We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellington Hotel is in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wellington Hotel is in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We both enjoyed our stay at the wellington Hotel which we have just come back from. We were on the 24th floor, The room was more than adequate for a standard room which was large and clean, there is a large and very comfortable bed with very comfortable pillows, the bed was made daily by the house maid who daily supplied us with clean towels. In the walk in closet is a hair dryer, ironing table and an iron. There is a seperate kitchen which had a microwave and a coffee purculator (would have loved a kettle) and a full size under the counter fridge. There is a large flat screen tv which you watch for free, you can book and pay to watch just relased movies. What let the room down was the shower which was tempremental, to hot, to cold, in between just right. one time the hot tap stuck on, thankfully my husband managed to turn it off. With the windows closed you can still hear the traffic and noised of the city. Central park is very close just a few blocks away as is Time Square and theaters. Use the Hop on Hop off buses they save a lot of leg power as well as giving you information about the places you pass by and they stop at most of all the attractions to want to visit including the Empire State building. We both agreed we would again stay at the Wellington when visiting new york.

Room Tip: ask not to be near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinegreen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    2,786
    1,681
    590
    380
See reviews for
1,686
2,393
330
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in January and found the staff couldn't do enough for me and was always there to help out with any questions. The rooms were basic but was absolutely spotless with brilliant views. It was dead center to everything you could need.
If I ever return to new York I will be booking here again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackdanielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was my 4th time to NY and was the best location I have stayed in yet. Even though the interior of the rooms etc were not ideal we spent hardly any time in the room so it was perfect for somewhere to sleep and shower! I would much rather stay in an average hotel with this location rather than a nice one that is a 30 minute walk to where I want to be!
Arrived a few minutes before and check in, checked in without any problems. Although we asked for 3 rooms together (as there was 6 of us travelling) and in hindsight I wish we had just left them to book the rooms for us as we may have had one of the "nicer" rooms on the higher floors that I have read about on here. I think we were on the smoking floors as when you exited the lift you were hit by a musty smell but it wasn't too bad in the rooms and we kept the windows open while we weren't in the room. One of the lifts was being maintained each day so they could be a bit slow at times, we used the stairs once.
We didn't actually eat in the hotel (too many places to choose from outside!) so I cannot comment on the cafe but every day it looked full.
I think that once this hotel has been fully renovated it would definitely get 5 stars from me.
Also - people cannot complain about the rooms being small, this is New York! And unless you want to pay over $600 a night for a room you can't expect to have the space.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

First time in ny so I'm unsure if everywhere is this noisy! Bring ear plugs.
We had a view of times square which was awesome and the rooms are nice. The bell boy was really nice and helped us find great bars and places to eat.
Best location! Between times square & central park, perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzzyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having booked and paid for a room,we arrived at 10.30 pm.,and found our room had been sold again and there was no other available room.After a 30 hour flight,walking for ten minutes with all our luggage ,tired and at that time of night,admittedly with a bell boy,and then back again next morning without help,was to say the least ,a very poor showing.We ere offered an upgrade room,which was still very average,and the aircon was so noisy we could not use it,even though the night temperatures were still in the high eighties.It was well situated.which was about the only saving grace.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room,and ask for one facing towards Central Park on one of the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our third trip to New York and we found this hotel to be a very pleasant surprise. Although some would find it a little dated, it was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. The bed sheets, pillow cases and towels were pristine white and we were very comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite which suited us to have two seperate sleeping areas as our daughter had just turned 18 and needed a seperate space but this was a cheaper way rather than booking two different rooms.

We had read reviews that the staff were rude but we didn't find this on our trip and all of the staff were polite and helpful. We arrived before our check in time and were able to leave our bags securely with the bell hop and the same on check out as our flight was later. This was a free service, but one we would have happily paid for, and we just tipped the bell hop.

I cannot stress how pleased we were with the location of this hotel! Only a short stroll in one direction to Central Park and Times Square and Broadway the other! The Rockerfeller Centre and 5th Avenue were only a couple of blocks away and there is a subway station right outside the hotel with the R line that takes you all the way downtown to Battery Park.

Plenty of restaurants, deli's and coffee shops in the vicinity and also a Duane Reade's (Walgreens) nearby. Can totally recommend the Park Cafe as good value, excellent service and great food. We would also recommend the Maison, around 3 blocks down towards Times Square for a fab Sunday Brunch. I would not recommend the Benash Delicatessan next door to the Wellington however. It looked fab with all the pastries and was busy but we found it to be overpriced for what was on offer, compared to other eateries in the area and nothing special at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhoenixFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was my second trip to NYC. The Wellington was great! Very central. A short walk to see the shows (we saw Wicked), and shopping in Times Square. Despite some very large tour groups arriving and departing at the same time as we did, check in and check out went very quickly and smoothly. The daily maid service was very considerate. My friend and I were in town on business, and had various meetings set up at different times so we were both in and out of the hotel. There was no knocking on our door or barging in, etc. We hung out the do not disturb sign, so they called mid morning and very nicely asked when we'd like our room cleaned/tidied. There are several very good diners and delis immediately outside the hotel, and lots of locals and tourists always on the sidewalks, so we always felt safe, day or night. Whenever we needed a taxi, the doorman was a great help in getting us one. I did see numerous guests have the doorman get them a taxi, and then they did not tip him. You should always tip the doorman for such things. There were three small elevators in our tower, and we never had to wait long for one of them. The only negative was the bathroom in my opinion, which was nothing terrible. There is only a very narrow counter in the bathroom, large enough only for your makeup bag, toiletries, etc., but not big enough to set your folded clothes on while you shower or change. The only towel bar is in the actual shower, and so the towels got steamed up and damp during the shower if you didn't remove them into the hotel room. It would be nice if there was at least a hook on the bathroom door to hang towels, clothes etc. I would stay at the Wellington again.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor, overlooking the side street, and the room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,832 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,479 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,787 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,110 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing