We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wellington Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$195
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$336
$281
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Parker New York(New York City)
$415
$403
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$295
$234
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$689
$617
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown(New York City)(Great Value!)
$228
$197
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$168
$140
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (7,302)
Filter reviews
7,302 results
Traveler rating
1,381
3,039
1,823
640
419
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,381
3,039
1,823
640
419
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark cafecentral parktimes squarenew yorkgreat locationcarnegie hallsubway stationan older hotelbit datedfew blockshotel roomupgraded to a suitestatue of libertyrockefeller centerbig applestreet noiseavenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,890 - 2,895 of 7,302 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed there for business for a whole week. The hotel is always very busy. In summary it has small rooms that haven't been renovated in a long time. Very simple sheets and towels. Dirty blanket (full of dust). Basic services. Good location is the only upside.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't put you on a smoking room. I just realized that after checking in. I complained but they said the hotel was full and they could only switch rooms the next day (think about the smells of smoking in a very small room full of carpets).
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauricio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Easy transfer from JFK via shared shuttle service, prebooked but no need. Hotel were ready for us and quick check in, great room, clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast at local café across the road was the best value for money and great experience being amongst the locals as the got their breakfast. The location is great for all attractions, we walked the whole length of Manhatten as the tube is not very easy to decipher and did not want to miss anything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loftie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked 3 nights at this hotel for two of us. Firstly service at the reception desk was painfully slow to check in. When we got to our room, we were pretty well horrified. Absolutely tiny - I know this is New York, but this was even in comparison to the other hotels we'd stayed in that week for the same price. Blind on the window wouldn't open, just as well since the view was of a wall. Both of the curtains were different lengths and the runners didn't meet so they wouldn't fully close. Air con unit was spectacularly loud. Oh, and to cap it off there were a few long black hairs in the bed, which didn't look very clean.
Needless to say we complained and were moved to a king room - for an extra charge, for the following nights. Also nothing to write home about and service when we did complain was uncaring to say the least. My 3 times repeated comment that we didn't need a porter as we were in a hurry was ignored.
Lift wait times in the morning were up to 20 minutes. Didn't try the food, needless to say.
We will not be going back - the only reason this got a 2 is because its so near Central Park.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerryad876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Location was excellent and our particular room size was good, but the website photos were far from reality! I can honestly say that this is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. The rooms were below adequate. There was construction going on all around us and we were placed at the end of a very narrow hallway and had to walk through "WET PAINT" and workers daily. The accommodations were poor - pillows, sheets, bedding, etc. were very substandard and there were terrible holes in the flooring that were covered up by yucky carpet. The only positive to the room was excellent water pressure in the shower! I don't know what our room rate was per night as the school would not divulgle that information, but with 4 people to a room, it should not have been much. Our school has been staying at this property for several years now...previous parents had forewarned about this property but the school kept going back... Unless you just really don't care where you rest your head, I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at photos posted by guests that have stayed on property. The website photos are very misleading...if part of the hotel looks like that, we definitely did not get put there!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Easy transfer from the airport using public transportation. The subway station is 15 steps from side entrance. Jennifer at the front desk was very attentive and professional. She spoke to us each day. Places to eat are close by. Breakfast across the street every morning was good, fast and reasonable. This hotel has several tour operators. That is not a problem, but mornings at the elevator may take a few minutes, be patient. I will be here again. By NYC standards, great buy with very personable staff.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay more than 3 days buy a metro pass and get a subway map. The city is literally at your door step !!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 500SHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews