We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

After reading some reviews on here about this hotel we weren't sure what to expect. We booked this holiday for my birthday but on a budget so we had more spending money for the trip so wasn't expecting the ritz just a nice clean hotel and that's what we got.

We arrived about 2.30pm and were greeted at the door by the Porters who took our bags and showed us to reception, we were checked in quickly and hassle free then taken straight to our room. Yes the room wasn't the biggest but was big enough for our needs to sleep and get ready in. We stayed on the 23rd floor it was a bit noisy at night but we were staying on 7th Ave so what would you expect? The rooms were cleaned daily.

As far as the location of this hotel, it is perfect couldn't ask for better, 5 mins to Central Park, 10 mins to Times Square. You really do have everything within walking distance, good subway access for attractions further afield as well as options like the hop on hop off bus and off course plenty yellow cabs.

If I had to say any negative the only point I have was that the safety deposit boxes are stored in reception personally we prefer it in our room were we can access whenever sometimes had to wait at reception to access it, nothing major though.

I wouldn't hesitate about booking The Wellington Hotel again, for us New York is about being out and about seeing the sites enjoying the attractions so if that's you and you want a nice friendly clean hotel in perfect location then you will be happy with your stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katie_mark_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    2,789
    1,681
    590
    380
See reviews for
1,686
2,394
331
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a fantastic 4 days in NYC .. The Wellington Hotel is in an ideal location on 7th ave with Central Park to the right and Times Square to the left ...We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel with the exception of the World Trade Centre and Battery Park... We took subway E which took us straight downtown from just up the street from our Hotel .. Our hotel room,1542, looked out onto 7th ave and was so cosy to come back to with all the cold snowy weather .. There is a pub just up the street towards Times Square called Tonic which serves great food and great value for money .. Starbucks directly across the street serving great lattes which my hubby swears by !! Broadway for Phantom of the Opera, the Empire State Building , Trump towers , Grand Central Station, New York City Library, the wonderful Times Square, Fifth and Park Ave shopping , you name it all within walking distance .... The subway downtown took us to 911 memorial at the world trade centre , ferry to Empire State Building & Ellis island ... Although couldn't get to see them this time round coz Sandy did some damage !! And the Brooklyn Bridge is a sight to behold ... To sum up the Wellington ... Location , Location, Location !!!!!! :-) thank you Wellington :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyRacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked a suite for 4 adults at this hotel for my mums 60th and i must admit i was dreading arriving having read some of the reviews on here. I never usually pay much attention but with some of the pics i was worried.

No need to be worried! Arrived an hour before check-in time but got our room straight away. People on the front desk weren't all disney smiles but were helpful and answered all our questions. Yes this hotel is dated. Some of the rooms have been refurbed but ours hadn't. We were on the 12th floor on 7th avenue side, double bed and double sofa bed in the 'living room' and a double bed in the bedroom. The room was very clean and comfortable. Thats all i wanted so i was happy.

Bathroom was small but again clean and did its job. Nothing more to say really.

The room was EXTREMELY hot, even with the windows as open as we could get them. The radiators belted out heat all night. We were in NYC the weekend of the bad snow storm and even then with the windows open you cant get rid of the heat. Only negative things about the place really. The aircon works well but as it says in previous reviews its waaaay too loud to have on at night.

Even up on the 12th floor the noise from the street woke us up sometimes but it wasnt all the time.

All in all i was really pleased with this hotel. The location was fantastic. 5 minutes up 7th ave and you were at central park, 10 minutes down and in Times Square. If you want luxury and mod cons dont book here. If you want somewhere thats clean, comfortable and in an amazing location for an amazing price (we paid £560 per person for 5 nights including flight) then this is your place.

If you get a cab to JFK or Newark DO NOT get it from the hotel. If you do make sure you haggle the price. Our price to Newark started off at $130 but got them down to $90. Im sure it may have been cheaper to hail a cab but with all the snow we just booked it through the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if possible as im sure it reduces the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejames0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are going on holiday to:-

a) scrutinize the grout and silicon in your bathroom
b) expect to do the hokey cokey in your bedroom
c) be surprised when each employee does not have 20 minutes spare to chat with you
d) see the hanging gardens of Babylon from your window
e) inspect the light fittings and mirrors to see if they are tarnished
f) be concerned if not every light bulb works and there are any loose drawer/wardrobe knobs
g) pay $17 for your fringe trimming in the hotel hairdressers

then the Wellington Hotel is NOT for you

HOWEVER

if you have gone on holiday for:-

a) large comfy beds
b) plump pillows that ensure a good night's sleep
c) plentiful hot water
d) a power shower strong enough to blow moss off your driveway
e) polite staff who will do whatever they can to help
f) sufficient storage (just!)
g) the most amazing location
h) a lovely diner under the hotel which is very popular and reasonably priced
i) the best ever location
j) to see Central Park from some of the bedrooms
k) oh and did I mention how central this was !!

then you must ABSOLUTELY book the Wellington Hotel

My husband and I have just spent 9 nights in this hotel in room 1736 on the 17th floor overlooking 7th Avenue with Central Park to the right and Times Square to the left. Apart from the freezing weather we had an amazing holiday.

If you want to save money take the Skytrain and subway from the airport. We paid $70 in our ignorance on arrival, from airport to the hotel (including tip). What you need to do is follow signs for the Skytrain from whichever JFK terminal you land in. It is a circular route with a fixed $5 fare. Get off at Jamaica Centre Station and head for the blue line subway. Take the letter E train and get off at 7th Avenue (53rd Street) there is either a tannoy or a digital display showing the route/next stop just like in London - it is a fixed one way fare of $2.50. Exit the subway on foot via 7th Avenue/53rd Street NE exit not NW. When you get to the street turn right and walked up two street and you are outside the Wellington - easy and only $7.50 per person.

Check my other reviews on New York. I hope this review has helped, please email me at vickie@bullough.org.uk if you have any questions and I will try and answer them :-)

Enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vbullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel to stay in NYC great location rooms nice and clean staff were amazing brilliant hotel for what you pay for,
The only thing is you have to pay for wifi or go across the road to Starbucks. Over all BRILLIANT HOTEL

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wellington Hotel is situated well close to Central Park for the morning run. Our room was very small and needed renovation, but it was clean except for some undies we found under a chest of drawers. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great hotel in a great location. We wanted something reasonably priced for somewhere to put our head down at night after a busy day.
Rooms were really tidy and cleaners came in every day keeping it to a great standard.
Great location, 2 minutes to the left is times square, 2 minutes to right is central park. Many places to eat including a cafe and restaurant literally downstairs.
If i planned another trip to manhattan this hotel will be top of the list.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,840 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,510 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,789 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,119 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing