We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
East Moline, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I spent the weekend in Manhattan with a friend and was very pleased with the location of this hotel. It is located close to Central Park, next to Carnegie Hall, and on the same avenue as Times Square. We used the Greyline Hop on Hop Off tours that picked up and dropped off nearby. The rooms are small but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very small, but I am told that is not unusual for New York City. The staff was very friendly and there is Greek restaurant in the building. There is also a very nice diner in the building where we ate breakfast. The only complaint is a rattle in the bathroom pipes every morning, I didn't need an alarm clock! We will most likely stay at the Wellington on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    2,789
    1,681
    590
    380
See reviews for
1,686
2,394
331
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great hotel, with wonderful location, near everything that matters. Price is fair and facilities include comfortable room, great bathroom and fast internet connection. Definetely would recommend. Although I stayed there before I had my child, my memory is that room was comfortable enough to have a crib.

Room Tip: No need to pay for breakfast. Nearby restaurants are much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giselle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed there over spring break with a group of teachers. The rooms are small but clean. My roommate asked me if I heard the construction going on outside at 12 am and I didn't, slept through all that noise. No noisy neighbors overall pretty quiet inside the hotel. The bell hop to room service excellent. Room was cleaned daily. It is located in the middle of everything you need to explore from walking, subway access and taxi service. It

Room Tip: There is some clanging of the pipes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracemae59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Came to NYC to get married and chose the Hotel Wellington based on its location. We had read the reviews and read the rooms were small. That is an understatement. The bathrooms are so small you have to squeeze between the toilet and sink to get in the tub.
Next, the cable/satellite was poor. It's sad when you're in a restaurant and the television service is so poor you can barely make out the station.
But, worst of all, customer service. The night we were married we went back to our hotel room with a bottle of champagne. We had to ask for an ice bucket because they didn't have one in the room. We only had one glass, went down to get one and was told house keeping would bring them. They did. But, after pouring champagne in the glasses we had a knock on the door! It was house keeping demanding we give the glasses back!!!! She told us, "you need to give them back". Seriously?!?! I ended up closing the door on her. Called down to the front desk and got "Jim" the manager. He did apologize but then said, "this is so stupid it's funny". I said, no. We just got married! He told me to have a nice night. I said, after that? You kinda ruined it! No apology. Nothing. Will never stay there again. Ever!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valhorsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very pleasantly surprised with Wellington!
Location could not be beat. Halfway between Times Square and Central Park. PERFECT!
Room was average for NYC, small, but clean and comfortable.
Staff was excellent.

I would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in great location every where close to the park,times square,FAO,restaurants etc.Wellington has a huge rooms for families but unfortunately with broken furnitures,very dirty and terribly dirty windows.Some of the Concierge stuff are very rude (count his tips earn for the whole day in front of hotel guests)and not helpful with the language despite plenty of stairs.I booked my stay with Expedia and the photos were much nicer than is in real.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haidik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just returned from 5 days sightseeing in New York and our first trip to the USA.
We had been recommended a suite and this was perfect considering we had 2 teenage daughters to consider. Clean rooms,comfy beds and maid service was excellent. Concierge was great fun and saved us loads of time with his advice.
Heating pipes gave a knocking noise which needs sorting out as it could drive you batty because it goes on even if you turn the radiator off. I knew it was the same because you could hear the same noise in the staircase. Glad my earplugs are always packed for such cases. Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MGA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,839 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,509 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,788 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,119 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing