We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #324 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good hotel in a fantastic location. Down the road from Times Square and a few blocks from Central Park. The Subway is close by but I ended up walking the length of Manhattan anyway. Used the Subway for time saving later. Staff are very efficient. The concierge flagged a yellow cab for me one night when I had to go to Dangerfields using a ticket I bought from a guy in Times Square by chance. Asked the concierge what they were filming in the next block. He said it was a Robert de Niro movie. Turned out to be New Year's Eve. Had to walk by them everyday since they set up. Amusing! The hotel was great but my room didn't have the best view but I'm not too bothered about that. I would definitely stay here again. Stayed here March/April 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Akerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,249
    2,835
    1,709
    602
    384
See reviews for
1,730
2,423
335
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Loved this hotel, it is in a perfect location, only a few minutes walk from Times Square and not far from Central Park! The subway is also right on the corner as well. We were given a free upgrade to a tower room with a large balcony as well as free wifi! It is not the fanciest hotel but it was clean, the service was good and our room was of a decent size and also had a mini room with a kitchen sink and fridge! The bathroom was small but for this sort of location in New York we were very happy with it and would definately stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkstarz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed @ the Wellington 11/2 - 11/7. We enjoyed our stay. We asked for a renovated room and they upgraded us from a double room to a queen free of charge..nice touch. The location is amazing the side door is only steps away from a subway entry. The room & bathroom were small but had everything we needed...iron & board , flat screen TV , shampoo ,soap & lotion . The walls & floor in the bathroom were spotless. There were more electrical outlets than I have seen in a hotel..very nice!!! There is lots of street noise so bring your ear plugs. The elevators were small but fast.
Try Fluffys a couple doors down for fast ,inexpensive & good food.

Great stay other than how the 2012 marathon was handled..just had to throw that in. Still saddened by it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location and a nice tidy hotel, 5-10 minute walk from most of the midtown sights, including Top of the Rock, Times Square, Broadway, and Central Park.

The Room had been recently refurbished, but not all the rooms in the hotel are so its worth asking at check in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki_on_the_trail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed there for two nights whilst on holiday. The hotel is excellently located but the room that I had definitely had a 'tired' feel to it. The hotel in general feels as if it is ready for a makeover. That said, it's in a fantastic location. Times Square is a short walk one way whilst if you walk in the opposite direction you reach Central Park in the same time. Our breakfast was provided in a cafe situated on the corner of the hotel and was very ordinary to say the least. If your stay is a short one The Wellington should suffice but I wouldn't want to stay much longer than I did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supernige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Wellington Hotel is situated close to Time Square and 5th Ave shopping, and is also close to Central Park. Overall it's a great location for a first trip to New York. I found the front desk staff to be helpful, and friendly. The bellmen on the whole were not really that great, but this doesn't really matter too much to me, but smiles and some energy wouldn't hurt.

My room was adequate, but nothing to write home about. I would stay again, but it all depends on rate and availability of other hotels. Typically I look for something a little more polished. This place had a very old timey feel.

Room Tip: Book using the hotel's online booking system for Free WiFi. Otherwise they charge you for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherCreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This charming hotel is well located on 7th Avenue and a short walk from Times Square, Central Park and many attractions. With this in mind it can be noisy at night, but what do you expect in the city that never sleeps!! The room was comfortable, especially the bed! It is also convenient for the subway with an entrance right outside the door. We didn't try breakfast, though it always seemed busy, but chose to try different deli's in the area. We would certainly stay here again if returning to New York.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the less street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,090 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,543 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#269 of 468 in New York City
4,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
4,812 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,331 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing