We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #245 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Randolph
1 review
“Welcome Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The facility and our suite/room was clean. The view refreshing and all amenities top notch. Thank you for making our stay in the city enjoyable. I appreciated the in room toiletries and hair blower. Location for our needs was perfect.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Linda G,


Thank you for the review from your recent stay at The Bentley Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed your experience and that you found your room and hotel amenities to be comfortable and convenient. I am glad you had a chance to enjoy the view from your room. If you should ever need assistance at The Bentley, please contact me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back "home" the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    1,085
    573
    231
    134
See reviews for
939
1,026
247
651
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We traveled to New york for the first time and had to cut our trip short because I fell and broke my foot. the Bentley staff were nice and professional at first but after the first 2 days not really helpful. first of all the hotel does not have a concierge service so we really didn't have help with finding a wheel chair. the hotel is not wheel chair friendly, but that was ok, then we let the front desk know we would have to check out a day early (which was almost 36 hrs in advance) and they told us no problem we would have to call main office after we checked out to get refunded.
so since we left at 6:30 am we called when we arrived home. the hotel would not agree to refund even with hospital emergency receipts to see a orthopedic dr. asap.
The hotel also has construction going on which we didn't know about until we got there. the front is torn up and only has a side door.
then to make matters worse they do not have security cameras in hallways. When we arrived back at hotel after emergency room visit, 5:30am a guy tried to follow my daughter into our room. First time we called front desk, nothing happened, then when he came back knocking on our door we had to call them again and tell them to come up and they did. Never heard what happened but didn't feel safe after that. This was a mother daughter trip and we had no problem getting around New York, Loved it, but wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: don't get a room at end of hall, dark hallways too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Pam M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your recent stay at The Bentley Hotel. I am disappointed and concerned to hear of your negative experience. I have sent you a message via Trip Advisor so that I can get additional details and address accordingly. Please reply as I would like to resolve your billing issue immediately and also discuss some of your other comments. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,


Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I ♡ this hotel!! I did several reviews before my trip and the reviews were very accurate. The beds are very comfortable! The view from the Junior Suite room 1604 was fabulous. The hotel room was very clean and crisp!!! The only thing that I thought was an negative is, you can hear other guest come in and out of the rooms. Overall I love this hotel...... they have great customer service. The Bentley hotel is my New York Hotel!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchellsunita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear mitchellsunita,

Thank you for the great feedback on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed your experience and the view from your room. Our Housekeeping staff works hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment for our guests. It is refreshing to hear recognition for their efforts. Thank you as well for posting the picture from the view of the 59th Street Bridge from your room- it is awesome! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Bentley Hotel.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I took my daughter and her best friend to NYC for High School Graduation. I have read other comments about this hotel, unfortunately I think any negative remarks are from 1st time visitors to NYC who don't realize that Manhattan hotels differ greatly in size and price from everywhere else.
This was my 2nd stay at the Bentley. The view of the 62nd St Bridge was awesome! The hotel is 2 blocks from the Roosevelt Island Tram over the River. All the rooms are quiet, and our room had a very comfortable King bed with a pull out sofa in the room.
It's not super close to the subway, so we typically take a cab to the area of the City we plan to visit for the day. For $7.70, it's worth being picked up and dropped off at the hotel door, and getting to our destination quickly.
Look for deals which we found both times at the Bentley. The price is much less than other hotels of the same caliber.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Katharine S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your most recent stay at The Bentley Hotel. It is thoughtful and productive feedback like yours that helps us improve our product and services and in addition assists other travelers choose a hotel that is right for them. At The Bentley Hotel, we offer a larger room than a typical NYC hotel with a great view. In addition, we are fortunate to have a team of associates committed to providing genuine and quality guest service. If you should ever need assistance at The Bentley, please contact me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. Thank you for staying with us again and we hope you and your family will return soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiller Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Three of us stayed in the Bentley Hotel for four nights and I would recommend it to everyone! Very clean, and great service, quiet and great views of NY. The only downside was the location of the hotel because we had to walk a lot to get to Manhattan but they also offer great shuttle and taxi services. Starbucks and great diner are right around the corner. We were very satisfied!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrycja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Patrycja S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your stay at The Bentley Hotel. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve the product and service we offer. It is awesome to read that you and your friends had a great experience and enjoyed the service of our team and view from your room. If you should ever need assistance at The Bentley, please contact me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. As you know, many of our rooms offer a fantastic view of the East River and 59th Street Bridge. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The only downer was the outside, which was being working on. I'm sure when the construction is over, the outside will be just as lovely as the folks inside. Everyone went out of their way to be nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Kathryn W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your visit to The Bentley Hotel. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your experience and the service provided by our team. I am happy to report the façade project is almost complete. Although not intrusive to the guest experience at all, we are so happy to be nearing the end of the work If you should ever need assistance at The Bentley, please contact me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned from four days stay in this fabulous hotel.Ideally located on the upper east side.We had two rooms with fantastic views of Queensborough bridge over the east river. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. A great base for exploring NYC would recommend to other visitors.

Room Tip: contact the manger prior to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Debbie S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your stay The Bentley Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve the product and service we offer. I am glad you enjoyed the service of our team and the location of the hotel and view from your room. If you should ever need assistance at The Bentley, please contact me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#284 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Property: The Bentley Hotel
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing