desk could confirm that empty rooms were available, they redirected us to the marketing department. At the marketing department, we were told to wait until the morning of checkout and then inquire with the front desk. Well, I certainly didn't want to cancel our reservations elsewhere and hope that the Manhattan Club actually had a room... only to be stuck with no place to sleep on our final night in NYC. I still have NO IDEA how to make a reservation to extend a stay with cash nights at this facility! As a result, we ended up moving to the Hilton Club for our last night in NYC. We had initially considered adding ownership at TMC to our other timeshare ownerships, but with it being so difficult to extend stays with cash (which we frequently do elsewhere), we have decided against this.

Extension issues aside, our room at the Manhattan Club was very comfortable during the day. It was in great condition, clean, and laid out well. Unfortunately, though, we had very LOUD neighbors who returned to their room both nights at 2:30am and then proceeded to yell back and forth to each other. This would continue until about 6am each morning as they each showered (yelling to each other the whole time), watched TV at top volume, yelled to each other over the shows, and finally would call people on the phone. I can only guess they had relatives or friends who lived on the other side of the world since they were phoning at these times. We could hear EVERY word they said through the walls. I finally called security at about 4:30am the second morning and asked that someone come up and tell the neighbors to quiet down. The lack of sleep really did affect our ability to enjoy our time in NYC. It was a great relief when we heard the knock on the door, the guard ask them to quiet down, and then the couple discuss how awful it was that we had called and reported them. Yep, we heard it ALL. But, then they finally did give us some peace.

All in all, we do plan to return to TMC when we travel to NYC in the future... but next time, we will probably bring along some of those earplugs for soundproof sleeping!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveyBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
We look forward to your return and please do not hesitate to contact staff right away should any concerns arise on your next visit. We want all guests to be comfortable so that they able to enjoy the best of New York City and all it has to offer! Thank you for you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

In New York rooms are generally small because real estate it so expensive. So imagine our surprise and pleasure when we were fortunate enought to get a timeshare exchange. at the Manhattan Club, regardless of the size of the room. Then imagine our delight when we found our one bedroom apartment had a sofa bed which made it a 4 person accommodation so had two bathrooms. As there was only the 2 of us this meant we had a bathroom each!. We had a kitchenette with microwave, coffee maker, firdge and dishwasher plus our rooms were serviced dail. We also had access to gym, large louge with bar which operated form 4.30pm and business centre where printing of documents was free. Also free interent wifi throughout the building. There are more positives I could add from our perspective but realise that I am now prejudiced! Great value, great service and I would go back anyday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
It’s really touching how you describe your surprise and fortune to stay at the Manhattan Club. Everyone here is sincerely flattered by your kind words and we hope you’ll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Property: The Manhattan Club
Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing