We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not a 3 star Hotel”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #330 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 8, 2013

3 star hotel probably not, but you can't beat the location; it's only blocks from Central Park, Times Square, Rockefeller Center and Fifth Avenue. This is a grand hotel that has seen its better days, but I have stayed in less elegant and more expensive hotels. The rooms are small but average for NYC. The price could be lower but you are in New York City where everything is expensive. My room was clean, yet simple, the staff was friendly and service was average but bear in mind you are in the world's greatest city so who stays in their room with so much to see and do. For the price and location it's a bargain. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hot4jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,764 - 2,770 of 7,073 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff are helpful, very good location close to all actions in NYC. Some rooms are not that renovated yet. We initially booked a standard room and it was too tight to move around with an infant. We upgraded to double room which is almost twice the size of the standard room and the room is quite nice and renovated for few more bucks. Was best decision to we made to make our stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donamisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I made a reservation for three nights and stayed for two, it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. No heating in the room, on a very cold New York. Moreover, the AC unit in the room did not fit evenly into the hole bellow the window where it was placed, therefore there was a freezing draft of cold air coming from outside, I was on the 20th floor so the wind is strong. The room was freezing, when I complained, the hotel manager on duty was extreemely rude and indicated that there was nothing he could do and that I could leave if I wanted, it was midnight by then!!!!! The bad things did not end, once in the room again there were strange noices coming from the wall, which sounded like mice runing around and scratching the wall from the other side. There was no real water preasure for the shower in floor 20th and the room was dusty and not very well cleaned. the towels were old and in bad condition as well as the brownish sheets on the bed. I would never spend one minute in that hotel again. I am a frequent traveler but i have never seen something as bad as this hotel and a manager as rude as the one that gave me as the only alternative to leave the hotel at midnight!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family took two rooms at the Wellington, both were comfortable with nice bathrooms. Beds were made daily, clean towels and sheets. The wonderful lobby with Art Deco fittings, amazing mirror and chandelier.
Friendly bus boys were very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have just returned from a 5 night trip to NYC and stayed at the Wellington Hotel. Ideal location, 5 mins walk from Central Park, and just a bit of a longer walk to Times Square. Yes the hotel is dated, but clean. Lifts are old, we actually got stuck between floors, and as they are tiny that was a bit of a hair raising moment! The lifts are also used by the cleaners and one morning I had to queue for ages as they loaded their linen trollies. Ive never seen this in a hotel before? I stayed in a double room with my daughter, and had a massive queen size bed, which was one of the comfiest I have ever had. It did get too hot and the old radiators could not be turned off so the window was opened and shut all night which is not good. My three other friends stayed in a suite but this was just a double bed, and a pull down bed in the front room. Other than that there was a fridge and a sink. Nothing else. BUT because we were hardly in the rooms, it was ideal, everything nearly on the doorstep andI would recommend this hotel if used for that purpose.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel is better and although they overlook windows, its so very quiet. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzeBYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stay at the Wellington in September 2012
With my family 6 adults and 1 baby
Hotel was in excellent location lots of shops and cafes near by to get your breakfast every day
Although as a whole New York is not baby friendly
A lot of cafes and restaurants would not warm up my baby's food
Which was hard
But apart from that excellent holiday
The view from our bedroom was amazing and at night was lovely

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveagoodholidayido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were two musicians staying at The Wellington 6 nights now in April. We chose this hotel because its next door to Carnegie Hall where we were playing. We had a double room with two queen beds and an amazing view from the 24th floor over 7th Ave and Times Square. The room was not the biggest, but was clean and had kitchenette which was great. We experienced good service all over, from the bell man to the cleaning ladies. The hotel is very big and full all the time it seemed, but it was actually quiet, which we appreciated. We never tried the restaurant. The location is ideal if you are there for sightseeing or work in Manhattan. Right next to Central Park it was perfect for a morning walk in the park. I agree with some previous reviews that the decor seem outdated, but I think as long as its clean it doesn't bother me. We booked and prepaid via the hotel's own website, and then we received fre WiFi for the whole week.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,924 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,818 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,015 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,396 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $100 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing