We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #325 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at the Wellington for 4 nights in January 2014, Before I visited I emailed the hotel beforehand with some of the suggestions from other trip advisor reviews and I requested a higher floor in a renovated room with a view out onto 7th Avenue. When I arrived I got everything I requested, checking in was very easy and quick. There was a slight delay waiting for an elevator as the lobby was very busy.

Got to our room and although it was a little small it was plenty big enough for the amount of time we would spend in the room. The room was on the 19th floor and was clean.

The hotel is well located and about 3 blocks from central park and 5 minutes walk from time square. There is a subway station entrance next to the hotel, there is a Starbucks across the street and also Carnegie Deli and an number of other restaurants and delis close by.

The only complaint I have from my stay was the heating system, we turned it off completely but it was still operating through the night so the room was extremely hot.

All the staff I found to be very helpful and the bellboys are very knowledgeable and will answer any of your questions for you.

As and when I return to New York I would happily return to the Wellington as it ticked all the boxes I required.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chez2165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    2,755
    1,668
    588
    378
See reviews for
1,663
2,375
327
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Wellington Hotel while we were in NYC to get married. Since it was our marriage, we splurged and reserved a two-room suite with kitchenette. The room was adequate in size, storage and amenities, but that's pretty much were the great stops.
- The security chain on the door was detached from the door frame, rendering it useless (the only lock besides the key card).
- The decor and kitchen cabinetry were in serious need of updating.
- The sofa cushions were slightly torn until you removed them to open the sofa bed and realized that the other sides of them were basically shredded.
- The cabinets in the kitchenette were full of random plastic shopping bags, plastic wear, and napkins from previous guests.
- Even though we got a kitchenette, be prepared to bring your on utensils, dishes, etc. We have stayed in suites with Kitchenettes and we are used to those being supplied with a couple of spoons, forks, knives, a couple of cups and a plate or two, this had nothing but a coffee pot and a water boiler.
- The freezer in the mini-fridge was in desperate need of defrosting and contains napkins from a previous guest.
- The hallways were always (day and night) littered with the house-keepings' carts of towels (unsure if new of used, just piles of towels) and used linens carts.
- The thermostats seemed to be for decoration only because if we put on the heat, we'd get heat, if we put on air, we'd get heat, if we turned it off, we'd get heat. Everynight was spent sleeping with the windows open listening to the as so somber inducing sounds of NYC or roast. - The service was just mediocre at best, nothing stood out as exceptional with the staff.

The price was great for NYC, but you'd might be better off staying someplace else for a few dollars more.

Room Tip: While there, we had a suite and my mother-in-law reserved a double. If you do plan on staying here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsecho24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was my 2nd trip to New York and I had a great time. The hotel is really well placed, it's a stone's throw from Central Park and Times Square. I travelled with a friend and we were firstly placed in a very small room with 2 tiny beds, this was down to our trvael agents not the hotel but the hotel moved us to a deluxe double double which had been refurbished by the looks of it and I could not find one thing to complain about. The hotel were really good about everything. They helped book our tours, shopping expeditions, taxi's and much more.
Really helpful staff and a really nice hotel to stay in. I really enjoyed relaxing after a day's heavy shopping before going back out for New York at night! I'm hoping to head back at the end of Feb 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danlawsonafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had an amazing holiday in new york and the best of all was the Wellington Hotel.
Once you walked outside on one side was times square and on the other side was central park. Brilliant hotel located in the best part of new york city. Brilliant staff really friendly and will definitely stay here when I go back to new york city. Would definitely recommend this hotel for people going to new york on a holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aisling1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We recently had a fantastic 4 day/3 night break in New York at The Wellington Hotel at the beginning of December. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, go out the front door and turn left and you are in Times Square in approx x10 minutes, turn right and you are in Central Park in approx x5 minutes. The room itself was very very small, a little shabby in places, but very clean, water pressure in the shower fasntastic. I would describe the hotel as faded glamour, but the staff are great, very welcoming and a font of all knowledge. The location however, is fantastic. When we arrived mid afternoon, we literally checked in, dropped our bags and went exploring. Walked to Times Square and bought a hop-on/hop-off bus ticket and that immediately jumped on the bus for the night tour which took us our of Manhatten and across the bridge looking back at the night time skyline of New York was truly amazing. It also helped us get our bearings as to where we where and where everything else was! The ticket from the red bus city tours was approx $44 per person and covered us for the entire duration of our stay. There are four tours chose from downtown, midtown, uptown and the night tour. Downtown takes you to Wall street, Bloomingdales, Staten Island ferry and the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island, 9/11 memorial site, Empire State Building etc etc.

You are spolit for choice by the sheer number of restaurants and diners around the hotel. We ended up eating breakfast each day at the Park Cafe which is attached to the hotel. Fast moving, great customer service and good value for money. We ended up eating breakfast here each day and didn't need to eat again until the evening. Their pancakes with maple syrup and bacon are well recommended! Expect to tip. We ended up eating here one evening too and my husband's steak was on a plate on its own with the fries and vegetables served on a separate plate as there wasn't room! Even if you have to queue (as it is very popular) you don't have to wait very long for a table.

The subway is only x2 minutes from the hotel too if you want to branch further out. Century 21 near the 9/11 site is an outlet store where you will find all your brand name bargains.

My husband surprised me with a horse drawn carriage ride through Central Park, which was over way too quickly.

We took the subway to find Serendipity 3 for frozen hot chocolate and found Macy's too.

The christmas lights on Fifth Avenue were simply amazing, as was the huge Christmas tree outside of the Rockafella centre.

As a tip, pre-book your airport transfers to your hotel in advance. We booked ours through British Airways and it made our trip very easy. We just walked down to the arrivals hall, found the Go Airlink desk for the bus and we were on our way within x10 minutes. We also pre-booked our trip back to the airport at the end of our stay. The mini bus shuttle took approx an hour to get to our hotel (but this can vary, depending on the number of stops it makes), price was reasonable and a lot cheaper than one couple staying at our hotel who ended up paying $100 for a yellow cab ride from the airport to the hotel!

All in all, it was an amazing trip and we will definately stay at The Wellington again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ali_and_TheGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed with my sister for 8 days over New Year's and were mostly pleased with the experience.
The bellboys are brilliant. If you have any issues, go to them. Reception staff are untrained and useless. Don't take any of their advice.
Our room was not ready at the time they asked us to come back, so we insisted on another, which we got,on a higher floor. The temperature is set too high, so we had the window open at all times, even when the snow storm hit in January, but this seems to be a New York thing. We found the shops to be stiflingly hot and we're from Queensland! Maids are fabulous and keep the room very clean.
Decor is just lovely. Lobby was beautifully decorated for the season.
Do not bother with the included, set breakfast, unless you like American home fries, deep fried bacon and sugary bread. Eat at the diner, but pay to choose your own meal.
Greek restaurant attached is a great place to have a meal or just stop by for a cocktail. There are plenty of diners, deli's and restaurants nearby, including the original "No soup for you!" soup man.
Proximity to subway - walk out the side entrance and there it is! - is great. We purchased an unlimited 7 day metro pass and this station will get you anywhere you wish to go.
It's a few blocks south of Central Park and a few blocks north of Times Square, a good location.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the south side offer a view downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

As everybody says the location of this hotel is fantastic. You cannot beat walking up the stairs from the subway and your hotel door is right there.

The room we were allocated was tiny, OK you book and pay for a double when in reality at home you sleep in a kingsize bed so it was a bit of a shock to be greeted with a double...straight away wondering how we are going to actually sleep in this bed. The dressing table is so close to the bed that I have bruises on my leg from catching it when trying to pass through. The tiniest closet and bathroom. The room was so dark (I know a lot of NYC rooms are dark due to the tall buildings) however the window wasn't ample to shed any light on the room. In fairness I did not give the hotel an opportunity to rectify this as we arrived 2.00am I couldn't be bothered.

The cafe attached to the hotel serves a very nice breakfast however you do feel rushed to eat up and leave. We ate there one night when walking more was out of the question and had Rib eye steak which was out of this world.

We ate in Molyvos the greek restaurant attached to the hotel and the food again was delicious.

I found the reception staff to be more than helpful and even booked a helicopter ride for us.
Also the Bell "boy" ordered us a private taxi to go home.

In essence I wouldn't stay here again due to the room size when you can get better rooms a street or block away for the same price offering much better rooms.

If you have any questions I would be more than happy to answer (if I know the answer)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn22Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,703 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,788 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,685 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing