We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab time in NYC once again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #245 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Redditch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab time in NYC once again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is the second time I have been to New York but first time on the east side of manhattan. I loved this location because all the bars and restaurants have not only tourists but locals in there and the prices are a lot more reasonable than in the central Times Square area. We visited Ritz Diner most days which isn't like the Ritz like its title but is down to earth, good food, great service and refillable coffees which is just what you need after a busy day or to start you up for the busy day ahead. We also visited Baker street bar which is fab for snacks and the drinks were again really reasonable - they had loads of sports on the TV's too so my fiancé and my brother loved this!!
The Subway is about 5 blocks away on Lexington so we didn't feel out of it at all - we walked to Central park in about 20 mins and felt super safe in the location and never felt conscious walking at night.
The hotel was undergoing some maintenance work - it would have been nice for them to let us know before arriving but we understood that would be difficult. We didn't really notice the work going on and they were never making noise outside the hours we were advised when we were advised of this upon check in. The rooms are big for New York standard, the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in and was huge !! The shower and bathroom facilities were great and the view was amazing of the river and the bridge. We felt the room was always warm so had to have the cool air on a little - this was loud so wouldn't want to be there in the middle of summer and need this on all night because don't know if I could sleep with this on. Also I think the rooms would really benefit from Tea and Coffee making facilities - this was really missed and although the nearest shop to buy coffee from was only a block and a half away it was a pain just to get a morning cup of coffee. This may have only been the standard rooms but as they are advertised as Superior rooms online I would think this would have been as standard in the rooms. They should take the mini bar out because the items there were overpriced and the water out of the fridge that was $8 had dust on so must have been there a while. We were lucky with the neighbours as they were really quiet but the walls are quite thin especially by the window so we could hear the neighbours tv but this was absolutely fine and we were out all day and night and every night we had a great night sleep and were not disturbed at all.
The only slight gripe I have is with the price of the drinks in the rooftop bar and restaurant - it was ridiculous really - it was about $17 for a glass of wine!! I am unsure as to why it was this much because we visited beautiful restaurants in the area and the wine prices were nowhere near that high?? These are really minor gripes though in all we had a fab time and we loved everything about the holiday - we would visit the Bentley again because overall we had a great time and for the price of the room ( which was about $100 a night ) you cannot complain for New York and the location was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1802 which was great and my brother and his girlfriend were in 2002 and they thought th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura-Naomi0141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    1,085
    573
    231
    134
See reviews for
939
1,026
247
651
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Hotel is very handy for Upper East Side Manhattan. Staff were helpful & efficient. Lobby is warm in winter weather. Rooms are comfortable & modern in decor. Check in & out are very fast and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your most recent stay at The Bentley Hotel. I am glad you found our rooms to be modern and comfortable and you had a positive experience. Our team is flexible and trained to gauge the specific needs- and in your case you prefer a fast and efficient interaction. It great to see that we accommodated this for you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Thank you for staying at The Bentley Hotel.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed at the Bentley because my husband was having surgery at MSK up the street. The hotel is extremely conveniently located to MSK, the staff was very accomodating and gave a discounted rate due to MSK, the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the service friendly and helpful. And I enjoyed my view of the brigde!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel was all fine but the heating system didn't work, only cool air came out. We got there late the first evening and thought we didn't know how to set it properly. We were gone all next day and returned late to find room was still cold and it was now obvious that the system didn't working. It was late so we didn't want to have people working in room or change room so we slept in the cold again. I told them as we checked out and they seemed to be aware that several rooms had heating problems. They offered us a free refreshment from the coffee room which was kind of funny. I wonder if they fixed it?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank painter39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear painter39,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Bentley Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve what we offer and learn from our guests’ experiences. I appreciate you reporting the A/C deficiency which allowed us to make the proper corrections to fix it for the next guest. I apologize for the inconvenience. If you would like to discuss your experience further of need any additional assistance do not hesitate to reach me at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com. I hope you give us another opportunity and will return as I am sure your next stay will be a great one.

Sincerely,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

A little out of the way but a very good room at a great price. Hotel staff excellent and attentive without being intrusive. Elevators a little slow. Business area beautiful and seldom used. Surrounding area quiet and high end residential. Great for walking.





  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lee W. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamson
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Everyone was very friendly. The room was very well cleaned, & we had a gorgeous view of the Queensboro bridge!! We will definitely be staying again!!! The bar service was great as well, you definitely get your money's worth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your most recent stay at The Bentley Hotel. It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the service of our friendly team. We are lucky to have a staff of genuine and humble people all committed to providing quality guest service. I am glad you had a chance to visit the lobby bar as well. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a cocktail before or after a long day or evening in the city. Thank you for the great comments and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Pros: Location, just close enough to attractions but far enough away to relax. Felt luxe, not run down at all.
Cons: Only one button for the lift which got a touch annoying.
Location: Great safe area, plenty of little shops to get bits and piece and good choice of eateries.
We had a corner room on the 12th floor and had a great view of the Queensboro bridge, great for sunrise. About a 15min walk to Central park, really glad we stayed out from all the madness of Times Square. Nearest subway is over on Lexington right by Bloomingdales. Didn't really use much of the hotel facilities, didn't visit the bar or restaurant. We did use the doorman to book a car to Newark airport for $75.00. Only issue was that we were told the taxi took cards, but upon arrival at the airport he said he could only do cash and we had to try and find an ATM. Minor issue though.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleLaughingBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph R, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear WindsweptOlive,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review from your recent stay The Bentley Hotel on Trip Advisor. We welcome all guest feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve the product and service we offer. I appreciate all of the helpful information and am sure other travelers will find your review useful. Our hotel is a comfortable, clean and convenient place with friendly and fun people all dedicated to providing quality guest service. As you know our rooms also offer a phenomenal view!
If you ever need assistance at our hotel, please contact me directly at gm@bentleyhotelnyc.com.
I hope we have a chance to welcome you back the next time you come to New York.

Regards,

Joseph Rauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#284 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Property: The Bentley Hotel
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing