We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find Upper East Side” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #250 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Find Upper East Side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I just returned from a 5 day stay at the Hotel Bentley. We had a great stay with a very friendly and professional staff (front of house and back included). Room was spotless everyday, only wish I had a better view for the 5 day stay.

There is a car for flat rate of $35.00 to airport, includes all fees unlike cab who will charge for extra for tolls. Used cabs back to hotel and rates were not bad. It is a 15/20 min. walk to Lexington for subway starting your day but you might want to use a cab after a long day. There is repair work going on outside hotel but does not interfere with your stay or sleep. Plenty of hot water after a long day even with 3 people. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 101monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear 101monty,

Thank you for the detailed review from your recent stay at The Bentley Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed your experience and that your room was spotless and comfortable. Our staff is committed to providing the best service possible to all of our guests. I appreciate your suggestions on area transportation. This is useful information and I am sure the Trip Advisor community will appreciate it too. We want our guests to do all of the necessary research before choosing a hotel, and we are confident The Bentley is a great choice for any traveler coming to New York. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    1,070
    561
    227
    132
See reviews for
917
996
243
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

After my last stay, I moaned about the wifi service that the hotel offers. The Manager of the hotel personally phoned me to sort the situation out.

I was very impressed by this as usually management say they are going to do something but then they don't. I was welcomed back, I felt welcomed and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay once again.

The room was clean - from the bellhops, reception to the very friendly chambermaid who also came back in the early evening to do the turn down service, all I can say is "Thank you"

To the Manager, Mr S. Thank you for rectifying the problem with regards to the wifi as well as the service that I received from your staff. I thank you for this and I am letting the public know that if something does go wrong that the hotel does actually put things right. Should something go wrong then there is always an alternative as your staff go beyond to fix it.

I feel that the staff on the day of my quibble must have been an off day as all came right in the end.

I look forward in returning and by now you would have 2 even more satisfied visitors to the Big A who recently stayed at the Bentley.

Thanks once again.

Room Tip: Try the river view as the rooms on the street could be noisy if the traffic gets redirected due to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear John A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We take our guests’ feedback very seriously and use it to improve the product and service that we offer. Guest service is our passion and we want to make sure that the service and amenities we offer are tailored to the specific needs of our guests. If you should ever need assistance at The Bentley do not hesitate to reach me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great staff, so friendly and they genuinely seem to like working there and with each other. That is your first touch with the place. But I reserved a room at the price quoted on the website. Then when I arrived I was told I would have to pay a $50/night upgrade fee for that type of room. Disappointing. Also it is very noisy. They give you ear plugs but the traffic noise is significant. And the walls are pretty thin and you can hear your neighbors. If you can get a room on the bridge side of the hotel I think you will be better off.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mary B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It seems that during the reservation process there may have been confusion regarding your room category reserved. Please note that we did not increase your rate and the upgrade you received was complimentary. I have also sent you a private message via Trip Advisor to confirm. If you should ever need assistance at The Bentley or would like to discuss your experience further, do not hesitate to reach me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. I sincerely hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Bentley Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Very comfortable hotel with a good help desk service.
Not so far from Central Park, 5th Avnue, near the 1st, it is nevertheless far away from the nearest subway station.
Very smart experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NoteTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear NoteTrip,

Thank you for the review of The Bentley Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that the service and location of the hotel met your expectations. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bentley the next time you travel to New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We have been staying here regularly since August. My husband undergoing treatment at local hospital. Since this has been a trying time, the only good thing from this ongoing experience is this great hotel. Everyone has been great. We would highly recommend this hotel for very personalized and caring service. I have gotten to know some of the staff and must say Roopesh at the front desk, and Frieda, at the coffee bar, among other jobs, are the best and most caring people we have ever had the pleasure to meet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Gail J,

Thank you for the great comments from your experience at The Bentley Hotel. Our staff is committed to providing a comfortable and relaxing experience to all of our guests. Many of our guests are here for treatment in the surrounding hospitals. During these challenging times, we want our guests to feel at home. I am glad that Roopesh and Freda are able to provide this feeling for you. If you should ever need assistance, do not hesitate to context me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. Thank you for your continued loyalty to The Bentley Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We arrived at 2 pm and unfortunately our travel agent had not booked a two bedded room for us - we asked about the possibility of this and were told yes it was possible but the room would not be ready until much later in the afternoon and there would be a $30 a night extra charge. That was a bit disappointing. As it was our original room was not ready either and we had to wait an hour, which is fine as check in is not till 3 pm. I had to approach the reception again when no-one came to tell us the room was ready. We were approached twice by the mini bus driver trying to take up back to the airport, he was directed over to us by the reception staff.

The room was excellent, though we did not have much of a view, The room and bathroom were spotless and fresh towels were provided every day.

The staff that I encountered were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Pauline M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad that our staff was able to find a double-bedded room for you. We have many room options all designed to meet the needs of our guests. It is always a good idea to call the hotel prior to arriving to reconfirm if you are making your reservation through a third party. It is great to hear that your room was comfortable and you found our staff to be friendly and professional. Thank you for staying at The Bentley Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Rooms were perfect ! Had an awesome stay for my friends bachelorette party! Prime location! Would reccomend to anyone looking to stay in the city with the rooms not to small ! Happy about it being spacious

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristend1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Kristend1216,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. At The Bentley Hotel, we a selection of room categories with various layouts all designed to meet the specific needs of our guests. Our standard rooms start at approximately 275 sq ft. which are larger than your typical New York City hotel room. I am thrilled you and your friends enjoyed your experience. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#316 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,572 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Property: The Bentley Hotel
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing