We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff no problems” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #326 of 467 Hotels in New York City
North Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff no problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is in a great location with a wonderful staff. Check in was a breeze. I was given complimentary upgrades because I asked, and they could. I wish I could remember all the staff's names but I can only remember Andy. He was quick to take our luggage off our hands and get us to our room. The room was a touch dated but very clean. I would definately recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    2,755
    1,668
    588
    377
See reviews for
1,663
2,373
327
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just needed a place for one night in NY and booked this hotel on their web site due to the fact that this was about 50 USD cheaper than other 3 stars in the similar location and they also promised free Wi-Fi for booking at the hotel website. What a mistake!!! Check in, check out was very slow with some people behind the counter doing something instead of helping long line of clients. Room they gave me was actually hudge. Some kind of two-rooms suite with a bed in both rooms, two TV's and coach with small desk in one. But it felt like it is 100 years old and DIRTY. I was actually afraid to seat on anything or even put my staff on the coach so unclean it felt. To top this up it was no heat at all in both rooms when I moved in (not suprisengly as the heaters they have should be consider an antic by now). It took two hours and two calls to get someone to the room to finally fix it. Bed was extremly uncomfortable and I had a headache all next day. May be from the bed? Or may be from these heaters? And this free Wi-Fi :))). It worked on its own schedule, total for two hours total during the stay. Few calls to "support" did not change anything. I was told that they know about the problem and are trying to fix it. They were still on it, 20 hours later when I was checking out. Well, location was great...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Wellington Hotel is an affordable and comfortable hotel in Mid-Town New York. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms good with plenty of hot water. I have found no evidence of bed bugs, having stayed there 3 times in the last year. The hotel is well located next to a subway station. The staff are helpful and pleasant. My only two criticisms are that there is no free Wi-Fi (although it is available at the Starbucks across the road) and there is no in room safe for storage of valuables. These aside, the Wellington is a great place to stay in New York.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnW10255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is a 3* so don't expect all the bells and whistles - but it's clean and extremely well located - what more could you ask for? After all, you'll only be sleeping there!! I would recommend that if you're there for more than a few days, if you can afford to get at least a Queen sized double (rather than a standard double) you should, because the rooms are fairly small and you won't have anywhere to put your suitcase!! We were there 5 nights (on another note, I would say that one downside of this hotel is the 3-day cancellation policy - we were delayed by two days for two different reasons through no fault of our own, but as we didn't know on both occasions until the day before, we still had to pay for the room, which is a fairly hefty whack!!) and the room was comfortable for that length of time. We were on the 17th floor as I had requested a quiet room. It wasn't too bad noise-wise - well I suppose it's in the middle of NYC! I did use earplugs too though - taxis seem to like blowing their horns for no reason... Very close to the subways, including the E-train from JFK. Don't bother with the hotel breakfast - although it's very nice (we had it one morning), you can get nicer and much cheaper just a block away at Fluffy's. Very close to both Central Park (and so not too far from the Met, if you don't mind a reasonable walk), and Times Square (Broadway) as well as 5th Avenue and all the expensive shops, we were able to walk most places we wanted to go. Tip if you're using the subway - up to 4 people can travel on one metro card, and it works out a bit cheaper if you do that rather than buying separately. I would recommend the Wellington. Oh, one final thing - if you book online, you get free wifi. Do this if you can as it's otherwise another expense and although we knew NY would be expensive, it was even more so than we expected...

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter - there are 27 floors in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

After a long and exhausting flight to New York we were shown to our room at the Wellington. The room wasn't what hey promised in the brochure but being tired we spent the first night there. After contacting the reception the next morning to complain about the type of room they put us in they provided a nice suite with kitchenette, sitting room and seperate bedroom in another part of the hotel. This room was very spacious, clean and noise free. Very good location to explore this beautifull city. Situated nearby Central Park and Times Square. More than enough good bars and restaurants nearby when you want to spent an evening nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmielMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is placed very good for Subway, near Fifth Avenue, Timne Square and Central Park. The room are confortable but the first we get was dirty. They change it with a renewed one very noisy. A this point I didn't want to change for one night again (it was just after Sandy) and we stayed there. My impression is that the level of rooms are very different. The door of the room were on both cases not "safe".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good hotel in a fantastic location. Down the road from Times Square and a few blocks from Central Park. The Subway is close by but I ended up walking the length of Manhattan anyway. Used the Subway for time saving later. Staff are very efficient. The concierge flagged a yellow cab for me one night when I had to go to Dangerfields using a ticket I bought from a guy in Times Square by chance. Asked the concierge what they were filming in the next block. He said it was a Robert de Niro movie. Turned out to be New Year's Eve. Had to walk by them everyday since they set up. Amusing! The hotel was great but my room didn't have the best view but I'm not too bothered about that. I would definitely stay here again. Stayed here March/April 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Akerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,694 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,732 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,697 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,675 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing