We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location location”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #324 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed twice now at this Hotel, once on business and another time with family of 4. This hotel is priced very competitively considering it's location is just minutes away from Times squire and Central Park, although the hotel decor looks tied and good do with a revamp, don't let that put you off. Great location, and great price. Greek restaurant below is also worth a visit if you like Mediterranean food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skimpyAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,924)
There are newer reviews for Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,973 - 1,979 of 6,924 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed here recently as part of a group trip. Our group (a theatre school group from the Western US) was primarily in NYC so that we could experience Broadway, etc. The location of the Wellington was ideal. We also really appreciated that we could have breakfast in our room since the room had a fridge and Electric Kettle. Room size was surprisingly large for NYC. Plenty of elevator space. Shower took a while to warm up but then had great water pressure. Shower liner was too short for our tub so we ended up flooding the floor pretty regularly - oops.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Before setting off for New York I contacted the hotel to see if we could get a room on a higher floor to avoid some of the street noise. Whilst they didn't promise anything when we arrived we found we had a room on the 27th floor! The views from the room were great.
The room was clean and tidy, room service was good although the blind we reported as faulty was never fixed.
The hotelnis in an excellent location, just 10 minutes walk from Times Square in one direction and 5 minutes from Central Park in the other.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

My mom and I stayed at the Wellington for 7 nights, in the oldest part of the hotel. There are stairs that you must use to get to the old elevators. The both elevators had issues, sometimes the door would not open once you were at your floor - we were told to push the alarm button and the floor number button and sure enough the door opened. A lady riding the elevator with us started to panic and because there was not a fan circulating air it was a little warm. An electrical breaker blew in our room because of the blow dryer and a/c on the same circuit - the maintenance fellow was speedy at fixing it and blamed it on old wiring. The walls surrounding electrical outlets were very soft (moisture), plugging in anything caused the outlet to move. The bedding and towels were very clean, the carpet was stained, dust bunnies along the baseboards - could have been cleaner, room smelled old also, sheer curtains were filthy. I don't think I would stay there again as Wifi was not included and we had to upgrade to a king bed from a double for $20.00 per night.

Room Tip: Book the highest floor possible as street noise is constant. We stayed on the 12th floor on the bac...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Having seen a few other comments about noise, we asked for and got a room on the 20th floor. Our room was actually a 2 bedroom 'suite' with 2 bathrooms (a very welcome bonus we hadn't expected). The rooms were very clean and with comfy beds. As someone else mentioned, the hotel is being renovated and work was being done on our floor whilst we were there but we didn't find this intrusive. Our bathrooms were modern-looking so we probably had one of the newly renovated rooms.

Location couldn't be better - one block from Broadway, with a subway outside the door and Central Park 5 minutes walk away it was perfect for getting around. Times Square was a few blocks walk down 7th Ave, near enough to get to the centre of things quickly but far enough away from the noise.

Plenty of places to get breakfast and dinner close by - and the best coffee stand in New York right across the road on the corner of 55th St! We would book again if we go back to New York

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 88JOW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Little dated but that added character to the place was clean and tidy and definitely no construction going none that we could see . Fantastic location very close to Central Park, five minute walk to Times Square Broadway not far either,subways very close too ,an excellent base to stay at due to location being close to many iconic attractions would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Location is excellent, quality of accommodation is excellent, staff very helpful. I was staying as a single, but had a separate sitting room with additional sleeping facilities (I didn't use it). Not much of a view: this didn't matter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,728 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,479 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#350 of 468 in New York City
18,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,173 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#222 of 468 in New York City
4,919 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 468 in New York City
5,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $147 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing