We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location. Recommend.”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Aghadowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location. Recommend.”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Brilliant location - so central to everything. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.
However MASSIVE downside - My room was roasting hot! I rang down to reception and they sent up an engineer who told us that if we turned off the heat we would be frozen and to just open the windows. We done this and we couldn't sleep due to the heat. The next day we asked for the heat to be shut off in our room, and they obliged. However it took until 3 days later until we could actually sleep in the room because the heat was still there!! Baring in mind, there was snow outside and it was in the minus numbers temperature wise, it was too extreme!

The décor is quite dated, but it was kept clean.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to have a central location in New York City, however as previously noted, I had problems with the heating but that could have just been me!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerysfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    2,821
    1,696
    600
    381
See reviews for
1,710
2,412
335
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and renewed, the staff is gentle and it has a various commerce around. Subway at the door. Near the Central Park and 8 blocks away from Times Square and 5 or 6 from the theaters. I loved to stay there. Even during the coldest days we didn't have a problem to go out. If the rate is good, go without worries.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaJahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel is in such a great location.you can walk everywhere .........Time Square one way and Central Park the other.........clean and compact and great value for money......All the staff were so friendly and helpful.....and that was not because they were chasing the $$$$$

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrscBekshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Wellington hotel has a great location which I love because it is very close to everything, the room was ok, the bathrooms' temperature was so cold, the heater was noisy, it woke me up time after time, the service is bad, I dropped something on the floor and it ran all the way under the bed, it is so dirty with some napkins, coins, cotton buds and hair, the bath towels were filled with long hair from the room attendant who cleans the room, they don't help you with airport shuttle, I went to tell one of the receptionist about our shuttle bus and she answered "we are not affiliated with them so you better call them" isn't that nice? Wifi is not free. We took the elevator and one of the employee were inside, when we come out from the elevator the employee came out first without letting us going out first and this happened 3 times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed in this hotel from 28th December to 4th January for my birthday. Me and my partner stayed at the Park Central last year which is opposite to the Wellington and the Wellington won hands down, it was actually better than we both expected.

I booked a standard double room by the way.

Upon arrival I was greeted with a birthday gift which I never got last year at the Park Central and checking in was very quick. We were based on the 27th floor and the room was magnificent, I mean it was an apartment. We had a kitchen, sofa and an excellent and very comfortable king size bed..SUPERB.. We were on the 27th floor, it was quiet and we had a good view of the surrounding area through our kitchen... We also had a balcony which was awesome but couldn't use as the door was locked but still.

Staff were great and helpful and so were the cleaners who were always willing to help wherever they could to get us extra towels. Larger towels would be good idea!!!!

All in all we were very happy with our stay and would book again this year should we decide to visit in December!!!

Room Tip: request a high floor to escape noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jermaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

never ever stay there its dangerous, the moment i stepped in the room i noticed that the heater is broken and its parts is falling over the room and it was hot like an oven, anyway i called the maintenance and they said they cant fix it and the heater cant be controlled, the bath-room is really dirty its like a sewage tunnel, there is no hygiene in this hotel and everything is either broken or dirty

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Abdulrahman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Wollongbar, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed at the wellington for 4 days in Jan 2014,Staff not very helpful,rooms small and stuffy and the banging noise from the heaters is unbearable,we got free internet but it only worked in certain areas of the room,housekeeping was good,location to Time Square and Central Park was good.Would not stay there again until they fix their heaters.Very old Hotel and rooms,needs an upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,984 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,057 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,862 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#304 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,235 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing